View Full Version : Wello Report 15th Oct
aquarius
15-10-2005, 01:26 PM
Hi Folks, Took a Nephew and Newbie out this morning to the Wello Snapper grounds.
Boy we sure picked a good day to work the plastics.
6am and the S/E Wind was already 15 knots.
Started drifting and yes the newbie (michael) was first to hook into a legal squire.
Minutes later the Nephew brings a 40cm squire on board.
Tide was now full and we were getting small squire but not the quality ones.
I cast out a 1/4 oz nitro with a 4" zoom arkansas shiner and WACK!! my line took off at high speed.
Half the spool emptied before Scott fired up the motor and gave chase.
Sea's were 1 metre by now and the wind a good 20/25 knots.
The fish ran me around all over the reef before finally giving up 5 minutes later.
The boys were happy to see a nice 60 cm snapper in the net.
Can't seem to get a bigger snapper than this from Wello but i'm sure going to keep on trying.
9-30 am and the tide was on the ebb, bites shut down so off home we went surfing all the way.
We are looking at tomorrow morning for another plastic's session but at this stage it doesn't look likely.
Only saw 2 boats brave the conditions at Wello early but they did not stay long.
Cheers Brent ;)
aquarius
15-10-2005, 01:29 PM
Pic 2
Commodore
15-10-2005, 01:35 PM
Nice work Brent, looked very choppy from Wynnum, glad you caught a few, nice fish that 60cm model, will taste great. ;)
Well done mate, thats a ripper size for that area. I woke up this morning and thought to myself "hrm, glad i aint out fishing in that wind" ;)
glennaus
15-10-2005, 01:36 PM
where abouts is wello snapper grounds mate
philip_thomson
15-10-2005, 01:40 PM
good stuff a ripper bay snappa. sure will taste great
cheers phil
aquarius
15-10-2005, 01:47 PM
Mate the Wello Reef stretches from the Huybers beacon in the north all the way up to Ormiston point in the South.
If you put in the hours you get the rewards but it takes patience.....Ive been fishing this reef for the past 10 years or so and it always amazes me how much fish inhabit the area.
Check the reef out during winter when the water is clear to see the structure.
Cheers Brent :)
chemmy
15-10-2005, 02:35 PM
great fish there the conditions look perfict.....not ;D
keep up the good reports
15-10-2005, 03:07 PM
Well done Brent. You deserve results braving that weather.
foggy
15-10-2005, 03:12 PM
Nice fish Brent. We are going to have a look out there tomorrow morning weather permitting. What depth were the fish in today?
glennaus
15-10-2005, 03:13 PM
cheers thanks mate i,ll look in to it further so keen to get out tomorrow but not looking good
big_steve001
15-10-2005, 03:54 PM
brent thats an awsome fish for that area. they r the perfect size nice tasting fish. would hav put up a gud fite as well. cheers steve
drawn
15-10-2005, 04:38 PM
Nice fish there Aqaurius.
I want to try and get some snapper on soft plastics here in South Australia.
I've got the perfect spot to try as the water is 14 to 19ft at this spot and we have caught plenty of snapper at night from just legal up to 110cm. I know the fish are there at the moment as last week we caught a 90cm and 2x95cm snapper on bait using the light gear, 10lb fireline.
Do you just drift along jigging the lure up and down, plus shake it every now and then?
Or do you try to cast around a bit while drifting?
Are there any other tips you can give me?
I bought some snap backs and decent jig heads last week so I'm ready to try it the next chance I get.
drawn
James_V17L
15-10-2005, 05:24 PM
Top stuff Brent & great report(as usual)...I have enjoyed fishing the area
recently & it proves you dont have to head out for miles to get a good feed...cheers,James
PS..Left or right from the ramp???.. ;) :-/
aquarius
15-10-2005, 05:28 PM
G,Day Drawn.......Mate you should have success with the plastics if your catching big snapper with bait.
I'm using 10lb braid with 2 metres of 12lb flourocarbon leader.
At a guess i would say try 1/4 oz jigheads with a 4 or 5" snapback.......You may need to go to 3/8th if the current is running fast.
Throw the plastic ahead of your drift and slowly take up the slack line.
Most times they whack the plastic on the fall.
Don't be in a hurry to wind in the plastic unless your after pelagics.
Slow gentle lifts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If the structure is very rough watch out you don't snag up on the bottom but if you do motor up to and over in the oppersite direction to retrieve the lure.........Works most times...lol
Try spraying some attractant on the plastic to entice a bite.
Good luck
I Remember seeing some of those monster snapper you posted a year ago so hope to see a nice nobby with a plastic hanging from its gob sometime soon.
aquarius
15-10-2005, 05:38 PM
Hi James.....Mate left from one ramp and right from the other if you know what i mean ::)
The big fish are around you just have to keep casting until your arms fall off...lol.
Cheers Brent ;)
drawn
15-10-2005, 06:17 PM
Thanks for that brent.
I may not get a chance for a little while but when I do I'll post some pics.
drawn
allniter
15-10-2005, 07:00 PM
Good stuff Brent,
persistent bugga aren't you ?
i see a bit of beacon in the first piccy,
" BRENT'S BEACON " ? ;D
keep em coming son......
regards darren
aquarius
15-10-2005, 08:11 PM
Hi Darren........Mate i suppose you will be heading to your favourite overnight stamping grounds very soon after BIG RED.
Yes mate its a beacon but not mine..lol
These bay snapper are in top condition at present.......they pull line out like freight trains.
I weighed the 60cm snapper and it went just under 3 kilo.
Cheers Brent ;)
youngfisho
15-10-2005, 11:54 PM
brent
wouldnt mine taggin along one day just to sus out how to work those plastics. my boat will be out of order for a little while to fix the floor would be keen for a ride along. usually have days off during the week.
andrew
aquarius
16-10-2005, 08:00 AM
Hi Andrew, Sorry mid week is out for me.
My mate sometimes does mid week trips so i will ask him to keep you in mind.
James_V17L
16-10-2005, 10:35 AM
Thanks for that Brent...I was tempted to head out this morning..
but couldnt drag myself out of bed... ::) ::)
I too was wondering about that beacon/marker.. ;)
Have a top day mate...James
Wyoming
16-10-2005, 10:43 AM
Brent - you must be a little touched to have been out in that weather yesterday!! I was one of the other 2 boats that you saw and I got there about 8.45. My first chuck was at 9.15, so I went home again! Seeing your fish makes me think that I should have stayed - it would have been worth the pain.
As you know, I have been away and have not been able to fish for about 3 weeks, so I was going fishing yesterday, hell or high water. Hell knows why I went.
aquarius
16-10-2005, 12:57 PM
Hi Neil, Your right mate i must be a little bit crazy but the boys were keen and my Nephew travelled down from Gympie so i thought we better give it a shot..lol
I have had luck in the past when the winds are blowing S/E so was confident we would at least get some average squire.
Probably would have been sloppy conditions again this morning but we would have gone out again if not for the rain.
There's always another day and the squire will be getting bigger i hope.
Cheers Brent ;)
adriancorrea
16-10-2005, 04:37 PM
Once again well done Brent and crew
I cant wait to get my boat back in the water and be back out there fishing wello and peel.
Keep up those good reports it keeps those of us who are boatless from going insane lol
Tight Lines
Adrian
Mogwai
17-10-2005, 03:50 PM
Well done Brent
is this wello reef ??? fish in there a colpe of tie me never had the luck on my side :(
aquarius
17-10-2005, 09:24 PM
Yes mate thats the Wello reef.........Keep trying because the fish are definatley around this area.
beefaman
18-10-2005, 12:51 PM
Well done Brent.....the rain kept me away sunday morning, I dont mind a bit of wind there though....it keeps other not so keen fisherman away, and also chops the water up a bit!!
Steven78
18-10-2005, 01:26 PM
You have to love those ZOOMs ;D
If the weather is good this week i might get out
18-10-2005, 09:37 PM
Gidday Brent,
I think that rough winds from the S/SE bring on the fish, and the way the boat bobs around so much you would hardly have to work your SP's would you? I have left the rod in the rod holder, mostly to reach down for either a sanger or drink, and that's when the fish seem to hit? Is it my imagination or is there a spy down there saying "quick, now's our chance!" In rough conditions like that, you really have to be dedicated, as you obviously are. Well done! I know some fisho's who prefer rough water, more bites, and less competition. ;)