View Full Version : Aplins weir barra action
Bad_Bubby
06-10-2004, 04:17 PM
Hi people,
Had a few run ins with barra in the lead up to the last full moon. Unfortunately the only fish I hooked (besides tilapia) escaped while freinds David and Kiel came up with some decent specimens. Enjoy :)
Photo 1: Kiel's 85cm barra
Bad_Bubby
06-10-2004, 04:19 PM
Photo 2.: Tilapia ::)
Bad_Bubby
06-10-2004, 04:22 PM
Photo 3.: David's 84cm barra
Dr_Dan
06-10-2004, 04:22 PM
WOW! That's one hell of a tilapia!
So the barra have started hey. Will have to get down there for a fish sometime soon!
Bad_Bubby
06-10-2004, 04:27 PM
Yeah they definitely have started mate, I reckon last wednesday night would have gone off but I decided to play basketball all day at the strand and bung my big toe ::). Don't know when I will be out there next :-/, uni schedule isn't helping either >:(. probably sometime next week. I think we have had one successful trip out of five. Although I can't really call any of them a success because I'm yet to get a decent barra since it has warmed up :P.
Bad_Bubby
06-10-2004, 04:28 PM
Photo 4: Release of Davids barra
Bad_Bubby
06-10-2004, 04:28 PM
Photo 5: Close up
Leo_N.
07-10-2004, 07:11 AM
Good to see the quality catches. Must have been live baiting to get a tilapia? This might sound like a strange question, but did you eat the tilapia? I ate one last year when I was in Indonesia and it cooked up surprisingly well - I suppose most fish come up OK when deep fried.
Bad_Bubby
07-10-2004, 10:17 AM
Hi Leo,
I got the tilapia while cast netting for mullet, I've caught them on lure before so I don't see why they wouldn't take a live bait. I'm pretty sure there are plenty up in the fresh (where we were fishing) because I've seen people feeding them bread. If we catch a tilapia we usually leave it to rot on the bank. I'm sure they are good eating as they are one of the main aquaculture species in South East Asia. Maybe I should have fried it up? :-/maybe next time.
Hookem_Herby
07-10-2004, 11:35 AM
Nice fish there BB ;)
Hope you manage to get amongst them yourself next time, stop being so considerate of others mate! :P ::) lol
Herby
fishsmith
10-10-2004, 11:48 AM
fished loam island boat ramp last night between 6 and 8 pm managed 1 barra around 85cm and lost 2 more live baits to a couple more. Frustating fishing the boat ramp however as every man and his dog is using it to launch there ski boats as pioneer park ramp is closed at present........
Bad_Bubby
12-10-2004, 06:35 PM
is this in Ross River? Loam Island...hmm doesn't ring a bell
Dr_Dan
13-10-2004, 01:32 PM
Upper Ross River road (headin to Condon etc).
You normally fish the weirs on a full moon? Keen to have a shot soon!
Bad_Bubby
13-10-2004, 05:55 PM
Yeah I find full moon is best for both livies and lures ;). I think the next one is on the 28th October, still 2 weeks away but if you have the time I'd recommend heading down there earlier. This time last year the action at Aplins was pretty good. However, its been relatively quiet lately with only one capture rumoured to be 123cm near Nathan St bridge. Last week I was thinking that the fishing would be excellent with promising afternoon cloud cover on a couple of days (e.g. Saturday arvo especially :o) but I never heard of a single barra being caught :-[.
Nathanrb4
19-10-2004, 06:58 AM
how do you catch livies in fresh water?
Dr_Dan
19-10-2004, 07:14 AM
Would depend on where you are fishing. If at aplins, just use cast net on seaward side of weir. If further up stream, small hook, bita bait. Use mouth-o-mighty would work i'd assume. ????
Enlighten us bubby!
notts_so
19-10-2004, 07:25 AM
All the good bites are when im out at cannington then again i havent fished aplins since i first come to townsville .Got the boat and prefur to travel wouldnt hurt to go back to grass roots again might enjoy the change and the money left in my wallet
Leo_N.
19-10-2004, 07:46 AM
Dan,
A bit of bread moulded around a tiny hook (can't remember the size, but the smaller the better really - small bait jig size) - drop it down around the side of the weir ir pontoon and striped grunter are almost too easy to catch. If the going is a bit slow, some bread burley can't hurt either. Spangled perch are probably a better bait as they last longer on the hook, and will also take these bread baits.
Having said that, lures will usually entice a strike almost as easily and you also cover more water. Lets face it, the less baitfish you kill the better.
notts_so
19-10-2004, 08:23 AM
Where can you get mud cod in townsville(sleepy cod)
Leo_N.
19-10-2004, 09:22 AM
I have caught sleepy cod at the Nathan St bridge and at Gleeson's weir - never on lures, but spotlighting them at night and catching with a dip net (for aquariums). I've heard they are gun bait for big barra, but prefer lures - esp. poppers on a full moon.
Bad_Bubby
19-10-2004, 09:53 AM
sorry guys I've been offline for the past few days :o. We get all our live bait from the saltwater side of Aplins by cast netting the mullet schools. You can get freshwater baits with a small handline and garfish hook (size 10-12 hook) using bits of flesh or even guppies scooped up in a mesh net. Usually you get banded grunter or mouth allmighty, we seldom get spangled perch unless the weir is flooding. Sleepy cod are an occassional capture, they will take small baits. I'd say its too difficult to target them unless its in a siuation where they are concentrated ina small area (like a dam spillway for example).
Okay now thats out of the way do you fellers want to hear the latest from Aplins??. Been down there the last 4 arvos (3 times just for a look, once to fish), there have been fish hooked on lures each day around the 80cm mark. Yesterday I went for a fish and caught two barras that put up great fights. The first one went 83cm, and the second 85cm :). I got photos on a disposable camera (digital is out of action). Hopefully I should be able to get them on here soon. Meanwhile I'll be down at the weir getting into em' some more. ;)
cHiCo
19-10-2004, 10:05 AM
What did ya get the barra on Dan?
Dr_Dan
19-10-2004, 01:10 PM
Chico, that's one ugly mug of a photo!?????
i haven't been down for fish yet. SO I HAVEN"T GOT THE BARRA ON ANYTHING! Hopefully will be able to add to this post in a week or so! BLOODY UNI WORK!
cHiCo
19-10-2004, 01:16 PM
yeh the things ya do when drunk :P i meant bad bubby as in DAN
notts_so
20-10-2004, 08:05 AM
I would like to meet up with some of you townsville guys to fish the weir when i get back see if i can get hold of one its been a while
Bad_Bubby
20-10-2004, 09:42 AM
Chico: Both barra fell to live poddie mullet.
We were back there yesterday arvo, fully equipped with all the gear and live bait. However, we failed to raise a fish leaving a sour taste in our mouths after the results of the previous day. Like Dr_Dan I'll be restricted by uni work over coming weeks :-/. I'd say this week I'll only be able to put in one more afternoon session either on Wednesday or Sunday (probably Sunday).
Dr_Dan
20-10-2004, 10:57 AM
Going to be heading down on Friday arvo hopefully. I reckon the lecturers won't miss me!
WOOHOO!!!!! Here i come!
notts_so
20-10-2004, 10:58 AM
Any day after thursday will be fine 4 me im of for a week
vertico
20-10-2004, 12:17 PM
I dont think you are supposed to release Tilapia
arent they a pest ?
jewies
20-10-2004, 02:31 PM
vertico go back 1st page he said he leaves them on the bank to rot ;)
Bad_Bubby
21-10-2004, 10:15 AM
Vertico- Theres no way I would release tilapia! :o
nott_so, Dr_Dan- If you guys hit Aplins Friday arvo I might think about sneaking in a 1hr lure casting session just before sunset :).
Dr_Dan
21-10-2004, 12:22 PM
Will probably see you there on friday.
nonibbles
22-10-2004, 04:37 PM
A friend of mine is now the head chef at the new tavern in riverside gardens area behind Gleesons weir. Next time you're in the area make sure you drop in have a beer and some grub. And while your there... brag big time about all the fishing you're getting done and all the barra that are in the water right under his nose. This'll really give it to him 'cos he is so tied up with work now he hasn't got time to go fishing anymore, poor bugger... ;D
Went there today food is great and reasonably priced too and the view's not too bad either.
Just ask for Jeff the Chef & tell him Paul sent ya.
Leo_N.
23-10-2004, 04:46 AM
Where 'bouts is this new tavern? Is it near the rowing club? Has been a while since I've been to river side gardens
Dr_Dan
23-10-2004, 05:57 AM
Haven't been to the tavern yet paul. But from the reports from others, apparently it's a bit flash. Will have to head down and check it out. This area of town is getting a few places now, seen the size of "TOms" behind the shell servo on nathan street? should be good once it opens!
LOOKOUT BARRA HERE I COME! LETS HOPE THEY ARE HUNGRY TONIGHT!
WOOHOO!
nonibbles
23-10-2004, 06:09 AM
Tavern is in the newer section just follow the main drive right on through riverside gardens, past new Waterford development about 1km and opposite the day care centre on the river is the new tavern big white place on the weir!
Dr_Dan
23-10-2004, 03:07 PM
Fished there this arvo, Nothing.
What happend to you bubby? thought you were coming down for a fish? Lots of people, no fish caught.
Bad_Bubby
25-10-2004, 09:12 PM
Mate I was there for nearly two hours casting like a madman:-/. I just figured if you were there u would have recognised me from the photos I put up. Well I didn't get any takes that day either which was a bit dissapointing given the amount of casts.
Me and my freind Kiel were back there yesterday arvo with the live bait gear. It was difficult to muster up a bait supply and we had problems with bait overheating in the small bucket we had. Still, it was still a reasonable trip with both Kiel and I hooking up a various times. My first hookup occured after about 15 minutes of fishing resulting in a 70cm barra. Later on after sundown we both hooked up again but were only re-united with scaled baits. I'll probably be back there later in the week 8).
Leo_N.
26-10-2004, 06:01 AM
Went to the Tavern on the weekend - flash is definately the word for it. Awesome deck directly overlooking Black's Weir. All sorts of funky furniture and Boag's Strongarm on tap. What more could you ask for?
Talking of fishing the freshwater parts of the Ross River, I have seen people live baiting from the Nathan St bridge just about every night last week. They must go to the bank to catch the livies, but they just stand up on the bridge, half-way along with their lines hanging over the edge. I've caught some pretty big barras from underneath that bridge, and am wondering how the hell you would play one from on the bridge. I suppose they walk it to the end of the bridge and to the bank, but missing all weed beds in the mean time and keeping a tight line would seem almost impossible.
Anyone shed some light on this?
Dr_Dan
26-10-2004, 06:17 AM
Bubby.
Didn't recognise you. Last photo I saw of you was when you had long hair.
Will probably head down some time during the week as well.
Bad_Bubby
26-10-2004, 11:23 AM
Yeah Leo I've caught a few barra off that bridge, mostly around legal size but I did help a feller land a 1.05m job earlier this year. Its not really difficult, you just play it as if you are fishing off a jetty and drag it to the bank for landing. The problem with Nathan St is the distance from the saltwater where the good live baits are.
Leo_N.
29-10-2004, 05:34 AM
You must lose a lot of fish when they jump - first rule of barra fishing (in my book) is don't high-stick them. I can't think of any higher-sticking than off the middle of the Nathan St Bridge.
Bad_Bubby
29-10-2004, 08:40 AM
Heh give it a go you might be surprised ;)
Leo_N.
29-10-2004, 09:38 AM
:)Good call, I'm probably just being a w**ker - just seemed a bit odd to me.
notts_so
30-10-2004, 03:22 AM
Finally got down to applins on monday morning after dropping young fella of at school manage to raise 3 barra without luck then hit by monster 106cm fish :D on gold bomber 20 min later after trying not to loose in weed landed the big girl no photos but managed to get a tape on it thanks to some council workers on the ball.Couldent gring my self to release her back in the fresh so I gave her a new start in the salt side
Hope she has many more years to breed up ;D ;D ;D
I will definatly be back there when the season reopens for some more heavy weight action when the season re-opens as im stuck back at work until 5/11 hopfully you buys wet some lines before you hit the new bars and get them before they call last lines on the barra season
All the best ..... notts so
Bad_Bubby
30-10-2004, 08:12 AM
:onot bad for your first time there mate :o still a pitty not to get a photo of a fish like that :-/. Morning session hey? never had any success at that time of day (in Aplins anyway) we've found they are most aggressive in the arvo/early evening when the water has warmed up all day. Too bad you couldn't catch up with Dr_Dan or me. Closed season? what closed season? lol :P
notts_so
30-10-2004, 11:16 AM
No dout we can hook up sometime when im home do a finger mark sesion or something like that.I think dans going up to hinchenbrook this weekend shame im out here would have loved to get amongst them up there owell next time.
Bad_Bubby
02-11-2004, 10:49 AM
hit Aplins and Nathan st bridge with live bait last night for no results >:(, hopefully we will be back there in a weeks time :-/. Might develop the disposable camera b4 that ???
Dr_Dan
02-11-2004, 04:02 PM
Think you were on the forum when i bought up the issue of fishing for barra in the closed season last time bubby. A couple of years ago, a heap of people were booked for targeting barra. Apparently the law states, that one is not allowed to TARGET barra. There was a big write up in the paper. Might be somehting to keep in mind, would REALLY top of a great day if some fisheries guy booked you!
What is everyone elses views on this?
nonibbles
02-11-2004, 06:13 PM
I target mangrove jack in the off season. Same technique same location can't help it if a barra gets in the way. Just leave 'em in the water to release them unless you're worried about crocs!
Dr_Dan
02-11-2004, 07:11 PM
Might work in the salt Paul, but don't think there are any jacks in the weirs? Might be wrong.
Nathanrb4
02-11-2004, 07:27 PM
I was told by a couple of blokes fishing down there last week that the fresh water side of aplins was stock with jack last year as some kind of viability trial. They might of been pulling my leg though........
notts_so
03-11-2004, 02:25 AM
Yer there were jacks put in the fresh last year I talked to a bloke from DPI said when they done survey 8 weeks ago the biggest jack they found was 18 cm long .
Wont be long and there will be some interesting jacks to be caught
Dr_Dan
03-11-2004, 05:33 AM
Does anyone know how big impoundment jacks grow? Would be a bit of a challenge if they grew to the size of some of those jacks out on the reef! Would almost be as good as catching Black bass!
Bad_Bubby
03-11-2004, 09:52 AM
There definitely are jacks in Aplins weir. My freind anthony has caught them, and we have seen decent ones washed over the weir during the floods. I think electro fishing has found specimens around 20cm so it shouldnt be long before they become a barra by-catch :). Last closed season there were hordes of people fishing aplins with live baits and lures with nobody kicking up a stink. The only difference this time around is its a year later, oh and the jacks are biting LOL.
Leo_N.
06-11-2004, 01:14 PM
There was a photo of a jack caught from the fresh side of Aplins in the Townsville Sun this week.
I don't think that jacks have been stocked long enough to know how big they get, but the recent reports of captures indicate that they are growing and surviving well, so fingers crossed.
notts_so
07-11-2004, 05:33 AM
Might help to start a new topic on inpoundment jacks and see if any of the cairns boys know how big they have been caught in tinnaroo
notts_so
07-11-2004, 05:43 AM
Ive asked the question in general chat hoppfully the cairns boys are on the ball
Bad_Bubby
13-11-2004, 10:03 AM
Thought I'd resurrect this thread with some photos of the barra caught in October.
83cm barra
Bad_Bubby
13-11-2004, 10:04 AM
85 ish centimeter job
Bad_Bubby
13-11-2004, 10:06 AM
70cm specimen from a fortnight ago
Rumpig
13-11-2004, 11:59 AM
Gidday, I'm coming to townsville on the first of december for a week. I'm going to be staying with a mate in riverside gardens. Is there any decent fishing in this area? He goes on about the fishing all the time but last time I went up we got sweet FA.
So if anyone could give me a tip a or two on the area it'd be much appreciated.
Bad_Bubby
15-11-2004, 05:01 PM
Riverside gardens is just a bit further towards Gleesons Weir. The fishing is good for barra in this area but it will be closed season so technically the barra gear must be left at home :(. I'd probably head down to the lakes or possibly the breakwater but they are much further from riverside.
Rumpig
15-11-2004, 09:18 PM
ok thanks, I guess I'll just bring the jack gear then [smiley=policeman.gif] What can you catch at the lakes and breakwall?
What gear should I bring rather than barra gear?
Leo_N.
17-11-2004, 04:55 AM
Riverside Gardens extends all the way to Black's Weir now! Gleeson's Weir has provided some excellent barra fishing for me over the years, though haven't been there for a while. The rocks on the bottom side of the weir are a pretty good fishing platrorm and I have caught barras from 70 - 100cm there. If you want to follow the no targeting barras legislation then you could take some small lures and target sleepy cod and spangled perch. Alternatively you could fish with some earth worms for the abundant tilapia and oscar population (home aquarium owners have a lot to answer for).
notts_so
17-11-2004, 07:29 AM
Never new there was a healthy oscar population in townsville leo
Bad_Bubby
17-11-2004, 08:56 AM
Rumpig at the breakwater a heavy jig rod is the best thing to use, something like an Abu 7000 set up. At the lakes light spin gear is best, most of the fish there are around the 1-3kg size and will take soft plastics and small live herring.
Leo_N.
17-11-2004, 09:51 AM
Yeah notts, I've seen kids down there fishing with earth worms - didn't realise why until I saw them pull out two oscars, both about 1.5kg.
Dr_Dan
17-11-2004, 10:39 AM
Hm, beats paying for them in a pet store. Could go into business. Catch them, then sell them to the aquarium people!
Rumpig
17-11-2004, 10:56 AM
Thanks for your replies,
leo, dead set! oscars! I'd love to catch a big oscar LOL I've always eyed off my mate's as a potential target.
What kind of rig were they using? just worms under a float?
Which weir did you see the kids get the oscars?
It sounds a bit like Hazelwood in victoria
http://groups.msn.com/SpraypakstusPics/shoebox.msnw?Page=1
Leo_N.
18-11-2004, 01:02 PM
Yeah mate, just worms under a float near the rocks. Basic egg beater setups. It was on the bottom side of Gleeson's Weir (the middle one), off the rocks.
FlyRod
21-11-2004, 10:07 AM
Just for your info fella's,we will be hitting Aplins weir area on the weekend of the 4-5th dec with the DPI for electro surveying the local Jack's population.The results from past survey's were not too promising :( so they are going to give it one last go to see if future stockings will be worth while!!!Will let you all know in a couple of weeks how we went!!
Rod
Dr_Dan
21-11-2004, 10:20 AM
Will be interesting to see the results.
Keep us posted
FlyRod
16-12-2004, 03:17 PM
Well we did it and it was not a great sucsess but a single Jack was captured by line .A hand full of Barra were caught also and the Electro surveys were conducted on the day I left Townsville so at this stage I dont have the results but I will let you all know.
This is the best Barra I saw captured by one of the local gun's Jezza and It was his best Ross river Barra to date!!!
fishsmith
17-12-2004, 06:41 AM
Nice Barra,looking forward to the opening of the season so as to get amongst a few..caught and released a heap last year with 120cm being the largest,I found march-may most productive..I jog along the river most evenings and there's plenty of fish activity in the river at the moment with the arrival of the more humid weather and evening storms,plenty of (swerls and boofing)......Smithy....