View Full Version : what is this fish called

flickflack
27-06-2005, 04:38 AM
I caught this fish in the Tweed River on a sp.What is the right name for it.

logan_whiting
27-06-2005, 04:44 AM
mother in law fish or morwong not the most like fish for eatting but they give a good fight don't they flickflack

basserman
27-06-2005, 04:58 AM
sorry not a mowong but a slatie bream also iodine bream
they grow to a good size and a fair bit bigger than that but i would chossie to eat the plastic you caught it on over the fish :P
but sure would of been fun on the bream gear ;D

flickflack
27-06-2005, 05:12 AM
yeah put up a good fight, thought it was a jack then it popped out and i was like this thing doesnt even have teeth

agnes_jack
27-06-2005, 05:17 AM
Brown blubberlips
A type of Morwong....( Plectorhynchus gibbosus lacepede)
Very common in QLD estuaries, Differs from the slate bream...( diagramma pictum)
Also differs from the Iodine bream .. (gymnocranius euanus Gunther)
Regards, Tony

flickflack
27-06-2005, 05:55 AM
Thanks Tony
I tried to compare it to the deep sea morwong but they look a longer fish,and the bars on the side are not as defined

Moffy
27-06-2005, 06:11 AM
Blubber Lip Bream is another common name for them.

27-06-2005, 07:07 AM
Jeez, at first glance it looked like a New Guinea Black Bass. Now that would have been a fight at that size on Bream gear.

And don't go swearing too much Tony ( all that technical name stuff ;) ;D ), but I believe you are right. They get offshore too, don't they, and there they have a more ' brownish ' tinge to them, with a lighter " stripe ". ?

I have to be a good boy so Santa will bring me a Grants this year. I have been naughty for the last 30 years..........apparently :-/

27-06-2005, 07:11 AM
yeh brown mowy, underwater they look rather like jacks, poor buggers so dumb they never even see the spear coming :-X

agnes_jack
27-06-2005, 07:32 AM
Yeah Phil
Gotta have the bible mate ;)

Regards, Tony

jaybee
27-06-2005, 07:53 AM
When i lived at chinderah we use to catch heaps of them when fishing for bream on those nights you couldnt get outside, the locals called them black bream as black bream down there are luderick. ;D and yes they were always thrown back or used for crab bait.
Joe

flickflack
27-06-2005, 07:56 AM
Thats where I caught it jaybee, at the chinderah caravan park

jaybee
27-06-2005, 08:02 AM
Nice spot flickflack, i use to live in the park when i was fishing professionally. do tony and vince still run the place? good spot for snodger whiting across near the piggery, we called it oink oink reef. LOL
Joe

flickflack
27-06-2005, 08:13 AM
not sure jaybee,just use the ramp.I like to
have a quick fish in the morning before work , its a nice spot to launch you can either run upstream or to the mouth.

logan_whiting
27-06-2005, 09:01 AM
does this look like the same fish ??? ???

morwong

agnes_jack
27-06-2005, 09:14 AM
Yeah Logan
Thats the one!

Regards, Tony

flickflack
27-06-2005, 10:19 AM
that is the one ,just needs a pink soft plastic in its mouth

basserman
27-06-2005, 01:16 PM
so it is acualy a mowong ???
they always get called slate bream down here and other call them iodion but everything that tastes like garbage gets call a iodion down here
well ya learn something new each day

jaybee
27-06-2005, 02:22 PM
yep its a handy ramp, try oink oink sometime with a whole worm for bait, no weight and just feed the line out the back
Joe

HOOKLINEnSINKER
27-06-2005, 06:31 PM
so flickflack you never did say if you ate the thing or not? if you werent sure what it was and it looked like a bream did you eat it for brekkie before work?

28-06-2005, 06:11 AM
Is this the 45th or 46th time someone has asked what this fish is? I have lost count. Dont take offence flickflack, someone will do the same thing in a couple of weeks.

bigal
28-06-2005, 01:15 PM
yeah thats a tiddler. old mate brainey (steven blainey) got one about 5kg or so. was in b&b mistaken for a tripple tail cod.

flickflack
29-06-2005, 05:26 AM
HOOKLINEnSINKER
no mate threw it back in the drink
it did put up a good fight though