View Full Version : Iluka 13 to 20 June
22-06-2005, 04:33 AM
Fished the north wall, the Bluff and beaches for very little result. The swell and waves came up on Monday 13th(huge!) with reports saying that somebody got washed in right at the end of the wall where the green beacon is. A couple of trawlers nearly came to grief coming in.
After things settled down, so did the fish. No tailor and just a few bream from where ever we could find them.
Better luck next time.
flickflack
22-06-2005, 05:38 AM
Toudh luck mate
Me and my mate did a trip down there a month ago and had the same results . But we did get a few tailor in very difficult conditions, The swell was also big.
scroman
22-06-2005, 07:10 AM
Spent last Thursday 16 - 19 june at Woody Head.
Took the tinnie down and braved the swell to sit in behind the reef break in front of the camp ground and spun up some great tailor on bream gear - nothing under kilo and a half, best went 2.25kg. Saturday afternoon was the most productive when the swell dropped a little.
Worked hard for them but they are there.
Troy
mattooty
22-06-2005, 05:12 PM
Fished iluka wall and yamba wall on sunday arvo outta da boat. Going from one side to the other. Got 2 small jews (8lb, 13lb) and 7 tailor around 1.5kg. Alot of smaller bream. All fish caught on 15lb line and live herring
blue_rogue
23-06-2005, 07:19 AM
Nice effort boys,
We fished Woody Head on Firday/Saturday. The beach fishing on friday was nice, but limited fish. We only snagged 9 whiting and several bream. The swell was right up and it made the fishing pretty hard. We stayed right into the night in search of tailor, though couldn't entice the bludgers to take a pillie.
Was up at dark on Saturday morning cooking breakfast for the boys and getting the boat ready for a trip out to Shark Bay in search on some reef. Was absolutely freezing but after a feed we all warmed up. Lauched the boat at the beach ramp with no problem. We headed north east of Woody head though found very little structure. Headed north up to Black Rock and found some fairly good country. Baits in the water and squire were hitting hard. Caught a 2.5kg squire and another keeper but many under sized. Headed in by 1.00pm.
Great camping grounds at Woody Head, but next time we will be armed with much better GPS marks.
I'll post the photos tomorrow
flickflack
23-06-2005, 02:02 PM
Good stuff Mattooty, sounds like a good session.
When I was there we got a few tailor on the surf through the night , but were plagued by shovelnoses, next morning early we spun at the bliff for a few more tailor just better sizes. First time i was there , beautifull place.