View Full Version : Cairns - Sudbury 14/07/05 - before the blow
scuttlebutt
20-07-2005, 06:54 PM
Went trolling at Sudbury last Thursday. Using bibbed lures caught six shark mackeral, two green jobbies and a big barracuda. No Spaniards though, however we did lose two big lures to decent fish, so who knows ??? Was a fantastic day out on the water and I'm sure everyone's hoping for this wind to dissappear before too long.
scuttlebutt
20-07-2005, 07:01 PM
and shark mack...
scuttlebutt
20-07-2005, 07:04 PM
...and a stinking big barracuda. We tried on the bottom for trout but things were a little slow.. only got one so trolled instead and had a great time.
chemmy
20-07-2005, 07:09 PM
welcome to the site and the fishingup there looks to be great god fish and keep up the good work
michael
scuttlebutt
20-07-2005, 07:14 PM
Thanks michael, stumbled on this site by accident but it seems pretty good.
bazzaman
21-07-2005, 05:58 AM
Mate not a bad catch considering some locals i spoke to that day didnt fair any good. There was stuff all run in the water that day. I did a report on the same day and did ok. "Inshore cairns" the reports is called on page two or three by now i reckon. Im new to Cairns from Brisbane and is good to see some cairns reports starting to come up !!
Shane
Cyclone
21-07-2005, 09:11 AM
Wasn't it a perfect day on the water scuttlebutt haven't seen the sky so clear in a long time. I headed to Pixi trolled rigged gar for Macs no result so fished the bottom for four plump trout but slow fishing little run. moved to wide ground and trolled up two average spaniards. good report and good pics. Shane I'll have to have a look for your report I missed it, have you been out much since your move. Andrew.
Leo_N.
21-07-2005, 09:36 AM
Those green jobbies are seriously tasty fish. I'd take them over any mackeral, except maybe smoked slimies (you may scoff but try it before you knock it). I find the sharkies are great when fresh, but the flesh is a bit soft to freeze so usually end up releasing most of them.
I was stuck at Orpheus Is. and wasn't allowed to fish off the research boats there, so had to drool at the short lived glass-out conditions in awe.
scuttlebutt
21-07-2005, 12:18 PM
Yeah it was awesome weather - didn't want to come home! When we got out to the end of Sudbury and put the lines down we noticed there was hardly any run and things were slow. That's when we decided to troll 'cause the fish didn't have any current to concentrate them on the usual pinnacles and dropoffs (that's my theory anyway). The Green Jobfish was great eating - my girlfriend commented how good it was and she normally eats trout! Glad I've got a few photos to look at while it's raining and windy outside.
devocean
21-07-2005, 03:07 PM
Nice to hear from another NQ person as the SEQ on this site often overlook our fishing reports (I think they are just jealous) nice size shark mac , have the spotties come on yet up there?
Daintreeboy
21-07-2005, 03:16 PM
aye welcome aboard mate. Good first report too. Not a bad effort at all, keep it up.
Cheers, Mark.
megafish71
21-07-2005, 05:07 PM
Mate not a bad catch considering some locals i spoke to that day didnt fair any good. There was stuff all run in the water that day. I did a report on the same day and did ok. "Inshore cairns" the reports is called on page two or three by now i reckon. Im new to Cairns from Brisbane and is good to see some cairns reports starting to come up !!
Shane
Your right Shane bugger all run, but out where Daintreeboy and I got to there was plenty of current but still the fishing was quiet. Heres a few pics. BTW did any of you guys see any whales, seemed to be heaps out our way.
heres a few pics for yous
Cheers Ron
megafish71
21-07-2005, 05:09 PM
The young calf
megafish71
21-07-2005, 05:11 PM
megafish71
21-07-2005, 05:14 PM
red
megafish71
21-07-2005, 05:16 PM
another
megafish71
21-07-2005, 05:18 PM
something different
bazzaman
21-07-2005, 05:43 PM
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm reds ..........the shelf has to have some bruisers! Not far from where you guys were!
Shane
megafish71
22-07-2005, 03:39 AM
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm reds ..........the shelf has to have some bruisers! Not far from where you guys were!
Shane
How do you know where we were. ;D :o
Your right though there is some good ones out there. Found some new bottom out there, apearred to be loaded with fish, just they wern't on the chew. I am keen to give them a try again on the next new moon with good weather conditions. Interested in coming along?
Ron
scuttlebutt
22-07-2005, 03:51 AM
It's good to finally find a site with a few guys from Cairns. Was on that Fishnet site for a while - good site but all they talk about is Bermagui and yellowfin tuna.
We were out at the eastern tip of Sudbury and also saw a couple of whales, along with a few dolphins. At the time I thought one of the whales was shepparding a calf as well.. Looked like they were heading north.
How deep were those reds? I usually only fish up to about 130 feet and get mainly trout (not complaining mind you)
steve
ps - here's a few from a couple months back
Dr_Dan
22-07-2005, 07:27 AM
Ron
How common are the mauri emperor? Never seen one before. At first i thought it was a grunter! (oops!)
Can't complain about the catch at all. Some nice reds in there. Have to get in touch next time i'm up in case you need another deckie (hint hint!)
Nice china by the way Mark!
megafish71
22-07-2005, 08:31 AM
It's good to finally find a site with a few guys from Cairns. Was on that Fishnet site for a while - good site but all they talk about is Bermagui and yellowfin tuna.
We were out at the eastern tip of Sudbury and also saw a couple of whales, along with a few dolphins. At the time I thought one of the whales was shepparding a calf as well.. Looked like they were heading north.
How deep were those reds? I usually only fish up to about 130 feet and get mainly trout (not complaining mind you)
steve
Steve I mainly fish nothing shallower than 150feet, most of the time over 180feet and I stick to the rubble areas away from the shallower hard grounds. It takes time to find good ground but when you do the rewards can be very satisfying.
DR Dan where have you been, haven't herd from you in ages, make sure you give me a yell when your in town, only too happy to take you out for a fish mate. Those mauri emperor turn up regularly out where we have been fishing, their bloody good on the chew too, just quietly.
Cheers Ron
bazzaman
22-07-2005, 09:12 AM
Yeh Ron im always keen for a fish wide! Youll leave me in your wake tho...Remember im only in a 15FT and the weather would have to be pretty good. Two boats are always better than one but yeh im keen alright. I want to get to the shelf, can you guys equate those figures in metres.......Sounds roughly 60mtres + ....
Cant wait till the weather breaks for a good fish wide!
Shane
Moffy
22-07-2005, 09:13 AM
some nice fish there scuttlebutt.
what i like best about your pics Megafish is that i don't think i've ever seen daintreeboy holding anything other than a chinaman ;D
cHiCo
22-07-2005, 09:34 AM
Looks like theres a bit of a Cairns Crew starting to form here :D
Daintreeboy
22-07-2005, 12:14 PM
@#^#@& things, all ways end up on my line eh. next time I tells ya, next time. And that Maori emperor wasn't mine either, I just held it up for Ron who caught it, nice fish those
bazzaman
22-07-2005, 12:34 PM
ahahhahahahaha....yeh the shelf will give ya the bigguns i reckon boys!
GO THE SHELF!
Shane
megafish71
22-07-2005, 12:48 PM
Moffy, Me thinks DB should change his name to VK (vermon king). I have heaps of pics of Mark holding up all sorts of Vermon. ;D ;D ;D
Ron
cHiCo
22-07-2005, 01:13 PM
Bloody hell its windy, ive got white caps in my pool :O:P
Cyclone
23-07-2005, 06:18 AM
Hey Ron was that you I past on the way back in to Yorkey's Thursday about 3:00pm heading east. Nice Chinaman Mark ;D. would of been a nice night out there.
bazzaman
23-07-2005, 09:10 AM
I think Kingtin still holds the record for most vermin caught Ron. So Mark your safe, maybe you can be vermin king of the North!! Lets hope this wind eases by next weekend!!
Daintreeboy
24-07-2005, 05:35 AM
Challenge accepted. Let the war begin ;D