View Full Version : snapper heads and sharks at harries 20-12-05

SNAFU
20-12-2005, 07:49 PM
hi all,

well i finaly got it ALL sorted out and got to harries at 4.30 am today ready to get me one of those bay snapper.green prawns,fresh squid and 3 fresh whiting heads.wind was sus first up but came good out there.
first came a 34 cm sweetie on squid, then another on prawn, then some throw back squire on both.forgot about rod with whiting head until it went OFF.thump ,thump then a blistering run till nealy spooled then started to get line back nealy to boat (no colour)and a nother big run and it stoped and i wound a large snapper head with 2 distinct bite marks just behind head bump and pect fins. :o :o :'( :'(.
one more whiting head on and out it went. distracted by another sweetie and a bust off. rod goes OFF again,spooled this time, got some back,spooled again, thump, thump ,ping :-X :-X :-X :'(.
last whiting head on and out but tide running in too much to keep on bottom,then WACK no rig left,bit off. :-? :-?.
went over to small ships and got some nice whiting(fillets are by product) then back to harries for high tide but no luck. will try again tomorow morning wind permiting. ;D :D ;D.
watch this space.

SNAFU.

20-12-2005, 08:26 PM
Frustrating!

They must be in plague proportions in the Bay at the moment, yours and several posts from Mud lately all have similar results. The thing is, if you use wire or anything razor proof, you don't get the bites. So what is the answer do you think?

Keen to see how you get on.

uripper
20-12-2005, 09:22 PM
SNAFU

Keen to know more about those whiting heads & how your fishing with them.

Rip

outsiderskip
21-12-2005, 06:03 AM
hi snafu
at least u got a feed of fish
fish heads make good soup
merry xmass

cheers pete

Glen.m
21-12-2005, 06:49 AM
G'day SNAFU'

Mate I am just wondering if burly may be contributing to your problem. At this time of year the sharks are active throughout the bay and while the burley will bring the little fish around and attract the better quality fish to your baits, the added small fish activity that burly brings will in turn gaurantee some unwanted shark attention. The sharks may not take your bait, but when you start to retrieve a decent fish they will find the midwater offering too good to resist. Without burley in the water you will get less runs , but you are more likely to boat the good fish and won't get the bait pickers. Think big in the bait department, and mate can I suggest you float down a whole Gar rigged tail first. (Gar is a GUN bait at Harries).

Have fun, I wish I was out there.

Glen

SNAFU
22-12-2005, 11:59 AM
hi all,

went out on wed morning early but no luck with snapper,just one good run but lost it. felt like snapper but no proof. lots of throw backs including blubber lips :P.
hay uripper what ever was out there shure makes a mess of whiting heads.only pulped bits left on hook if anything at all.could hardley feel anything biting except on hook up ,just big tug then zzzzzzzzzzz,thump,thump zzzzz ect.
i tend to leave about half back bone and pect fins on to flap around a bit and no special method of putting hook in (note: not in finger), through jaw from top/ bottom,side ways, backwards,gills,between eys :-?. so long as there is some sherp bit sticking out for hook up. is there any special way to do this that i am missing :-?.
glen, you are right about burley.i dont use it .specialy when in deeper water11-14meters as there is usualy enough others out there with bait and burley.i must have been unlucky that day as that is the first sharked head i have seen out there and there was only 2 other boats with me. have seen some ripper snapper pulled from harries this year,all in tact :-*.
i will try the gar trick to see what happens,thanks for tip. have been told live whiting is best of all for working drop offs like at harries. snapper cruise allong looking for fish comming of banks into deeper water. that is probably why harries fires better around low tide (in my opinion).
anyway weather dont look too good for a couple of days so mabey after santa has deen will give it a go.

SNAFU.

ps
the twice a year loosers are out early(x-mass & easter).got screwed arround something shocking at ramp pulling boat out. could not believe the junk people will try to put to sea in or their powers of reasoning and logic. have pity for rescue people.
if bored, the ramps will be a good place for a laugh though.