View Full Version : Wello Saturday 28th

beefaman
30-01-2006, 10:12 PM
Met up with Mike at Wello boat ramp at 3.50am for an early morning plastic assault of the Wello and surrounding areas.
Conditions were far from ideal with a breeze that got stronger all morning. >:( But this wasn't to deter us, and we persisted in our plan of attack. It paid off beautifully with a hot 2 hour session were fish were nearly every cast.
We ended up with a mixed bag of 1 flathead (62cm), 6 keeper squire (48cm biggest), 4 keeper sweetlip (40cm biggest) and approximately 40 or more throw backs!! :D

beefaman
30-01-2006, 10:23 PM
One of the squire

beefaman
30-01-2006, 10:25 PM
Flathead

beefaman
30-01-2006, 10:30 PM
Result of a double hookup. This was the next cast after the flatty in the last pic.

aquarius
30-01-2006, 11:58 PM
Well done Mate you got a good feed there in those lumpy conditions.
The old Wello always produces even on rough days.
That flattie is a ripper !!!
We were thinking about Wello on Sunday and decided the shelter of Macleay was easier on the body..lol
Cheers Brent ;)

31-01-2006, 04:43 AM
Very nice.

Touchy - R.I.P.
31-01-2006, 07:08 AM
I'm pleased to see my (& Jonnos) plan to leave some fish for you after our trip Thurs morning paid off for you mate :P :D ::), We only managed 2 squire one in the 50's & one in the 40's, bit lumpy then as well but did get a chance to check out those marks you gave me,some rugged stuff there eh!, will certainly be floating a franger or two there soon., top session there Beefa. Cheers Touchy. ><> ><> ><>

Hookem_Herby
31-01-2006, 09:21 AM
Nice catch Darryl. I pulled the pin on my trip after looking out the window ... glad to see you were rewarded for being brave (or silly! :P).
Well done champ,
Herby

beefaman
31-01-2006, 12:18 PM
Yeah, we didnt think it was silly till we were bobbing around in the swell, getting rained on, with no boats around at all....except the sailing fleet with the spinnakers set :o.......thats when we thought we might call it quits ::)....and the 3.5klm run home took just over an hour :-/

vertico
31-01-2006, 02:55 PM
3.5km trip home took an hour ?
surf must have been up at wello!

beefaman
31-01-2006, 05:35 PM
OK....More like 45 minutes, but it certainly wasnt comfortable.....4 metre tinny copped a battering :-X

vertico
31-01-2006, 10:02 PM
should have taken the mini mal :)
surfed all the way to wynnum ;)

beefaman
01-02-2006, 12:24 PM
Going to Wynum would of been heaps easier ;)