View Full Version : Solomon islands trip...

Capt_Asparagus
06-09-2005, 02:30 PM
Good time had by all at Zipolo Habu, www.zipolohabu.com.sb
We had great weather, great fishing, all in all an awesome trip.
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQCvAlkeWL9GCaleER7UfmXiGpFlcj7CljH91mLgtkvsEKCJC zo9m0HfCpOc9LaUdirObCp9x5nYUzAcTOBYoUgyM5YK19h2yc2 6oxo!MRty4az*1z9pMLqVUtqWrpig5zZ3HxrlVSQ/SolsAug05Small9v.jpg?dc=4675537789635029507
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XAAZA1sd12xGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*MunoI!8U6sruoM!wN !Ih3ZQI2rmpPiAYnRxqAjwpj4M6dYHPz3qSqhbk8QScQz5N8wx H5Ay2B0UD1CFLJV5YXp0wu6w!keJedbjcsBaY1YQ/SolsAug05SMALL1.jpg?dc=4675537789406017078
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XAAAAF0db21GCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*fplcOUEVTr*gmuwbB AUmkNuubOsWPbfj9cGA8Amq98XEj3TnvGwthOsc!uy5DdVmPaM bV1QhLtKiSvC*NS6W4RNeV0*U3qUrx95j4*buKkY/SolsAug05SMALL3.jpg?dc=4675537789422821536
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XADrAmAdU25GCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*OR!4egdpCz9LfZv5Q vbQU3McSewzkaBLGjorgWwJRy03mNWtzfwEaBNdchU7l2FLVqp eRbfQI6aNxd2JvWZtIeJzq1aczuvtNeAByR2!fJM/SolsAug05SMALL6.jpg?dc=4675537789448171387
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XAAAAGId625GCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*7B7YnySBeTUzTKD!g 9fbgCzrzQRvhJ!6YSzuQu98gW3aQCdxnSTWShv6W5ILtLaOThg 6AHXIvHXyPnpkzh6VcUpYFNRCIlpJuknfYkdd8!4/SolsAug05SMALL8.jpg?dc=4675537789461544643
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDrAsUdqJFGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*Ug92XvWT1CBJKX5hS J*SYxgOttKeLEzGcMhXlIWwleB8hGSACQuwk89g8PQkIcYtLVA dWnGz2BKs0sBvVq8K5pAoGZIRumZd74lfJHvFFOU/SolsAug05SMALL9b.jpg?dc=4675537789485680768
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDoArwd9I5GCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*iAwb4Nuqff2Celfsn l4vxxi1tONNiJqB2pGoGeXahc30qgvRwD4Y8z6oduXMPS0kiUE sXY*1I5G37XkdwFDTjpUakbFVCZsk5hXcmsK13tg/SolsAug05SMALL1a.jpg?dc=4675537789412232055
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQAAAMsdcJNGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*aPGjFBx87kV7*oU*Z HMpYQ4KofTxxMkLTfzgU82ZT5FsHwYUX4UWJem7lklt7!vReYM ny1DaK61cjdjDIJkov*he0NdW!yrzhGRjxTkAfdE/SolsAug05SMALL9h.jpg?dc=4675537789526912454
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDvAlEe!LxGCaleER7UfmXiGpFlcj7Cfif4YLyzIRO4aY8tq 8x7uy66WJ1CM*kImkiQ9k54kxwN0LAwmwVd6PMADxG9BUCcpDE Eju!*Q4LgzmcEuvlITA385roCjDzLclY17sImHcw/SolsAug05Small9n.jpg?dc=4675537789585891899
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDoAsYd9JFGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*6YdUEABfwR8JuKQ!H d9LGAJCs4oWsxH1c2KfzcQPkD3M!OnUkhiGOsxRUdQZ8oSjTJO jFzNB0jxHQmrYfPbDWc!hV9IvF1Xdm1faPr2sYuY/SolsAug05SMALL9c.jpg?dc=4675537789491768486
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDrAngeTMlGCaleER7UfhnW4CrBo1o3HlYUDkTEosLppB96D wyDxb9IRJr4wk!Iqjh*3nWBljxb!KtwqVrZz!GJ!AFoItjq8s4 qoSN4xXoUYCQGctNN9HN5qUbCBt4e0BrjTv!eEzE/SolsAug05small9u.jpg?dc=4675537789627850548
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XgDvAjceaLlGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*k0iyaDeZsrlAeiaL8 nye2h8eZ0eZV4xfgnJYXZAEM58V5eCV7S7oSYTQnstz2YV1u2w 6ViTuuonQ2*!03X983P7ROb8iVrYCkvpxxPUVq1Y/SolsAug05SMALLUWa.jpg?dc=4675537789668164384
...ohhh, and too many more pics to mention! If you want to see more of the pics, go here....
http://groups.msn.com/CaptainAsparagusAdventures/captasparagusinthesolomons.msnw

cheers all,
Stu.

FOOCKCHUCKER
06-09-2005, 02:53 PM
once i took my eyes of the great swimmers so well worn by the fishergirl noticed a fish in mid flight in the back ground looks like a mac tuna or stipey weel done you lucky lucky buggers.

flickflack
06-09-2005, 02:58 PM
Lovely pics there mate , didnt see the fish jumping at first had to go back and look again. Was a bit distracted there by the other nice fishes.

Sportfish_5
06-09-2005, 03:01 PM
What fish ::)

philip_thomson
06-09-2005, 03:25 PM
:o :o :o :o
wow what an awesome trip and awesome fish

Commodore
06-09-2005, 03:32 PM
Very nice, uhhh conditions to be fishing in. ;)

fritzy
06-09-2005, 03:43 PM
Agreed,
Looks like a tough err fishing trip... ;D ;D Yes a fishing trip... That large painted cray has some nice errr tan lines on it i suppose you could call them... [smiley=jester.gif] [smiley=smitten.gif] [smiley=smitten.gif]
Cheers Fritzy

DaneCross
06-09-2005, 05:25 PM
Top fish, top conditions, top place, top company ([smiley=gorgeous.gif]) ...thats it, I'm goin' ;D
I noticed the jumping fish too, don't know what you other blokes were looking at ::) ;D
There's some top pics on your website too. Is that a free-swimming billfish I saw on there? What is the story behind that? Taken upon release I'm gathering??

fritzy
06-09-2005, 05:32 PM
Its in my post. ;) ;) Was looking at the painted cray... ;D ;D Just noticed now that there is quite a good looking girl holding them up...
Cheers Fritzy

Capt_Asparagus
06-09-2005, 05:34 PM
Just noticed the skippie now, since you mentioned it! Well well.....
In the Blackett Straits there, you have small schools of skippies coming up everywhere, hence the good numbers of predators like Sailers and smallish Black Marlin. Oh, and sharks... we got one, a 8-9ft Oceanic Whitetip, (charcharinus longimanus, that took a fish on the way up, finally got it boatside, and the TV guy we had aboard, Bill Hohepa, had his camera over the side recording it underwater... it saw his hand and came RIGHT at him! After a quick EEEK!! and hand pulled outof the water, he popped his camera back under and got a shot as the shark circled back away again... it had the 30cm sinker in its mouth and was slamming it's mouth on it, really expressing it's feelings about fishermen and fishing tackle in general I thought.
We got it back boatside, grabbed the remaining gear on the rig and cut it free.
No swimming out there man!

cheers, Stu.
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDrAs4dVJRGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*w2Xc75g8OscIUkWHs TKTljEaVuqlw6YXL2P0l9DWkrr9*1aw*hlWE2f6vwEEuifP4Iw XuDT1*m8AIF7XOQcD4WL5*m1C5ftMgwIU2LkQZ*c/SolsAug05SMALL9k.jpg?dc=4675537789553604880
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQAAAHceAMlGCaleER7UfhnW4CrBo1o3bl47!Jh9zJ1sRtZS6 BHa!vQrqFA3A7OsrXShkI3JLs9z!SMcBeFqh3Kr4ayNkrIe5jy kQmx0mPY5WdDayRwlzQZ4WFJjp2E7fynf2NGTavc/SolsAug05small9t.jpg?dc=4675537789621905996
maaatteee! Watch dem teefs!

Daintreeboy
06-09-2005, 05:35 PM
The jobfish the bloke is holding, what type is it? A Goldband?

Capt_Asparagus
06-09-2005, 05:49 PM
Yep, we get stacks of them up there... I'd say about 3 Goldies to one rosy jobfish.
Also get all sorts of other ooglies... any idea what these are??....
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQARA8wdvJNGCaleER7UflGZTT9wg1t*0CIAqWJH*CbX5A8h4 PZ1TQ*W!WMbJwIliUxOvav0kBghLmjtwNdSm2DzBM16EBkN*6O eRay2cSSlzrdKFH0oUeB0Rv08Cq1xlMABn9tawTA/SolsAug05SMALL9i.jpg?dc=4675537789533377175

or this...
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0XQDrAk8eYLxGCaleER7UfmXiGpFlcj7CUMKyUQd0eutkB4xdu t!r4Cn!wCH5q1Dof*nNp6UThiYvFzKGEAACpg6cFIT7DV4*pBs fAVI5Nio!J*KZMSxAFmCW1mgxR53WyaoAtHtYQdY/SolsAug05Small9l.jpg?dc=4675537789562105734

????
cheers, Stu.

mattooty
06-09-2005, 06:24 PM
That popper looks pretty beaten up after that mac. Is it the same one as in trevally foto? Awesome fish, looks like you had a shart load of fun!

mattooty
06-09-2005, 06:25 PM
by the way, were you on a charter or what happened there? If it was a charter, did you have your own gear?

mattooty
06-09-2005, 06:26 PM
O MY GOD!!!! i just saw that im a silver member!!! awesome! you bloody lil ripper!!!
sorry, guyz, got a bit excited.

Whiley_Whiting
06-09-2005, 06:33 PM
first fish you are asking about is a small mouth nannygai, not sure of the other

Sandman
06-09-2005, 06:42 PM
Small pair of Crays ;D

Steven78
06-09-2005, 07:28 PM
Hubber Bubber They are firm Crays...... Sorry the ment the fish ;D ;D :o

Capt_Asparagus
06-09-2005, 09:04 PM
I head up to that resort pretty much every year, as it is a really great place to get away from everything and just blob out. They have boats, yamaha longboats, you charter with a boatman/guide, it is pretty cheap, all up, for accoms, all meals, charter trips every day and drinks you're looking at around $170AUD a day.

I took 8 others up there this year, one bloke who goes every year with me, a few newbies, and Billy Ho and his Wife, doing filming for the Bill Hohepa Fishing Show here in NZ (and DVDs, I cannot wait for this latest one, Billy Ho goes Troppo)

It ain't the sort of place you want to really take the wife and kids (which is why I like it so much!) as there is pretty much nothing to do but snorkelling, diving, fishing, surfing and .... well, that is about it really. No shopping, no jet ski hire, no theme parks apart from "Lets play with the crocs in the mangroves", but you get to chose between fishing in rainforest rivers, mangrove areas, reefs, or bluewater for everything from Spottail Bass to Marlin.
Me, I go up there mainly for the poppering.

Yes, that may be the same green popper there mattooty, I generally use the same popper until I lose it. The BEST poppers up there, bar none, is the yo-zuri Surface Bull GT. They lose their paint, but it doesn't matter, they work just as well "nude".

Cheers for now,
Stu.

NeilD
06-09-2005, 09:08 PM
Lola Lola Lola.

I went there back before all the troubles in the Solomons. The Lola Island bar has to be one of the best places on Earth to relax at the end of a hard day. We did everything from Marlin to Spot tail bass. Good stuff. I don't recall the scenery as nice as in your pics.

Capt_Asparagus
06-09-2005, 10:13 PM
Still looks the same mate! Even some of the same posters etc on the far wall!
However, next year, expect to see some nice pics of things like... ummm.... well, perhaps some crayfish perhaps? Something like that anyhow.... :-)
Stu.

DICER
07-09-2005, 08:12 AM
That dolly is as green as that guys shirt...

and I'm getting greener!! Very Jealous!

JB
07-09-2005, 08:45 AM
Dam, where do i get me one of those green suited sexy lookin crayfish catchers :P :o

I asked the gf last night but she wasnt so impressed with my humour ::) ;)

Mad_fisherman
07-09-2005, 11:08 AM
Gold. Looks like a good time had by all including those for mentioned Cray's

Well Done

MAD!

southernson
07-09-2005, 11:26 AM
top stuff!!!!!! nice...um..errgh... fish!!!!! Good work, i want to go!! NOW!!

07-09-2005, 12:30 PM
Excellent looking trip and great shots C_A. Whats with sail shot, was it under the boat as I cannot see any line attached.

Steven

Gbanger
07-09-2005, 02:52 PM
NICE CRAYS!

Capt_Asparagus
07-09-2005, 10:39 PM
Hi-ho Hi-Yo.... :-) ... that wasn't a sail, it was a smallish Black Marlin, about 80-100kg, that was free swimming under the boat, trying to nail one of a pair of small yellowfin we had just landed. We popped the freshest, still kicking, yellowfin back in, and used that to keep the marlin interested and circling while I got my underwater camera out and filmed it swimming about.
Awesome footage for a chump like me, I was indeed very well pleased!

By the time we decided to have a crack at using the yellowfin as a proper bait to hook the marlin, a small shark had turned up, the marlin buggered off, and nthing came of it. But I was happy, I got me pics and vid, that was what I was most interested in!
Stu.

chucky78
08-09-2005, 07:48 AM
Good work mate. I went over there with work about a year and a half ago and only had a hand line but still did well. Fished mainly at Gizo island. The people are great and food was even better. :)

chillers
08-09-2005, 08:27 AM
Gday capt asparagus, that looks like a great trip #;), i not long got back from Port Moresby PNG the fishing is just as good, people were catching tuna and mackeral off the beach (unreal) . Can't wait till i can plan a fishing trip there not a working one

5cougarsthanx
08-09-2005, 04:21 PM
nice crayfish thingys

Capt_Asparagus
09-09-2005, 06:58 AM
This is what happens to your livebait for hte marlin once a small shark turns up....
http://www.#################.com/img/073398.jpg
Bit of a begger really! :-)
About 2 minutes after this, we had 3 8fters circling the boat too, so it really IS lucky we didn't hook up on the marlin, it woulda been shark doo-doo's by now!

Stu.

Capt_Asparagus
09-09-2005, 07:15 AM
Darn, couldn't get the pic to load, dunno why. Oh well, it was a munched up little tuna, the pic is.... ah! I see, "removed by Spam filters"! Hmmm.... Oh well, Guess you can't see it then!

cheers all,
Stu.