View Full Version : Who was at Palmy this morning
20-02-2005, 12:08 PM
Had a pretty amazing trip out this morning, Boating 3 Spaniards and 7 spots by 6:15am.
Highlight of the morning was my son Brandon boating his first ever Spaniard (on Lure) and backing that up shortly after with a Spaniard on Bait.
You could say we were on a purple patch, so at 6:15am I rang one of my professional fisho friends so he could take our spot after we left. We trolled around for a while trying to nail a big Spaniard but no success mean while my friend was still braining them at our original spot, pays to be early and get a good spot on the reef.
Fish are a bit bent as they were a struggle to get into the killbox
Had 1 downer, killed my mobile when washin the boat [smiley=hammer.gif]
bigal
20-02-2005, 12:34 PM
hey u look like ur on the tweed river. how long a run is it to palmy?
20-02-2005, 12:39 PM
Bigal,
It may look like Tweed but it aint ;) It would take you about 15 min once outside the Bar depending on how fast ya boat goes and conditions. Why don't you try Currumbin, only a few waves/surfers to dodge [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Sportfish_5
20-02-2005, 12:41 PM
Thats Spotty is a bloody ripper :o
20-02-2005, 12:43 PM
Yeah sportfish!
was tryin a new lure out this mornin, nailed a 30lb spanyard and that spotty..estimated him at 14-15lb, had to cut the head off the spanyard to get him into the kill tank ;D.
Gonna have to get a boat with a bigger Kill Tank I think [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Scott15
20-02-2005, 01:00 PM
garry. did ya see any spotties busting up.
20-02-2005, 01:03 PM
scotty,
No I we didn't but herd some chatter of bust ups NE of palmy..maybe a few klm away.
Did see quite a few swimin past my boat tho ;)
Tony_N
20-02-2005, 01:05 PM
was tryin a new lure out this mornin, nailed a 30lb spanyard and that spotty..
Tell all Garry. What lure?
20-02-2005, 01:12 PM
Tony,
Well it wasn't a raider of any sort as that is what most people use. It was 45grm in weight as I was after bit more weight for casting distance. It was very thin...pen like, had a shinny bottom with a bit of colour on the top.
Sorry mate thats all ya gonna get out of me as I wanna nail a 50lb+ spaniard on a lure at my spot X this year, just to piss willo off [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Tony_N
20-02-2005, 01:18 PM
Oh OK - I was thinking that you were trolling lures. Were you casting to boils?
20-02-2005, 01:23 PM
Tony,
no mate didn't see any boils, we have our spoits on / near the reef that seem to hold more fish... you can be 100m away and be sittin there watching without a touch. We took 2 fish on baits 1 spot and 1 spaniard.. the rest were on lures. we used 3 different types but my new lure nailed the most and the biggest fish, my decky rob is still to be convinced ( he throws a raider) 2 nd time I have used it... caught fish on both occaisions will be tested when the fishing slows down a little I suppose
Tony_N
20-02-2005, 01:32 PM
Thanks for the info Garry - an interesting report . I've never really considered throwing slugs unless there is some boils and/or bird action. I suppose that if you are on a corridor that they cruise frequently casting slugs makes sense. My casting arm gets too tired to use slugs on spec only. There's always lots to learn
Burley_Boy
20-02-2005, 02:16 PM
Cool stuff, realize that I have to start a heck of a lot earlier to pick my own spot as when I finally got down there it was about 7ish and must have been close to 100boats there.
Out of interest what makes a good spot, I mean is it the luck of the draw or is it that they like a bommie or the outer edge etc? Any idea, honestly having come to Palmie about 4x I wouldn't know a great spot if I sunk in it!!
I was one of the last three boats still there as we approached midday. mind you they started biting again about 10:30 am :)
20-02-2005, 02:26 PM
Burley Boy,
7 ish, you fishin gentlemans hours :o,
We ll it's like this, there are 3 main positions at palmy...on the reef....700m off the reef.. and out wide( 2klm ) off the reef. This time of the year we generally fish off the reef... look for a rise in the bottom holding baitfish close to the bottom.. anchor up...get some livies...burley like hell...chuck the lure till ya arm can't take any more.... If ya int got anythin by 7am...go home..come back another day [smiley=thumbsdown.gif]... YOU GOT THE WRONG SPOT ::)
OH and don't anchor too close to me >:( unless you got a tin hat :o
Willo
20-02-2005, 03:22 PM
Thats allright Mate, just happen to be feild testing my own Secert weapon Lure ;D was testing it out this mornin but unfortunately all I caught was the bottom on the second cast and lost it:( and the replacement one will be kept under lock and key away from prying eyes :D he he he he he
Narrrr not gunner tell ya
Burley_Boy
21-02-2005, 06:39 AM
Thanks for the tips Garry.
I think my only way to get to Palmie in real fishing time is to park my boat there overnight...
Just a last question on logistics... Do you jig for yakkas at the spot where you are fishing (ie the bait school you have located) or do you first go and get yakkas at spot A and then go and fish at spot B? If its scenario B then that entails getting bait well before the sun arrives.
I just bring pillies and float them but you're the one with all the fish! ;D ;D ;D
cheers BB
21-02-2005, 06:48 AM
Gary, top effort, thats a bright and early start that payed off!!
BB, get hold of some of those grenades they use, who needs bait!
21-02-2005, 07:17 AM
BB,
The Yakka hold close to the bottom, use a bait jig with a little bit of pilly on each hook... ya gonna get a lot of crap but amoungst them you will get some yakkas. Persistancy is the key.
Mackmauler, It was alate start by my standards ;) went past one ramp , had to be 12 boats in the line..next ramp had 1 boat putin in. I recon it saved us 1/2 an hour. went passed a few boats hangin around the bar, guess it was to dark for them to see ::) ...got to the reef , had to be 12 boats already there and not 1 on my regular spot ;D
Did have 1 bloke fishin on me anchor but he got the picture prety quikly with a few lure flyin around his ears :-X
Gday Garry, we headed to the bay saturday, only came up with 3 spots and 1 dropped at the gaff ::) , took us bloody six hours to find the buggers, seems they were either in the northern bay or being very elusive down towards the mouth of the rous. Anyways at least we got a couple! , It was bloody hard coming home and reading this report though! :o , good work on the spots and the blues mate, see you out there soon.
Jas