View Full Version : Daintree Weekend
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:11 PM
Had some fun up the Daintree this weekend for my brothers birthday. The fish didn't play the game like they had been in previous trips and it was a bit of a hard slog comparitively speaking. I picked Moffy up at 3 pm Sat and we fished a liitle into the night. Some GT's and Tarpon kept us interested, well me anyway before we went back to camp to enjoy some fresh mud crab. We ended up with 19 crabs for the weekend.
After trying bait fishing the lures were pulled out and it looked like we should have done this the entire trip. The first arvo we only chucked at a few snags but raised a few good fish and I boated a nice Black Spot Estuary Cod. The next day before leaving I caught another before Moffy got 2 Jacks and a Barra.
Anyway here's some pics, not many taken but enough for a story. Keep watching for the catch of the trip to follow [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:15 PM
a bit dark
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:17 PM
Tarpon seem to reflect light so much it stuffs the photo up in the dark
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:21 PM
This one was a pretty big tarpon
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:25 PM
And now for the catch of the trip. I figured Moffy would want to do a spot of luring to practice for his upcoming Weipa trip. As I was heading back to the hut we were staying in to drop Mick off before picking him up I rigged a brand new Tilsan up and hooked this beast metres from the jetty. Luckily he didn't manage to get any teeth marks into the timber lure so it's still alright!
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:26 PM
Can I have my lure back please?
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:27 PM
:D
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:29 PM
The hard bit
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:33 PM
Almost ready for release
Daintreeboy
24-05-2005, 04:37 PM
Close up of the choppers
noodlemantra
25-05-2005, 03:02 AM
thats wicked mate :o
do they reguarly take lures....heard they do up darwin way, but obvisouly a good lure if it fools a croc. Can you eat tarpon? and what are those cod's like to eat. I always throw mine back, I figure there's better stuff out there.
morty103
25-05-2005, 04:50 AM
bloody reptiles haha
megafish71
25-05-2005, 08:40 AM
HAHA, Just call you Mark Dundee from now on. ;D
Daintreeboy
25-05-2005, 12:21 PM
The Tarpon and cod went back ,so did the jacks and Barra. We just kept a couple of GT's for a feed. Tarpon are no good anyway due to bones so are released or kept for Marlin/Mackeral baits. We did keep 2 of 4 Wolf Herring for Macks baits later this year. Little crocs like that snap at lures all the time, just pop it in front of them and they can't help themselves.
Cheers, Mark.
devocean
25-05-2005, 12:26 PM
Bet ya saw that shine and thought barra on those tarpons. Have you tried the smaller ones for mack bait here they work as good as the wolfies