View Full Version : Barwons Sunday
Planned a trip to Barwons Banks on Sunday, we watched the weather forecast with interest on Saturday, before making the call to go. Have to say the BOM got the forecast spot-on. Left Mooloolba about 5.30 am had a tail wind all the way out of about 15 kts. Wind started to drop as we arrived at the Northern end of the banks. Crew was regular first mate Phil and Paul [fishmaster]. Paul gave us a good fishing. While I was still tying my first rig, Paul had his first 5 kg snapper in the boat. Paul continued to pull the fish in before Phil decided it was his turn, with another nice Snapper. I finally got a nice Snapper in the esky, before trying another spot a few kms away. The conditons only got better. We continued to pull nice pull nice Snapper all day till we got to our bag limit, size ranged from 2kg to 7kg. Phil landed a great Spangled Emperor at 7kg which tested his light gear. Phil had a big tussle with a foul hooked Red Emperor which went 51cm. Bummer! I managed one at 45 cm which was also realeased. We were all using mono, which I am getting used to after using braid for so long. I lost a couple of nice fish due to light drag setting and not setting the hooks properly, as they say you live and learn.
Sunday was the first time I had a chance to try the new trim tabs. I found the conditons really required little use of the tabs, so it was hard to rate them. I have finally mastered the JRC sounder/wet box set up and am rapped with the results.
Had a very memorable day on the water, a big thanks to Paul for the fishing lesson and supplying the bait. When conditions are right we are ready to go again!
Cheers, Troy.
Scott15
23-08-2005, 07:40 AM
great catch!
23-08-2005, 08:01 AM
good call on going sunday, by the look's it was worth it 8-) top feed ;D
philip_thomson
23-08-2005, 10:13 AM
well done troy phil and paul on a great days work. those snappa are real good quality. 7kg spangled is a fish that you must be happy with. i love the little hussar and moses perch in amongst those huge snappa [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
cheers phil
Mad_fisherman
23-08-2005, 10:16 AM
Awesome catch lad's well done
southernson
23-08-2005, 10:56 AM
Nice job boys!!
Im jealous.!!! :( :'(
620sf
23-08-2005, 12:49 PM
Nice fish Troy, looks like the conditions were spot on, hopefully his weekend.
A hard day at the office.
Anne-T-Dote
23-08-2005, 06:15 PM
That's a great haul of fish there Troy, well done. Were you guys on the pic or drifting?
Macca, all fish caught anchored up, and steady stream of berley. Just looked at the weather, dont think I will be going this week. But worth going after the blow ;)
SeaSaw
23-08-2005, 07:43 PM
Some very good fish ... well done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
That is a great spangled
Thanks Mark, I read your report, I have never seen anything like that black cod. However,we did catch something I have never seen before , a Numfish/Electric Ray, which gave one of the boys a bit of a tickle. :)Won't do that again.
fella
24-08-2005, 07:27 AM
well done boys . lets hope this SE backs off soon. great spangled too..
jackash
24-08-2005, 12:37 PM
That spangled is a ripper zulu. :o :o ;D ;DBet it pulled some. Keep up the good work, cheers Fritzy.
Ps. were all the fish taken on the bottom??
krtazy
24-08-2005, 04:31 PM
well done fellas good catch good to see the snapper around in good numbers :)
Fritzy, fish where on the bottom or just above. The boys reckon a 7 kg spangled goes about as hard as a 9 kg snapper!
Reefmaster
26-08-2005, 07:18 PM
Great stuff Troy
You must be happy that the sounder is sorted and you had some great fishing. Some good quality there and that spangled is a corker. Looks like i may not see you at our usaull haunt after your trip on the Barwons. :)
Speak to ya soon
Cheers Greg
G'Day Greg,
While they where great fish, they are not in the same league of your '' standard'' catch [or colour]:)
When cleaning the boat/trailer down this time there was a distinct lack of beach sand coming from the trailer ;) You are right it might be a little while before I go back to the usual haunts, while these Snapper are still around.
Cheers Troy.
megafish71
27-08-2005, 11:48 AM
Good to see you get amongst them Zulu. How did you go with the Trim Tabs?
Ron
G'Day Ron,
had a couple of hiccups fitting the tabs. End up being a faulty solenoid on the pump, the guys it replaced under warranty no questions asked. Kept blowing fuses, ended up being my fault, I had over tightened the oil lines into the actuators causing them to partially block-off the oil supply. These nuts really only need to be just done up. Have not really be able to give the tabs a proper test, on the way out we had a following sea and on the way back in no sea.
I am still running my hydrafoil [permatrim]on the motor, is this recommended?
Cheeers Troy.