View Full Version : Stories and Pics

scroman
27-10-2004, 06:59 AM
It's been awhile but chasing fish can keep you busy - actually the truth is I caught a couple of fish but it has taken me 1372hours to figure out how to send them through (my wife always said I may not be smart but i can lift heavy things :-/)
Anyway have had a great couple of months in my local area chasing anything that swims (hope my wife doesn't read this).
Some of our sucesses have included snapper to 11kg, Blue groper to 6.5kg, Bass to 47cm, lost count of the tailor, Cobia to 9kg.
The beauty of this is that our reef trips for the reds etc cost no more than $6 fuel and 45mins on the water. The bass are local caught by kayak - all released as well :D
Can't fit all the details without risk of boring you to tears but will try and post some pics.
Scroman.

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:01 AM
Tailor to 3kg

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:03 AM
first little squire for the morning

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:05 AM
One and only blue that succumbed

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:07 AM
Little female about 4kg

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:09 AM
Second squire around 4-5kg

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:11 AM
This was my best for our short season 9.75kg

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:12 AM
My cousins best for the season 8.5kg It's good to beat him in his own boat :-X

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:15 AM
My first bass - current total between two of us is 75 fish in three trips - ALL released

sidewayz
27-10-2004, 07:21 AM
Some good quality fish in those pics scroman. It took me quite a while to figure out how to resize photos and get that sorted as well. So where's the local area for you? It sounds like a top place.

sidewayz

scroman
27-10-2004, 07:27 AM
G'day Sidewayz - Just over the boarder. Local reef is kingscliff and the bass are in a creek that runs off my property and joins the main arm south west of Murwillumbah.
It is a great area we have access to just about all forms and species - not in huge numbers but the area is pristine and the quality is there.

mini696
27-10-2004, 07:43 AM
The colour of that Blue is spectacular!!

Some great fish there, I wish I had a property on a productive creek like that.

dfox
27-10-2004, 12:22 PM
Your not wrong about that "blue" awsome.Did those snapper all come from shallow reef
scroman? Great variety for one area mate...foxy

DaneCross
27-10-2004, 01:12 PM
Gday Scroman,
Looks like you've had a great few months! I always wondered, what is the bar at Kingcliff like to cross? From what I can remember its very shallow and pretty sketchy?
DC

scroman
27-10-2004, 01:28 PM
dfox and DC - shallow reef and sketchy bar :o :o
We go out in a 4.2m alleycraft with a 30 yammy on the back and most times with our eyes closed (kids don't try this at home)
Seriously no bar should be underestimated - you can walk from the north wall to the south wall at low tide - not even worth a look till 2 hours in even then it's only rideable in the tinnies. The gravel trenches are about 25 -40m wide and around 70 -100m long - I'm guessing because we have a very cheap sounder and no gps. Our marks are more local landscape than anything else. Depth varies from around 9m - 18m at the most. Best between 3-5am on the bottom or the top of the tide - berley slows right down and you can bring them to the boat.
Heaps of fun for us novices anyway :D :D :D

woolybugger
28-10-2004, 09:07 AM
hi mate,

Where did you go for the Bass?

scroman
28-10-2004, 09:35 AM
G'day Woolybugger,
Where abouts are you located?
There are a number of upper river options - primarily inland to the fresh from Murwillumbah sou west.
If you are keen to wet a line send me a message for exact details ;)