View Full Version : GOLD COAST SNAPPER

JB
31-07-2005, 01:40 PM
Hit the road this morning for the second day in a row at 4am and was thinking to
myself.. what the bloody hell am i doing i need sleep! But i charged on knowing
that i'd come good once that early morning breeze hit my face on the way out. I
must have got every light on the way to the ramp this morning which was really
making me think it was going to be one of those days.

Anways to the fishing, headed out to my spot through the crowds (an i mean crowds!)
dropped anchor and started to burley, with nothin happening after and hour and some
taunting of others about grinners while they catch pearlies ::), i decided to shift.

Anchored at the new spot and had some encouraging signs but nothing more untill
WAMMO!! my calcutta 400 gets steamrolled while i float out a bait, and i get a good
hookup while the fish then preceeds to tell me i need heavier gear by pulling a couple
of big runs towards home.

Finnally after some convincing on my part i turned the fish and up she came.. SNAPPER! ;D ;D ;D

After some panicing and anticipation the gaff slips in an i drag 10kg of gold coast
snapper onto the deck. One very happy angler !! On the radio to gloat then to the
tackle shop for some weight checks.

Its been a long time coming but HELL YEAH !! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

JB
31-07-2005, 01:41 PM
Old man snaps, poor bugger is prolly 20 years old!

JB
31-07-2005, 01:41 PM
the esky chockas

JB
31-07-2005, 01:42 PM
The fish just caught, with rod and reel caught on.

31-07-2005, 01:48 PM
congrats jase thats the one we all want!

a 20yr feast in the making that one.

Holy_Mackerel
31-07-2005, 01:54 PM
Alright!!! That's what we like to see - dreams coming true! Top effort JB. Now lets see if I can get one tomorrow??...???...

Good on you champ,
Wes

Sportfish_5
31-07-2005, 01:55 PM
Time for a new esky JB ;D ;D ;D

flattymattyb
31-07-2005, 02:01 PM
Hi JB,

Top stuff mate that is an absolute horse :o. Well worth the wait I bet. What a great day out on the water.

Matty

beatsworkin
31-07-2005, 02:09 PM
matee what a snapper can'y wait till i get 1 that big

matthill80
31-07-2005, 02:13 PM
awesome stuff jb well done mate now its my turn ;D ;D

cheers matt

31-07-2005, 06:08 PM
Good one mate!!!

A well deserved trophey fish!

No wonder you had to sit down after catching that thing!!! Said to the oldman after talking to you on the radio, "It sounds like he needs an asthma inhaler"..LOL

Top fish!

aquarius
31-07-2005, 06:24 PM
Onya JB......Thats one ripper snapper mate and on the light gear you did well.
Cheers Brent ;)

31-07-2005, 09:31 PM
Stonker!!!! Well done!

Matt.

Willo
01-08-2005, 06:22 AM
Quote "Then onto the radio to Gloat"
THats an understatement, I thought he was talkin in some strange rapid Alien lanuage :) ;) followed by deep breaths :)
Had to get Heath to translate for me :) :)
THose Big Snapper generate some power A
Top Fish Mate [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

01-08-2005, 07:04 AM
And don't forget the classic line " Shit! I gotta sit down, I can't stop shaking"...LOL

As you would after a fish like that, I might add ;D

blue_rogue
01-08-2005, 09:34 AM
You finally got your big snapper Jas. Great effort

Just got back from taking the new rig out all morning. Seas where beautiful but the fishing was ordinary. Headed to the Pin 36's and caught a few squire, but couldn't get baits past the leather jacket. Lost a fortune worth of gear. Post will be up later

Good work

Dom

01-08-2005, 09:42 AM
No.1 Top fish.

Good Job

Fletch
01-08-2005, 04:36 PM
Well done JB!

Great fish mate!

DICER
02-08-2005, 12:48 AM
top snappa

02-08-2005, 02:18 AM
Giday JB
Earlier in the week you said : those big snappa sure know the way home and it's not towards the boat" i guess your opinion is still the same. It sure is a great feeling to break the 10kg mark isn't it.
Congrats Ian

02-08-2005, 03:57 AM
Awesome fish JB. Well done.

JB
02-08-2005, 05:42 AM
Thanks for the comments all, looks like i wasnt the only one catching good fish over the weekend! , Some great reports about.

Jas

stunnedmullet
02-08-2005, 05:47 AM
Well done JB. You desrve to gloat when a plan comes together that well. Persistance, persistance, persistance. ;D
The mullet