View Full Version : Brisbane River Report
freddies
21-12-2005, 08:07 PM
Fished The River Yesterday . Caught several squire for 1 keeper 360 mm also 4 good sand crabs.Not the best day but a feed never the less .It seems to fish better towards the top of the tide.
Lone_Wolf
21-12-2005, 10:49 PM
freddies,
mate what part of the river were you in? i take it you were somewhere on the sunken walls,
did you berley it makes a real difference down there.. 2 parts boggy creek soldier crabs, lightly crushed up with some bran or similar, add sand and the full moon, with no weight and a fresh prawn or yabby... one of the most under rated bream haunts in s/e qld
cuzzamundi
22-12-2005, 10:18 AM
gday freddies,
yeah we fished her all night on wednesday, no legal squire though! mostly vermin, and a ray that barbed me through the foot - luckily i got it out before the serrated part was emnedded. we went everywhere too, but yeah, very quiet and vermin filled.
cuzza
Louis
22-12-2005, 12:10 PM
G'day Cuzza
Sorry to hear you got barbed in the foot.
I bet it hurt.
I've been lucky so far but I'm predicting that one day I'm gonna get stung also.
Louis
cuzzamundi
22-12-2005, 03:11 PM
thanks louis,
yeah mate she gave me some grief for a while, me foot went a little numb, then after around two hours all was good. just made sure i bled a fair bit to try and release some of the toxins. yeah i never thought i'd get done cos ive handled hundreds, but in a boat it's a lot harder to manage them safely. i hope none of my bullies end up on my arm - i'm kinda waiting for the inevitable to happen one day! good luck mate.
cuzza
freddies
24-12-2005, 02:48 PM
Yes fished with burley,mincsd prawns and chook pellets .Fished up stream from Boggy Creek on Bulwer wall .I will try other burley next time .I never bring a ray into boat as i have had a good dose of tail and after a visit to ambos and the doctor i have learnt to loose a few hooks now and then .HappyXmas all .
24-12-2005, 04:01 PM
Unlucky Cuzza. Keep an eye on it mate 'cause there's a secondary infection from the slime. I ended up in hospital once just because I grazed my shin on the rubbish bin at the end of sandgate pier and got slime into the graze.
Take care to stand legs akinbo or you'll lose yer wedding tackle ;D
cuzzamundi
24-12-2005, 07:18 PM
gday kev,
lol, yeah i gotta be more aware. i get complacent sometimes. it seems to be healing ok, but i'll be keeping an eye on it. quite a large boy you got there - do you eat em or throw em back? or use em for bait? we ended up using the 'barb culprit' for shark bait but no luck. i'm yet to get a shark on ray yet. how do you go with em? have a good chrissy btw.
cuzza