View Full Version : Wello Mixed Bag 15-01-06
16-01-2006, 07:47 AM
Well after reading all of Brent's reports I thought it was time to give wello a go for the fist time. So off I went and droped a few pots and then to fishing. Nothing real exciting for pics but ended up getting squire, cod, mosses and grassies. Heaps of bait around, I ended up keeping two grassies at 40 and 43cm for a feed. Picked up the pots on the way back to the ramp for 3 sandies. Excellent. Good morning bit of fun and will be back.
Brent you said nothing about how busy the ramp gets or how chunky it gets with a bit of a blow. Not much fun getting the boat back on the trailer by your self. PS thanks to the young bloke who held my boat as I went and got the trailer.
Steven
aquarius
16-01-2006, 08:44 AM
Hi Steven, Mate i bet those grassies took you for a run especially at 40+cms.
Yes the ramp is not much fun when the breeze gets up in the Arvo and Sundays at Wello is a family day out so i try and avoid the Sunday rush.
What plastics were you using? ........what depth of water?......i'm guessing the grassies were in the shallow water.
My Mate Jim fished the same area yesterday and nearly bagged out on average squire.
Its amazing the variety of fish species in that area.
Jim caught and released a 50+cm Cobia.....He said it fought better than a mackerel.
He also said there were more boats around the area than at Harry's...lol
Cheers Brent ;)
16-01-2006, 02:10 PM
G'day Brent,
Yeah the grassies were up on top in about 3 metres and they go hard zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, gotta love it.
Plastics well that one you should know, colour Baby Bass.
Jim was right, it was hard to get a drift going in the morning with all the boats about and there were more at Wello than Harry's. Didnt seem to be much happening at
H.A. All I saw were small squire comming aboard yesterday.
Steven