View Full Version : 2005 Boyne Tannum Hook Up. Ausfish Members Meet.

BladeRunner
14-06-2005, 01:27 PM
2005 Boyne Tannum Hook Up. Ausfish Members.
To every one who came up for a fish, we had the weather buggered.
Friday 10 - 20 knots, Saturday 10 - 15 knots , Sunday Perfect .
A day for all boaties.
Our Ausfish challenge being a Grass Sweetlip or (lethrinus laticaudis) in length was won by team Streaker’s 1st decky Tony. A very close finish it was too, Big E had a Grasse which in weight was heavier but a tad short, my tape measure went to 60 cm the fish was around 63 cm and Tony’s was 65 cm a tuff call for me as judge.
Lucky I only had one bourbon or who knows who would have won, very close.

Then the stories came out. One in particular or may be two. # 1 Seafox and son Rabbit . Now I know for a fact because I was with seafox the Friday night we walked home well I did the others went to the pub. We where at the bottom of the hill to the Boyne bridge I said there was no exit in the fence at the top. Well prove me wrong seafox trudge’s up this bank about hafe way up goes arse over tit he starts to roll back down parting the grass as he go’s drink in hand never spilt a drop we nick name him Mosses because he parted the grass on the way down,
he had no control of the weather the next day though.
Newby’s crew consisted of seafox and Nathan #2 Newby has a rather large boat
And some how seafox was involved, the skipper said Jeff was at the stern when he went arse over head ( again ) by trying to support himself using the bait board
he totally destroyed it and in doing so fell into the well of the boat and stood on the bilge pump disabling it too, smashed. Newby was not a happy chappie and poor old seafox was Pissed & Broke. (A name to watch out for next year).

Hook Up Weight In
Big E . Lipper was 3.8500 caught off Facing island & Salmon at 1.8200 .& 2.100
Streaker won the biggest Red ????? For Sunday in the comp. Pays for the fuel
Wayne. Pictures will be posted later

To all who rubbed shoulders drank well and party, It was good to meet you.
ReelNauti / Big E / Streaker /1st crew Tony / Gordon / Bear / I have missed some one / Seafox / NewBy / BB / Until next year 2006 Happy Fishing

BladeRunner

BladeRunner
14-06-2005, 01:40 PM
Streaker 1st Prise For RED Cash

BladeRunner
14-06-2005, 01:43 PM
Ausfish Streaker's 1st crew T.T Grasse Sweetlip 65cm WINNER

chemmy
14-06-2005, 01:44 PM
nice

BladeRunner
14-06-2005, 01:46 PM
Big E and T.T
Both with good size sweetlip
BladeRunner

14-06-2005, 04:47 PM
Good to see the snap's of the comp. Wayne rang this morning still pretty happy with his Red. Good to see you had the weather with you's to ;D

DaveSue_Fishos_Two
15-06-2005, 11:06 AM
An absolute ripper of a weekend. :D
Sue and I had a terrific time and enjoyed a lot of river fishing in the Calliope. Monday morning we headed over to Rat and caught a mixture of tuskies, grassy sweetlip, stripeys, cod, and a good sized schoolie. We had a ball!
The Hookup was a very well run and well disciplined event. Even the police were in yesterday's Gladstone Observed newspaper congratulating everyone on their good behaviour. Only one bloke went for dd. We spent a lot of time on Friday, Saturday and Sunday looking for Ausfish people. We asked the police, the stall holders, security, the bar, and even the President if they knew of the whereabouts of Ausfish. Not one person had even heard of it! ??? Sunday afternoon we got a call from the Big E who was also looking for Ausfish people. Late Sunday afternoon we finally met up with Big E, BladeRunner, Jeff and Tony, and Streaker. A few beers followed and Sue and I really enjoyed meeting them. A damn good bunch of blokes! ;) Some suggestions were put forward about how we could be made more identifiable for future events. It would be good to see this come to fruition.
All in all, a top weekend, and great to meet you guys!

seafox
15-06-2005, 12:07 PM
We must apologize to all the members that didn’t find us unfortunately the banner did not arrive in time but for those of us that did catch up a good time was had by all (that I can remember) congratulations to Tony for taking out the Ausfish prize (I am still waiting for that drink) Apparently he shouted all the Ausfishers a drink (I don’t remember getting one) ;D ;D

seafox
15-06-2005, 12:10 PM
As for BladeRunner report no comment :-X

15-06-2005, 12:12 PM
Yes ppl, the Ausfish crew/ gang or Ferets, whatever ya call 'em, are a great bunch, so, in future post the comp details ( of those attending ) and get ph numbers via pm. Also, most should have Ausfish stickers on thier rigs by now. If not, get one ! ;D ;D ;)

Onya Wayne, well done, and to the rest, good to see you enjoyed yerselves, as you do.

I would like to see a concerted effort for next years comp, and I expect Wayne will no doubt come across with his " RED " spot................... ::) :o ;D ;) ;)

craigie
15-06-2005, 01:11 PM
Wayne,

Any pics of the red ??

Chemmy ;D ;D

Streaker
17-06-2005, 05:13 AM
I'm back but the computer at home is playing up. The photos will come shortly.
a big Hi to all the Ausfish people that made the trip and a big thanks for you're donation for fuel (Grassie comp). I made the comment on Friday night that i knew where the big ones were and Tony was good enough to land him on light gear.
The Reds that I caught were a PB for me they went 8.8kg and 8kg.
Bugman thanks for those marks and hopefully I can check them out next time. As soon as I can download the photos I will post.
Lastly it's great to meet new and familiar members and to share a few drinks and stories. Thanks Bladerunner (Bernie) for you're input into our little comp and we (Team Streaker) are looking forward to next year.
Wayne

noluck
17-06-2005, 12:04 PM
Wayne,
well done mate
well done
cheers No_luck

BladeRunner
20-06-2005, 02:52 PM
Two more happy fishermen from the BoyneTannum HOOK UP
Tony & Dennis
Blade

BigE
21-06-2005, 06:17 PM
looks like the stories have all been told .... and a good time was had by all anyhow here is my recollection of the hookup ..Err well the bits i can prove anyway, enjoy the pics and see you guy at the next hookup!!

BigE

BigE
21-06-2005, 06:18 PM
more

BigE
21-06-2005, 06:19 PM
:P

BigE
21-06-2005, 06:20 PM
more :P

BigE
21-06-2005, 06:21 PM
;D

BigE
21-06-2005, 06:24 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D yum

turnerfishing
21-06-2005, 09:30 PM
U sure that red is 55cm mate ???

redlipper
22-06-2005, 04:21 PM
I live and fish out of 1770/Agnes Water and the amount of reds you catch that are "Just under" is about 5 to one keeper, and that Red is under.
55cms is legal and I reckon thats about 45. I know it breaks the heart chuckin em back but dont take pics and publish em on the net.

BigE
24-06-2005, 04:32 PM
sorry to dissapoint you redlipper but the red was 55 the lipper in the shot went 60 something when bladerunner measured it at the weigh in ...... and yes most of the reds we caught that day didnt make the cut , but i suspose they will increase in time if everyone does the right thing!