View Full Version : Heavy tackle off Mooloolaba 10/3
gavsgonefishing
12-03-2005, 02:20 AM
Went for a trip out wide, got a few shots of the day ended up pinning one blue, had a stripey come up in the spread, but to no avail, and got a 15kg mahi (kept) and released a 20kg mahi Mahi. Heaps of birds where we started off ,scattered bait ( little tuna) travelling a million miles an hour. We then trolled north were there were scattered bait and dolphins. Travelled 134nm in total, had a great day. This pic was taken when we first set up, there were supposed to be birds in the photo ???
You can see the left rigger lure breathing.
gavsgonefishing
12-03-2005, 02:22 AM
The blue tagged, didn't get any aerial shots, were a bit busy
gavsgonefishing
12-03-2005, 02:27 AM
and another
gavsgonefishing
12-03-2005, 02:30 AM
one of the mahi mahi
12-03-2005, 04:24 AM
Gav,
Is it just me or have you really quicky finished the mods on your boat.
Oh and isn't there a motor missing off the back of it ;D
Nice fish by the way
12-03-2005, 04:52 AM
Owen said he was going out at the wedding. Looks beautiful conditions. Flatline wouldn't have been used since Christmas. Always good to get heavy tackle fish from a trailerboat - something I haven't had the luck for yet.
jeffo
12-03-2005, 06:37 AM
lol- the XXX heavy tells me owen was somewhere near ;D good to see you guys got one... shame the weather has turned to shit for the weekend.
gavsgonefishing
12-03-2005, 10:34 AM
Smithy, It was good to get back into Flatline, and good to work with an old crew, the boat had a dust coat on it, its been that long
Jeffo, I emptied out the fridge that morning and fed O all the exotic beers all day long. When he grumbled gave him his usual milk, then back to the other crap. It was good to see him have a headache at the end of the day, it was his first!!!
Bugman, its been a while since I jumped in a boat that floats ;D. I almost had the urge to start rubbing it back ;)
Choco_Fireman
12-03-2005, 12:13 PM
Gav, What were you going to rub back? :P
Daintreeboy
12-03-2005, 03:01 PM
134 nm strewth. Nice fish but. I think you should have a bit of a read of the drinking and driving thread, I see ya beer on the bait board ;D
Nice day mate.
magicpudding
13-03-2005, 10:38 AM
good to see ye old flatline is getting stuck into them once again. Nice fish gav. Pity about the weather this weekend!
CJ
Burley_Boy
13-03-2005, 02:01 PM
Beautiful shot that first one. One day it will look like that out the back of a boat of mine, including the stubbie ;D
Top fish
whichway
13-03-2005, 02:19 PM
Can you tell us approximately how far offshore you were
Whichway
gavsgonefishing
13-03-2005, 02:31 PM
Started out about 18nm east of the cape, just before the shelf.
gavsgonefishing
13-03-2005, 02:33 PM
CJ,
Seriously thinking about setting up the little markham for the HT. I may only get out there 3 or 4 times a year, but its worth it. I've got the range, just have to get to know the boat.
How much are those tiagras again????
whichway
14-03-2005, 11:48 AM
Just to divert from the mighty fishing effort-
I've got a 620 SF (looks familiar) with a 175 two stroke. Looks like you've got an HPDI although it was a bit fuzzy. I couldn't do 134nm on the 200 litre tank. What sort of economy do you get out of the HDPI.
Whichway
gavsgonefishing
14-03-2005, 01:58 PM
Whichway,
The boat now belongs to the brother. Before we did a deal we had the original 175 evenrude ocean pro. Now I don't want to start some ugly debate that can't be ended, but it just couldn't do the job. It was way, way to thirsty to even contemplate those sort of distances. Trolling was its worst economy, and since 70-80% of the time was trolling, we used to go through 180-220ltrs per day (in the comps, so they were big days). Have a look back on the net at some of the sea trials say 1996-1997 for the warriors, the figures say it all.
We switched to the 1st gen fiche 175, the same day was 140 ltrs (but had dramas with the motor). The second fiche was about the same. We then put on the Yammy after a little incident down the coast comp, and I then sold out. This one used less than 3/4 tank 280 ltr tank, so work the figures out
Hope this helps
whichway
15-03-2005, 03:09 AM
Thought you might say something like that. Good to know.
Whichway