View Full Version : Wide Bay report
Thunderbird
07-02-2005, 04:10 PM
Left brissy at 1.00am saturday morning to fish the grounds north of the wide bay bar with two other boats, "Fishbone",and "fisher1", that we met at the ramp.
The ride was smooth the whole weekend, except for saturday nite when it blew up and forced us to spend the nite in closer than anticipated.
Most of the species caught on the bottom were mouri cod, snapper,some good sweeties a pearl pearch here and there and the odd red.
While the surface action was red hot with spotted and spanish mackeral, cobia and tuna.
Thunderbird
07-02-2005, 04:13 PM
Dennis with some toothy critters
Thunderbird
07-02-2005, 04:16 PM
Didn't alow for the swing factor :-/
weighed 14 on the boat but came in at a little over 12kg
BladeRunner
07-02-2005, 04:25 PM
Hi Thunderbird
I might have to re- consider what I said to Agnes_jack in his saltwater pics post .
WoW Iam confuesed
[smiley=bandana.gif]
Reefmaster
07-02-2005, 04:33 PM
Onya roota
I knew it was just a matter of time until you got your first big red mate. Top stuff
You will be hooked on them now. ;D Gotta love DI
Cheers Greg
07-02-2005, 04:39 PM
You'll never get on the cover of BnB with pics like that, Mark.
Although you might make Womens Weekly with a body like that ! ;D ;) ::) :P
Well done young fella.
You were right on the money, hey ? :-X ;)
Ive had a lot of faith in this thunderbird fella!
He's starting to produce.
Good one mate, i heard you on the radio but you couldnt hear me, probably to busy fighting that red mate ;D ;D...foxy
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 04:23 AM
Mark,
Thanks for the trip.We'' be back! ;D
Following is some pics of our fish .
Gotta love those red things.
Col and Jay
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 04:24 AM
Roota Hooked up
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 04:24 AM
Cob
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 04:25 AM
Our Catch ;D
08-02-2005, 04:33 AM
Col,
fished beside "Wasabi" on Friday at Hutchies and gave them a call to see if you were onboard. They ended up winning the under 6.5m section of the tournament.
Well done Roota. Passed you and a very handsome looking Fisher on the Bruce Highway. We were following "Two Up" the cat. Once the Billies slow up we will be back to bottom donging and Spanish fishing off Rainbow.
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 05:35 AM
Hi Smithy,
Was initially going to go with Trent on Wasabi but he didn't know if he was going to make it. Good to see them having a win [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
As it turned out DI with T-bird was a pretty good option.
The handsome Fisher must have been mine ;D
Plenty of Mackies up there ;)
Was that "Two Up" behind the grey f truck?
Col
MICHAELG
08-02-2005, 06:10 AM
Col & Roota
Not bad, some tastey fish there. looks like the weather was nice for ya. Dennis(fishbone) seemed pleased with the place
maybe next time I'll make it
Michael
aka BCB
08-02-2005, 06:35 AM
Two Up was the creamy coloured 6m cat with Honda 75s towed by a green 100 series. You were on the first bit of concrete in the 110 zone. Your boat certainly looks good from a distance.
Reefmaster
08-02-2005, 08:40 AM
Top stuff Col
thats a ripper Red Jay is holding any idea of weight?
You also picked up some nice yellow lippers there as well did you get them in the same area and was it night time.
Isn't it a top place to fish mate. :D
Cheers Greg
Nice bag of fish there boys, you sure know how to make us anglers a bit further south jealous of those red fish ;) ;D. Have to find myself a mate with a bigger 4wd and get up there!
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 09:19 AM
Hey Greg,
Mate I reckon about 10kgs. Bloody love those big reds mate, I can see why your addicted to it.
I'm ready to go again now. What are you doing ? ;)
Got heaps of Mouri cod.They seem to be hard to release .Got any tips?
Got all the fish during the day in the same spot.
We where going to stay the night but it was a bit blowy. Hopefully next time.
JB Go for it!
Col
Thunderbird
08-02-2005, 09:22 AM
Well the first thing i did when i got back home was check the photo's and video footage out from the weekend. All it took was one click on the mouse in the wrong spot and i had just deleted the memory on the camera without saving onto the computer :'( :'( :'(
Just got hold of a photo program for the computer that enables you to get back unsaved images from the memory card in the camera.
All was not lost! i got back the pictures but i won't be watching any movies.
Sorry you all had to see the pictures of my back yard. Here's a few fresh pics.
08-02-2005, 09:26 AM
will trade one marlin roota ::) ;D
Thunderbird
08-02-2005, 09:26 AM
Just couldn't get away from these fellas all weekend, not that i was complaining or anything.
Thunderbird
08-02-2005, 09:29 AM
Another couple of fellas we couldn't get away from ;D ; Go Rosco!
dazza
08-02-2005, 09:36 AM
nice fish fellas
got to love those reds
check out that weather as well, very nice
dazza
Reefmaster
08-02-2005, 09:36 AM
Roota thats a better pic of the red mate ;D but it looks like your doing a steamer in your pants ;D
Cheers Greg
Thunderbird
08-02-2005, 09:37 AM
As i said the surface action was awesome!
Here's a pic of a vmc treble. the other one was missing from the lure along with the split ring.
I'll be off this week to stock back up lures after loosing three to bight off's :-[
Thunderbird
08-02-2005, 09:48 AM
Yeah Greg the smile's painted on that's for sure.It's hard enough pulling em up let alone holding them up for a photo ;D
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 11:32 AM
Bit of variety from Jay :o
Had this fooker stuck to the boat for a while trying to get the rig back ;D
Birdy :'( :'(
dazza
08-02-2005, 11:41 AM
looks like a bait for a big red
Fisher_Boats
08-02-2005, 11:54 AM
Yeh...... you want to grab it dazza?
Heard they have a beak like a parrot.
That's what I said to Rossco and Jay but they didn't want to grab it either ;D
08-02-2005, 11:55 AM
That's better Mark, an " on water" pic. Even got the BnB shirt on.
Gregie'll love that ~!
Daintreeboy
08-02-2005, 12:51 PM
Absolutely top effort there fellas, big reds are awesome!!
Fishbone
08-02-2005, 05:51 PM
Roota and Col;
Photo of the two Fishers pulled up near the bar on Saturday morning. Very nice trip - will be there again for sure.
Dennis
Fishbone
08-02-2005, 05:54 PM
And another shot - I think it was around 0500 so there wasn't much light.
opimax
09-02-2005, 03:05 PM
well about time roota ;D ;D ;D ;D.
don`t know about taking col up there he should be at home working on my boat ::) ;D ::) ;D
Thunderbird
09-02-2005, 03:29 PM
lmao lee.
It's out of his hands now.
Maybe i should of taken the painters out ;D ;D ;D
Rob. anytime i got room i'll squeese you in, can't wait 4 another billy.
Dennis. I had some good shots of you flying solo, top effort mate i take my hat off to you. photographer, fisherman, anchor man and skipper, you're jack of all trades 8)
Unfortunately some of the pictures couldn't be recovered but you have permanently scarred my ego for life ;D
Fishbone
09-02-2005, 03:47 PM
Mate:
Should have seen me trying to gaff a cobia with Col, Russco and Jay giving me advice while doing circles around me in the big boat of theirs... 5 or 6 misses before I got him - unluckiest fish in the ocean. I got some nice fish but didn't get a legal red - threw back two over 50cm...... next time maybe.
MICHAELG
09-02-2005, 04:08 PM
not without me you wont. I'm not happy Jan
i beg and plead for a invite and what do i get, 2 hrs notice- are you comin or not
must be nice to have jobs you can leave early from
Michael
aka BCB
Fisher_Boats
10-02-2005, 04:02 AM
BCB :'( :'(
on your knees next time ;D
You don't do too bad with the hols you have
fishbone been trying to tow anyones anchor up lately? :)
Col
MICHAELG
10-02-2005, 04:41 AM
Col
I heard a theroy that, if you motor past another vessel with your sounder on it upsets the fish.
oh by the way did I mention im off to 1770 for 2wks in March. Just in case you wanted to invite me fishing/prawning
Michael