View Full Version : Noosa - MY FIRST JEWIE
fincho
08-07-2005, 05:28 AM
After having this trip to look foward to during my exams and thinking about nothing else for the last couple of weeks i went up to noosa with the family on the 1st of July to the 6th. We fished sessions from 5am-8 10am-1 and 4pm-8 had a couple of late night sessions around munna point bridge but these only produced TINY tailor. Most days saw me my brother and my dad picking up a couple of bream small trevs and small flatties but we had one day that so far in my fishing is my best!! On the 2nd we headed over to Woods bay and started our morning session with a bang i got my best trev for the trip on my 2nd cast. The morning session produced a lot more trevs and thumper bream but it seemed every cast we were hooking up or our softies were getting smashed without hooking up. But the arvo of this day got me and my dad our first jewies. This session saw 2 jewies (both 65cm and about 2.15kg i know to some people this may seem pretty small to get this excited about but i couldnt believe it!!) 2 diamond trevally (both caught by my brother) my pb bream on softies (35cm to the fork) and heaps of bream from 26cm-28 come into the boat mostly released. Anyway after i had netted my dads first jewie i was casting like crazy trying to hook up to my own jewie after a few cast my softie was slammed aftere setting the hook the line screamed off out of my control and i was sure this would be my first jewie. After a 15 minutes of fight with the fish peeling off line with ease i got the jewie near the boat but this just started the circling. After a good and bloody nervous 5 minutes of running around the boat trying to keep up with this fish and not put too much pressure on him it was ready to be netted but still had a few jumps in it when my bro tried to net it which had my heart in my throat knowing my first jewie was just there but i could still screw it up but after a couple of attempts it was in the boat and i was going insane. Anyway a ripper session and a good trip all round. Most fish including the jewies were caught on 6lb fireline 6lb vanish and a watermelon 3" droppie. Sorry about the long report but im still pretty pumped. Will try to attach a few pics. ;D
fincho
08-07-2005, 05:31 AM
My jewie
fincho
08-07-2005, 05:39 AM
My best gt for the trip not very long but thick!
pegasus
08-07-2005, 05:49 AM
Hey fincho-way to go- congratulations. They sound like some pretty active fishing sessions.That would have been tops on the light gear.
NeMo84
08-07-2005, 05:58 AM
good stuff mate, congrats on the jewie ;) dont those trevs fight well on 6lb! i absolutely love em!!!
fincho
08-07-2005, 07:03 AM
hey guys,
thanks for the replies, peagusus it was unbelievable fun on that gear was so pumped when i got it in, there were some VERY active sessions but there were also some pretty slow ones but the hot sessions definatly made up for any slow ones. Nemo i love the trevs too on that gear they're awesome fun!!
FINCHO
NeilD
08-07-2005, 09:28 AM
Its great to see the Noosa River still producing. I fished it a lot as a young fella and picked up all sorts of stuff including a 25lb Jew on a lure. I just wish we had the softies and stuff available today.
Good fish
jackash
08-07-2005, 11:33 AM
good on ya FINCHO. top fish. HAHa cant wait till chrissy.
DaneCross
08-07-2005, 11:47 AM
Good stuff Fincho! Congrats on the Jewie and PB trev. Gotta be happy with that. Sounds like the bream were top quality too. Good trip all-round by the sounds of things [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
DC
fincho
08-07-2005, 12:23 PM
Thanks everyone for the replies it was a bloody good trip and now i just have to get excited for going at chrissy ;D Asho hopefully we'll nail a few more jewies then a couple 1metre + :P
FINCHO
FOOCKCHUCKER
08-07-2005, 01:33 PM
well done bloke on plastics to boot; nice live bait size ! just kidding keep up the good work boys
shano
08-07-2005, 01:56 PM
champion effort matey well done! no wonder you were pumped! think i would be the same ;)
morty103
08-07-2005, 01:58 PM
Fincho,
I'll give you a yell at chrissy time when im up there, i know noosa very well, i go up around 3-4 times a year. And do lots of lure and live bait fishing, ive got a tonne of spots which i can show you. I know a 37 foot deep hole in noosa sound which ive seen jew get pulled from before.
Gimme a yell next time your up there, we stay in a house on the water on woods bay.
Morty
fincho
08-07-2005, 04:03 PM
Hey,
Shano thanks for the congrats!!
Morty i'll definatly tell ya before we're going up there at chrissy i'll take any advice that comes my way ;D
Thanks Heaps
FINCHO