View Full Version : The Pin - SP's
26-01-2006, 02:11 PM
Ventured down to The Pin today..Kalinga Bank...Short Is...various other places...up the Logan River..flicking plastics around the place. Finally arrived back at Horizon Shores and really flicked the SP's..about $50 worth straight into the bloody rubbish bin. Back to bait for me...stuffed if I know how to catch a fish on them and have given up on them.
Potted 6 crabs and every one of them was undersize.
BUT...it was great to be on the water for a few hours, which is the best part of all...just getting out and relaxing.
Mick81
26-01-2006, 02:25 PM
Doesn't sound like you were relaxing to me ;D I was the same with SP's at the start but the best thing to do, is to go with someone that goes SP fishing alot and most likely you'll end up at a spot that does have fish and sooner than later you'll have the bug. I havn't caught a real lot either but it's really the the right place at the right time and they are awsome as the fish don't nibble, they take the lot :) ...... Goodluck
Canoedle
26-01-2006, 02:43 PM
Yep, took me a while to give em a real go, but as Mick says, go with someone who knows what they're doing and you might find some better results. ON a side note, it's always good to mix it up a bit, if you're not getting any action, try a different colour or size, it might be all it takes to get a few good fish.
BenDover
26-01-2006, 04:18 PM
use bait and just put 1 on your line aswell somewhere. and 1 day when you pull a fish in and its gone for the plastic and your baits still untouched you can scratch your head and say how did that happen!
masterdusky
26-01-2006, 04:40 PM
Pinhead...dont b throwing em away...send em to me :D
szopen
26-01-2006, 08:03 PM
It might beeen the Moon that was not quite right.
FOOCKCHUCKER
26-01-2006, 09:32 PM
keep going pin head look into the way you are using them and not actually what plastics are not working.its all in the action for different fishy types and i have taken flattys,bream,tailor,tuna king big jew and a huge variety of toothy ugly and good slab bait creatures over the last few years.get onto the saltwater post and someone who is more of a fanatic then me will help you out .im still not mad crazy on them and only buy a few of my favs and try some new to the market ones but as a semi novice i can say they work real good bro.
TheSaint
27-01-2006, 06:18 AM
SP's are the same as bait.. you have great day of fishing or you have bad day of fishing!
Hookem_Herby
27-01-2006, 10:17 AM
And I thought you weren't going to dabble on the dark side anymore Greg!?!?! :o :-? ::)
That'll learn ya. :P :D
Mate, at least you got out on the water and managed to get a fish in. Could've been worse, you could've been working on a public holiday, installing some poor bastard's air con. ;D :-*
Better luck next time on the secret bait.
Herby
27-01-2006, 05:50 PM
Herb..I could not resist it.the dark side drew me in..hopefully I have got rid of the force for good. Gimme some smelly chook gut anytime.
I did work yesterday arvo...and some poor bastard's air cond will go in when the plasterer arrives on Monday morning...just tell the better looking one she can have the bacon and eggs sizzling when we get there..LOL
Knackers
28-01-2006, 01:35 AM
Hey Pinhead,
As others have mentioned persevere and experiment with different SP's and jigheads. I've gained quite a few tips from reading old posts on the subject and if you can get hold of the Squidgy or Adam Royter DVD you will learn heaps especially on where to target your fish ,rigging SP's and working them in different situations.I've been using SP's for just on a year now and after deciding to target whiting with them caught my first whiting 2 weeks ago. Hang in there cos when you catch some nice fish on them you"ll be hooked. ;)
Knackers
SCOTTYGC
30-01-2006, 10:00 AM
Like they say "you cant teach an OLD dog new tricks" ;D ;D
keep trying them greg once you catch something you will be hooked
If your ever down the coast way give me yell and ill show you a few tricks
scotty
DICER
30-01-2006, 11:32 AM
You can eat bait..... ;)
but with soft plastics you quite often have to have the right colour....
beefaman
31-01-2006, 12:56 PM
Mate, we all have days where we dont do any good...whether it is bait or lures.
Try getting out with someone who knows what they are doing....makes the world of difference...if I can teach Touchy to catch fish on them, I am sure you can learn as well ;D
Touchy - R.I.P.
31-01-2006, 01:26 PM
Yeah Greg, Beefa taught me all I know about frangers I'm just lucky he didn't teach me all he knows about them ::) :P, I see Scotty G is still up to his old tricks with the "come down & I'll show you a thing or two caper" ;D ;D ;D ;D, we are a wiseup to you old son 8-), Greg I reckon you should lower your target area from the large choices of the pin to the small target area of Wello, if you want I'll give you a sure fire small amount of info by pm to get you a couple of nice fish say , in two Wello trips, if that fails I'll tee you up a Scotty trip 8-) ;D, I'd see about getting you a Beefa trip but you wouldn't have time to learn anything other than best bailing drills. ;D. Cheers Touchy.><>
beefaman
01-02-2006, 12:33 PM
One more weld, and it will all be fixed :D Maybe :-/
Besides, I can teach people whilst bailing water, thats what good guides do....put you onto fish, and dont let you sink !!!! :-*
nabs12
01-02-2006, 05:21 PM
hey
I was once like you...but i kept on going and kept on tryin different techniques, lure colours and soon enough it paid off. ONec you catch that first one the rest usually come a lot easier. But beware once ur hooked it can be very expensive :D