View Full Version : gold coast outside  today (thur)

reefraider_II
17-09-2004, 10:47 AM
Left the boat ramp at ridges this morning at 6am at the same time all the charter boats were heading out.Couple of bigger swells were breaking outside at the usual spot on the left.Winds were 6 knots swell was meant to be 1.6m but sure didnt feel like it.Headed out to try and find some livies but water was a little murky and couldnt find any.Picked up a tailor measuring 38cm and a nice leather jacket but still not as good as we thought we would go.Headed in at 11 as wind started to slowly pick up and a strong wind warning was issued for northern nsw on the vhf so we started to head in.Ended up on 26 fathom reef east of seaway next to heaps of charter boats but no luck.Kept on through to the seaway as the seas became lumpier .Came accross a school of what i thought was tailor chopping up just inside seaway but after chasiong them with an array of chromies and plastics and even pilchards couldnt pull one ...at closer inspection these turned out to be a school of big queenies ( i think) all i could see was big fish with yellow tails and big splashes.Any suggestions on how i can get them??? couldnt tell what they were chasing. Regards Marty

XLR8
17-09-2004, 11:52 AM
Thanks for the report,
I'm heading out tomorrow morning for a spot of snapper fishing.
Probably around the 24's.
Was it a bit lumpier than expected this morning. I have one eye on the forecast and wave rider chat.
I'll let you know how I go.

Cookie

DaneCross
17-09-2004, 01:05 PM
Sounds like kingys reefraider. They get kingys in the seaway fairly regularly (or so i'm told :-/)
DC

reefraider_II
17-09-2004, 01:14 PM
xlr8 where are you heading off from.. could i call you on perhaps and see how your travelling.I generally scan vhf and havnt bothered with 27 meg cos never get anyone.I will go under the callsign of REEFA if your interested i will monitor 86 on 27 meg and whatever if you call me up on vhf thanks again marty

cheno
18-09-2004, 07:16 AM
G'day ReefRaider,

Pretty sure I saw you guys on the bait reef yesterday morning. Looked nice in the morning hey - pity.

Cheno

reefraider_II
18-09-2004, 11:26 AM
hey cheno what were you in ? i try to look out for ausfish stickers but i dont even have one myself.I was out again this morning(fri) .Heading to the pin tomorrow if anyone will be there say hello!! I am swaying writing this cos of the last couple of days fishing but must finish it off with a hit at the pin with the old man(should make his day)

cheno
18-09-2004, 11:29 AM
mate we were in a white polycraft centre console. No stickers, just the rego. How were the conditions today any better?

reefraider_II
18-09-2004, 11:51 AM
yes a lot better, same sort of mornig as yester day but pretty much glassed out the rest of the day heaps of bait fish around but no fish in my boat :-[.It seemed the wider i went the better the water got,oh yeah and whales every where we had a couple probably 30 m away just cruising past scared the crap out of me tried to throw a few lures at him but no bites!!! ;D just kidding