View Full Version : Schultz Canal 18/12/05

flynny15
18-12-2005, 08:59 PM
well had a few hrs to spend and read fishing dans report a few weeks back , so packed the plastics and headed to the canal, arrived around 5ish, tide was really low, found a rocky area second cast bang bite bitten of , maybe a small jack, moved on came to a mud bank, where i had plenty of bites, ened up catching 1 small bream 1 small flathead on berkley bass minnow 3inch. also lost another fish looked like a small cod, and lost a fish that took one massive bite and a huge bend in the rod. all in all great little action filled session from this underated canal.

muddies
19-12-2005, 07:11 AM
Where is shultz canal?

Lone_Wolf
19-12-2005, 08:11 AM
Schultz's canal runs between Moreton Bay up through the back of Brisbane Airport across through Toombul shopping centre precinct all the way through to back of Royal Brisbane Hospital etc. There are plenty of access points near the Gateway Arterial Road at Hendra or Northgate.

It used to have a bit of a dodgy reputation, in terms of cleanliness, like the Brissy River did 10 years ago but both seem to have cleaned up a bit. You definitley know its low tide when you go past Schultzies but from all the reports coming through on ausfish it sounds like it's becoming a great place to throw a SP, especially if it's too windy to fish anywhere else.

Reading previous reports on Ausfish , high tide seems to be the go.

19-12-2005, 11:38 AM
Yeah - Nah there's no fish in there!!! ;)

High tide is much better for bream as they can get right up the system to the banks that are dried out at low tide... Also get alot of whiting on the sand/mud banks near the "barber shop poles"... But SSSHHHHHH!!!!! :-X

As the tide starts to drop, you can get a lot more flatties biting as the water runs off the banks into the little channels.

Could of been a Jack. There's certainly some Jack looking hidey holes in there!

19-12-2005, 11:40 AM
Also - It's been REALLY dirty in there recently with all the rain we've had... If it's brown water, you will be better off walking all the way along til you find the edge where brown meets blue(ish)... Much more productive fishing to be had in the cleaner water!

Also - It can be worth taking a pot or two, as there is some BIG muddy holes in the banks! ;)

cuzzamundi
19-12-2005, 05:38 PM
great stuff flynny! were you far from toombul shopping centre?

cuzza

flynny15
19-12-2005, 08:13 PM
i actually fished it last weekend it was high ish tide, i had bites, i was very annoyed during the week with rain, as like dan said very dirty last weekend and yes it was dirty again, with the tide just changing i didnt like my chances, however i wasnt fishing very deep just casting up along the banks, and i did very well, i defiantly think the first bite was a jack, as one little bite bang gone evrything, i think it was a small one, or something else with teeth...
one otehr fish i almost had looked to be a cod massive mouth but as the water was dirty hard to tell, it took it just as it was about to come out of the water for anoter cast....
there would defiantly be many fish in there as you seem them jump all the time.....
yeah i was in the shopping centre area....

hey dan, have you eaten fish out of there???

19-12-2005, 11:54 PM
Yeah mate, I've eaten fish out of there.... Everything still seems attached where it should be, and still haven't got Blaze's extra arm ;) *LOL*

The last hour and a half of rising tide, and first hour of falling tide are best. You need to fish the structure (Not always visible when water level is up!). The whole thing is only about 3m deep or so anyway, so not all that deep...

As for the jumping fish... Probably mullet. You will see massive boils on the top of the water, but these are little baitfish (Up to about 10-15cm) swirling around on the top. They don't seem to be being eaten, and would go very well with a cast net!!!

The further you go from the Shopping Centre, the less trolleys you get in the water... But alot more trees, mangroves, rocks, etc... ;)

jimmybob
20-12-2005, 03:26 PM
there are some monster bullies up there too in the summer!....the mouth of cannery creek is the go for em there........but have u seen the place when th e prawns r on?......nobody gives a shit bout someone fishing..all rude bastards castin therir nets right next to ya when ya fishing... :(

mjc85
21-12-2005, 11:22 AM
Isn't this called Kalinga Creek ? And where do you fish it ? Do you go in the section from the mouth the the shopping centre or from the shopping centre to upstream ?

I used to fish the bit in the kalinga park when i was younger, all i ever caught was mullet, catfish and eels.

jimmybob
21-12-2005, 04:23 PM
yer same creek but it turns into kedron brook up that far doesnt it? i used to go to hendra high school near kalinga park and while wagging i found a dead tarpon...that would ave been about 1993/94.........caught a yella up there too in a cast net.......

22-12-2005, 11:54 AM
Fish the eastern side of the Shopping Centre for your Saltwater species. I think from the Shopping Centre west, it turns brackish then fresh....

The closer you go to Nudgee the better the fishing! ;)

22-12-2005, 03:20 PM
Kedron Brook comes from past Everton Park way and stops at the railway line bridge to Toombul and then it becomes Schultz' Canal east of that. From memory there was a large pipe across the creek under the railway bridge that prevented salt water from going further past that point.

Used to know every nook and cranny of that place.

22-12-2005, 04:48 PM
I thought Kedron Brook (Kedron Brook Floodway) was what came from the bay at Nudgee down to where it joins Schultz Canal. Schultz Canal actually goes through the Airport land itself, and I think joins the bay on its own....

I could be wrong though.... But I'm pretty sure its in all the refidex's that way

22-12-2005, 06:22 PM
Hi Dan,

You could be right. I was talking about when I was a kid, which was BE. (before electricity). The current airport could have changed all of that.

Memory ( a very faded one) tells me that Kedron Brook used to go to about Nudgee Road, then Schultz' Canal took over. Same body of water, just a different name.

At the end of the day, when it's all over bar the shouting, when the chooks have come home to roost and when it's all said and done, there are fish there to be had.

flynny15
24-12-2005, 09:55 PM
gday

gave the canal another fish at dusk on the 24/12/05.

tide was middway, but water was so much cleaner than last time, used the same bass minnow as before but no luck ,tried a few more colors, nothing.
decided to try a gulp shrimp, had them for awhile never used them, striaght away bites, lost one fish small bram i think, it was now almost dark, gave one last cast and bingo, a nice 48cm flathead, i was wrapped very nice fish, almost black in color. the canal fires again.

wish you all a merry xmas. i`ll let you know how i go if i fish it again.

hot_stuff
24-12-2005, 11:11 PM
going in the morning hope i have some luck. merry xams to you all

azzman

flynny15
28-12-2005, 05:17 PM
gday everyone

well i fished the famous canal again on the 26th/12/05 with myt bro and my mate up fro melb, we gave it a few hrs late that arvo.

fished caught where a very nice 55cm flatty this one, clean staight from the bay, also caught a 48cm flatty and a nice 32cm bream......

i also lost what looked like a tarpon???? not sure would this be right, can you catch them in there.

one other point there where to my supirse two sharks about 3 feet long hanging up on a tree and one dead stingray obviously caught the night before, on live bait as dead bait was littered about the place 2. dont know what kind of sharks they would be probably bull? on a sad note why wouldnt they let them go if they didnt want to eat them stingray included. what a waste instead they where like foxes hang up by fishing line on a tree. \

cheers to you all.