View Full Version : JEWIE on soft plastic in the Tweed.

flickflack
17-08-2005, 06:14 AM
Hi Guys

Decided late yesterday aavo to go for a fish in the Tweed, after checking the tide opted to give the mouth a skip and look for some deeper water up river with the run in tide. We started jigging big softies on the heavy gear for big flatties and my mate caught a small jewie around 1.5kg.I decided to scale the gear down and put a 3 inch manns assasin on the 4lb bream rod and stradic 1000,hoping to catch a small jewie myself .After about another 20 min I hooked into a solid fish that powered away up the river with the telltale heavy headshakes.I kept the boat on top of the fish with the electric to try and stop him bricking me.Everything held together and 40min later we lifted the beaut fish into the boat.After a few pics we revived the fish and off she swam.They really are great fish.

Cheers Rod

flickflack
17-08-2005, 06:16 AM
Reviving the fish next to the boat.

17-08-2005, 06:26 AM
sensational effort.

DICER
17-08-2005, 06:26 AM
that is a top fish...and beaut pic as well. Though it would have tasted pretty good?! What do you think it wieghed?

17-08-2005, 06:32 AM
Top looking fish Rod

The pink scheen looks great in the photo, must have been even better in real life

Cheers Steven

flickflack
17-08-2005, 07:03 AM
Dicer
The fish weighed about 9kg with trying to weigh and support it's weight and not do any damage.
Rod

morty103
17-08-2005, 07:22 AM
doesnt get much better than that, golden effort
morty

NeilD
17-08-2005, 08:24 AM
What a great effort. Another candidate for Fish of the Month[smiley=2thumbsup.gif].
It would certainly pull the kinks out of a Bream outfit :o

Sandman
17-08-2005, 08:36 AM
Just a little further up from where that photo 1 is are some nice Jack , Top fish mate good to see the release

Somethn_Fishy
17-08-2005, 09:19 AM
Hey FF,

Beaut fish - can't beleive you got her on a breamoutfit with a 1000 Sahara..

Must have felt like she was gonna break some gear hey? ;)

Top effort and nice to see her swim again - the tweed needs every fish it can keep..

Cheers Rick

JB
17-08-2005, 09:57 AM
Jeremy got it in one, sensational. Not too many anglers would have let that fish swim away. Well done.

jackash
17-08-2005, 12:04 PM
Flick Flack,
top stuff, thats an awesome fish, especially on that gear. Great effort chemp, and great to see it released!
JAckash

17-08-2005, 12:39 PM
Top fish mate! Would have been an amazing fight on 4lb! Well done.

flickflack
17-08-2005, 12:52 PM
Yeah guys they are an awesome fish.Love catching em but enjoy it even more to see them swim away again. Maybe that fish will give someone else a good go one day.

Roderick.

Poseidon
17-08-2005, 01:01 PM
Been slogging away at my aimless job all day, check the fishing reports and look at this. I am humbled by your efforts, what a sensational fish. Stuff working I wanna fish more.
Regards Cameron.

flickflack
17-08-2005, 01:48 PM
Cam
Yeah mate,Somedays I wonder. Get finished at the restaurant at 11:30, get home by 12,then up at 4:30 to go for a fish.I do that 2 or three times a week I reelly feel it by Sunday arvo. BUT we can't help ourelves we NEED to fish.

fincho
17-08-2005, 02:14 PM
hey flick flack,

AWESOME EFFORT. That fish on any gear would be incredable but on that gear is even better!!! Caught my first jewie on softies at noosa a little while ago and since then been dreaming of a fish like yours. TOP FISH!!!

FINCHO

mattooty
17-08-2005, 02:15 PM
Thats a top fish. Especially on the bream gear. Some of the fish u post, really shows through as to your experience and ability

Holy_Mackerel
17-08-2005, 02:28 PM
Congratulations Flickflack. That's a great effort and acheivement. Well done. And hat's off to you for swimming her back to life. A jew on lure is fantastic. On the gear you did it on is sensational.
Wes

foggy
17-08-2005, 02:51 PM
Excellent work. Great fun on the light gear aren't they. Keep them coming I say.

flattymattyb
17-08-2005, 03:20 PM
Hi Rod,

what can I say that hasn't been said, great effort

Matty

damons33
17-08-2005, 03:49 PM
"3 inch manns assasin "
so i know something that needs to be asked!
colour?
::)
damon

flickflack
17-08-2005, 03:51 PM
Thanks guys.
Will have to steal a few mornings this week and see if there are any more.

Roderick.

flickflack
17-08-2005, 03:55 PM
Damon
It is a a clear colour with a bright chartreuse back.My mate Kevin got them from Bass pro shops and I stole 2 from him.Now I have only one cos that one is going on the wall.I was fishing it on a 3/8 ounce green head in 30ft of water.I could use the lighter head because of the thin line.
Rod.

17-08-2005, 04:55 PM
Congrats on the fish mate. What a beauty! And well done on letting her swim away.

Keep these tweed reports coming !

CT

TonyM
17-08-2005, 05:41 PM
Outstanding result on the light gear flick flack! Bet you won't forget that one in a hurry ;)

I used to have a ball on the Jewies in the Hawkesburry on my light bream gear - if I'd had enough wrestling the big bream out of the oyster racks I'd occaisionally pin a few big soapies for fun - never anything that size on the light gear though - unreal!

Gutsy
18-08-2005, 02:46 AM
Awesome!! ;D

flickflack
18-08-2005, 07:15 AM
Went again this morning but just got a few flatties, guess we were just in the right place at the right time.

rando
18-08-2005, 10:00 AM
It's all been said, !!!
Champion effort
rando

James_V17L
18-08-2005, 02:31 PM
Thats awesome Flickflack..great pic,great report,even better release..top stuff mate..

18-08-2005, 03:08 PM
Is that Toppy's boat or have you got one yourself?

flickflack
18-08-2005, 03:25 PM
No mate it's mine. I have a 4.2m quintrex explorer,its getting used heaps
rod

noluck
18-08-2005, 11:26 PM
.top stuff mate.. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
great report..
great pic...
nice to see u let her go [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
no_luck

Bonesy
19-08-2005, 07:27 PM
wow :o :o :o

Bonesy

rabbitohbill
20-08-2005, 07:16 AM
Cam<br>Yeah mate,Somedays I wonder. Get finished at the restaurant at 11:30, get home by 12,then up at 4:30 to go for a fish.I do that 2 or three times a week I reelly feel it by Sunday arvo. BUT we can't help ourelves we NEED to fish.

What restraunt you got Flick?
I'm only down at Murwillumbah so may share the wealth with you one evening.

BTW, bloody fine jewie. :P

flickflack
20-08-2005, 09:58 AM
Mikes Kitchen Rib and Steakhouse in Coolangatta, If I am not fishing then i am there an If I aint there then I am fishing.