View Full Version : Moreton Bay tuna

14-09-2004, 05:32 AM
Hello gents,

The plan was to take a couple of mates for an overnighter to Straddie wide on Saturday night. Forecast was 10-15 with seas to 1.2. Checked the wave rider bouy at 3:00pm Sat it was 1.4 and decreasing with 11 knots at the Point.

Got to Cleveland at 4:20pm and it was blowing 15-20 with messy 1 metre white caps as far as you could see.

Decided to go anyway and bounced our way north of peel and then up the rainbow.Ggot to the bar to find 15-20ish winds and a whole lot of yuk. Could have followed a trawler out the main passge but didn't like the idea of spending the night at anchor out there in those conditions.

Headed back in and up the inside of Moreton in the dark to anchor in at the Sand Hills and have a drink for the night - decided not to fish ;D

Heading home in the morning - ran across heaps of working bonito schools who weren't interested in anything we threw at them - then found some longtails.

First cast at the longtail school had me hooked up on the light spinning outfit. Blooded the new Shakespeare Summit baitrunner with 6kg line and a 15 gram raider with a 18lbps tuna.

Took a while to land him and school had moved on and couldn't be found again.

Back home by 8:30am.

Bugman

14-09-2004, 05:34 AM
Line was singing quite nicely but here was apply a bit of thumb pressure to pump him up from down deep.

14-09-2004, 05:36 AM
Line was singing quite nicely but here I was applying a bit of thumb pressure to pump him up from down deep.

14-09-2004, 05:37 AM
The end result

14-09-2004, 05:42 AM
Good fish. Tough work on 6 kg line. When they are down deep it can help to have someone drive the boat away from the fish to bring it up to the surface.

14-09-2004, 02:31 PM
Having fun are we mate?? The boat will be wornout soon ;D
If you had of headed to the sandhills earlier sat' you would have found the red express and the snapper spot ;D ;D
Was out there very early, and came home mid arvo, with the odd one or two, also found some doggies loitering around a coffee rocks structure.
Sushi for dinner tonite eh.

Robbo_Townsville
14-09-2004, 02:39 PM
Top effort on light line. How does that rod hold up lifting those buggers. Looks quite whippy at the end.

15-09-2004, 05:25 AM
Webby,

I was actually looking for you over there. I needed some guidance. It was bloody dark by the time we got there and I had no idea where anything was. I was even going to give you a ring - should have in hindsite.

We put out one rod for the night which eventually wrapped around the motor leg anyway but we didn't care because it was more of a mates/bucks trip anyway so there was other things to do. The tuna just got in the way while heading home.

Robbo,

The rod shouldn't really be used for that sort of stuff - it's an old Daiwa turbo which I had in the shed but was the only thing spare to put the new reel on. I put a post up in wanted for a spin rod but didn't get any replies.

Billo
15-09-2004, 09:31 AM
Nice one Bugman .....would have been netter to boat a few more hey !

i am sitting waiting patiently for the boils to reappear back over the bay ...STINGING to blood the boat on a few Bluefin of my own

keep up the good work [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Wesley_Pang
15-09-2004, 10:19 AM
Bugman,

Good to run in a drag system on a Longie. Thanks for the Longtail report. Always interested in any sightings.

Where about were they? Many fish or was it just a small school?

It's been a fairly quiet winter for me on the Longtails.

Wes

JB
15-09-2004, 10:34 AM
hahah, u sure do love ur longtails wes, always askin for sightings :P Cant say i blame ya, great fish to catch :)

16-09-2004, 03:39 PM
Wes,

Sorry for the tardiness but had to work it out for you.

Page 55 of my brownies - the aggregated maps of Moreton Bay. Probably in the L12 grid vicinity.

Heaps of working schools in that area - lots of bonito but the odd tuna.

vertico
17-09-2004, 03:39 PM
saw some longtails working behind green in around 16 foot of water on sunday
failed to tempt them with the plastics

Wesley_Pang
17-09-2004, 06:11 PM
Thanks guys for those reports.

The hardest part is finding them.

I just about chase the Longtails exclusively. Until the Spotties turn up. Shouldn't be too long now, with the weather warming up.

Wes

adamleah
17-09-2004, 06:31 PM
Reports today from Ben & rob that they were schooling up and surface feeding North of peel...

Very skitty and not wanting to go near slugs nor livies..

Sportfish_5
17-09-2004, 06:39 PM
Plenty of MackTs and a few LTs (I think ??? )around the nth channel markers this afternoon. Mostly around the M2 and surrounding shallows.