View Full Version : Off Mooloolaba Sat.night
After being a big fan of this site for about 18 months I finally pulled my digit[al] out and got round to posting my first report. Headed out late Saturday arvo, a decent swell running 2.2m wind about 10 knts NE. Had a couple of drifts before anchoring up for the night, was surprised see how little current there was which made burleying-up easy. Normally a paternoster rig man, we tried floatlining with about a 4 ball. Using flesh baits we started pulling in some nice sweetlip,I have been converted to floatlining. Wind started to get up later in the night. Crew not feeling the best, tried to sleep it off. Left fishing on my pat malone. When hooked on to something solid managed to land fish by myself. I think it is an Estuary Cod about 10 kg?[would like people's opinion about size and species]. Well that was enough to bring the crew back on deck, tried to refloat the big fella to no avail. With an inspired crew lines went back over the side, Phil hooked on to what was probably big brother Cod and gave rod a good workout with no result. Fortunately wind backed off around first light, but so did the fish. Started the trip back in. Noticed heaps of Mac Tuna. Had little trouble enticing them to take 20g slugs. Crew had a ball. Ended up with 8 Macs. Back at the boat ramp by 8 am.
This week-end hoping to go D.I.[Reefmaster territory] and get a few.
Phil trying to get the kinks out of my rod.
Scott15
03-02-2005, 04:01 AM
Nice work zulu [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]. looks like there are some thumper sweetlip in that lot.
sidewayz
03-02-2005, 04:27 AM
Some nice looking fish there Zulu. Don't those big sweeties go hard...
SeaHunt
03-02-2005, 07:25 AM
Yep Estuary Cod.
Eat it. ;D
Nice work zulu, float lining defently produces better quality fish,may see ya on the water one day mate, what type of boat you in?...foxy
Thanks for the replies guys.
G'day Foxy,I have been reading your posts over recent times, and must say I be happy to take home half the fish you catch.
My boat is a Yalta Odessa 615[no name] with a Honda 130 on the back.
cheers.
SeaSaw
03-02-2005, 04:10 PM
Nice catch there Zulu. ;D Those estuary cod are good eating at that size. Once they get up to about 20kg you are better off thowing them back. Good to see another Sunshine Coast fisherman join the site - welcome
megafish71
03-02-2005, 04:31 PM
Good to see another Sunshine Coast fisherman join the site - welcome
I don't care where you are mate, good to see another Yalta owner on the site [smiley=laola.gif]
We could be twins ;D ;D
I was waiting for you to spot that yalta ron, if you hadnt replied i was going to pm you...foxy
megafish71
04-02-2005, 06:11 AM
Foxy ;D ;D
Hey Ron,
Zulu has been drooling over your Yammy 4 stroke for a while now ;D
chemmy
10-02-2005, 10:49 AM
Where abouts did you go off Mooloolaba.....Murphys?
Yep, definitely an estuary cod. Check this estuary cod out!! Me thinks he's been a fightin. ???
G'day chemmy,
Not Murphys, could be around a 19.2km mark. Not allowed to say to much more.
cheers zulu.
p.s. ebs is right I have been dreaming about a motor like that.
chemmy
11-02-2005, 03:39 AM
thanks for the ifo zulu can't wait til your next report
Cheers michael