View Full Version : Nerang Canals Breamin 28-01-06
Went for a bream session this morning with Davud down around the Casino. Hit the water around 5.00am and found the tide ripping in and the water a nice brown tannin colour. Our aim for the day was to try some new techniques and fish some spots that we haven't tried before.
We started around Pacific Fair and found things a little slow, we hit a small bridge after that and just on the other side in a nice back eddie my 3" Gulp Fry got hammered, a couple of short runs and my biggest bream for a while was boated, it went 31cm to the fork and was a fat little thing. A couple of pics and it was released.
We continued south and started hitting the dead end canals off the main channel, I decided to try an un-weighted pink grub and Davud went with a Smak Skywalker hard body. A couple of firsts for us both as a nice stream of undersized and just legal bream came to the boat. It was great fun, top water fishing is one of my favourite styles of fishing, but can also be one of the most frustrating as 5 or 6 bream sit behind you lure and don't end up touching it ::).
Davud then tried the un-weighted pink grubs and after some smaller bream were boated, got hammered next to a pontoon by a fat 30cm (fork) bream that gave him some stick, but was sucessfully boated, photographed and released.
We continued like this for a while, and then Davud had another first and landed his first soft plastic caught whiting that went 24cm :D.
The wind finally got to us and Davud had to work this afternoon so we pulled the pin around 11.30am. All up it was a great session and we look forward to our next session of Surface fishing for bream.
31cm (fork) bream
Davud's 30cm (fork) bream
danny_Shep
28-01-2006, 08:57 PM
great report Jt! i do fair bit of sp fishing in the nerang when i can get out, and also believe catching them on the surface is easily funnest way of getting em. Hopefully hitting noosa early tomoro morning with softies. anywayz, some nice couple bream their mate. You just use a really slowly retreiving it back to the boat with heaps of twitches involved?
cheers danny shep
land_based
28-01-2006, 11:07 PM
Hey JT,
Greta report mate, well done. Im only new to flicking unweighted plastics and I was wondering what sort of hook your mate used on the pink grub and did he insert it half way down the plastic??
Thanks mate
Cheers Guys,
Danny - the retrieve I used yesterday involved casting out and as soon as the lure landed, I raised my arms in the air to get the rod as high as I could and retrieved line quick enough to have the lure moving across the surface of the water for about a meter. You then stop the retrieve and let the lure start to sink, lower the rod so its pointing at the water and wind in the slack, the hard part is to get in enough slack without making the lure move. Most of the hits come once the lure is sinking and when you strike you strike as hard as you can, it seems a very violent strike but because of the amount of slack line out, you need to move the rod a long way to set the hooks. Anyway that's what I did yesterday and it seemed to work, I guess I'll refine it a little as I practise more.
Rob - can't remember for sure what the hooks were (I got them ages ago) but I think they were Mustad Aberdeen hooks. You rig them through the top of the lure, With the violent action of the retrieve we were using, when you hook up the lure can end up anywhere on the hook and a couple of times yesterday the lure was 6 feet up the line when we bought a fish in.
Here is a pic of the hook and how it was rigged.
danny_Shep
29-01-2006, 05:07 PM
Ok, very similar method to the one i use. Thanx for the info Jt.
danny shep
land_based
29-01-2006, 06:19 PM
Nice one thanks JT
Nice work Ewok.
U hold your arms up while retrieving, so the rest of us should just stand up rather than sit down?
Did u have a go in the Poly comp today?
Good to see the hard work getting done mate...
gogecko
30-01-2006, 01:03 PM
Hi JT,
my mate was fishing LB behind the casino sat am for a few small bream. Not much action under the bridges. Looks like everybody did it tough.
I was in the Seaway for a few small bream and mostly tough going. One guy pulled a decent kingfish in the seaway, but everyone else was quiet.
Might try the Nerang tomorrow near monaco bridge. Might get cleaner water on the run in. Coomera still looks dirty.
30-01-2006, 01:13 PM
The water was pretty brown in there.... I stayed in the Vibe Hotel on Saturday night, and the room overlooked the river... Certainly did well to pull fish outta there!
(P.S - Thanks for the info Andrew... Unfortunately, the popper was too light to cast in the wind on my little overhead, so had to give up)
Hey Scotty,
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D LMFAO - That's why I have to raise the decks on the hornet, thinking of putting in one of those towers like they have on the offshore boats 8-), Didn't fish the comp, but looks like about 50 odd teams did. I think 2.46kg was the winning bag. Might fish the next two rounds as a bit of a practise for the Qld ABT rounds.
Dan & Andrew - didn't find the water that dirty, not like last week when it looked like a latte, it looked more like strong tea, but I think things will fire up a bit over the next week, when it clears up more and the bait starts heading back up the river.
pyro_104
30-01-2006, 09:20 PM
Lovely healthy looking fish there. Catch and release bream fishing has got to be one of the best trends to hit fishing I reckon.
Gutsy
31-01-2006, 09:22 AM
Good work JT, I'll be heading down to the Tweed this Sunday as a prefish with Steve and Wazza but helping run the Summer Sessions again.
I need to also practice my pink grubbin, I normally use Mustard weedless 1/0 hooks.
Marcel.
TheSaint
31-01-2006, 11:21 AM
Nice bream JT!
I had fish off the Bridge @ Sailfish point just down from Pacific fair caught nice 25cm & 27cm bream last night..
Its good to see there is a some good fish still left in the area..
Here's a pic of mine..
Toppy
31-01-2006, 03:12 PM
Hi JT, nice informative report mate!
Reports like this are always better to read than just pics & a few words!
Toppy
freddyfish
31-01-2006, 04:16 PM
Nice healthy bream.
Brad
gogecko
01-02-2006, 10:49 AM
Hi JT,
Nerang river was fishing well this morning too. Its still the color of tea, but its fishing better than the coomera atm. 3 jacks hooked up on SPs, but 2 bustoffs and 1 spat hook, so none in the boat, grrrr. Might have to go back tomorrow. All hits on the turn of the tide early morning near rockbars.