View Full Version : Green/Wello Report Feb 4th

aquarius
04-02-2006, 05:50 PM
Hi there folks, A special thanks must go to the BOM for keeping most boats off the water today with that 15 to 20 knot forecast..lol
Could see by the 4 day forecast charts that those isobars where far apart and that meant get out there and catch some squire.
Steven78, Jim & I headed out to Wello / Green at 5am to try for a feed of squire before the low tide at 8am.
Meet Touchy and Big D out there throwing a few plastics around......Said they got busted up a couple of times on something big.
The fish were very quiet until 2 hours before low when i scored 2 nice ones 42cm and 45cms in 3.5 metres.
They sure run hard in the shallows !!
Wind and tide in the same direction early morning but when the tide started to make it was tough going trying to get the boat drifting fast enough to get the plastics working properly.
Most times it was cast all around the boat and slow wind in to entice a strike.
Fish species caught were squire, moses perch, grinner,grass sweetlip and an unusual looking fish half cod and half flathead..lol
Steven had one decent run close to high tide but the fish won the battle.
Bad luck mate and yep there will be a next time im sure.
Must have been that light leader you borrowed...lol
Was a top day to be fishing with mates and even better to bring home a feed.
Cheers Brent

JayT
04-02-2006, 06:21 PM
Hey Bud, some nice ground round Green, been out there a bit lately, the nth nth west corner fishes alright in a southerly, some nice sandies out there as well! cheap run from Pinkenba out through the boat passage as well. Well done on a nice feed....Cheers Jason

JayT
04-02-2006, 06:22 PM
Hey Bud, some nice ground round Green, been out there a bit lately, the nth nth west corner fishes alright in a southerly, some nice sandies out there as well! cheap run from Pinkenba out through the boat passage as well. Well done on a nice feed....Cheers Jason

JayT
04-02-2006, 06:25 PM
Nothin like being half pissed an postin twice.....!

fritzy
04-02-2006, 07:01 PM
Looks like some nice fish there aquarius. What breaking strain fireline and leader were you using, and what sp/hook size. Cheers Fritzy

aquarius
04-02-2006, 07:52 PM
G,Day Fritzy, I use 10lb Fins braid with 8lb Yamatoyo flurocarbon leader.
Hooks are 2/0 4gram heavy wire nitro's.
Plastics used are 3 to 5 inch Zooms, gambler, gulps, powerbaits, assassins, strike zone......favourite colour would have to be green.
Cheers Brent :)

Darryl
04-02-2006, 08:04 PM
Onya Brent, your definately up for the wello guru award mate.

Cheers Darryl.

beefaman
04-02-2006, 09:38 PM
Nothin like being half pissed an postin twice.....!

Yes there is....being completely pissed!! ;)

Good work Brent.

Did you get most of the fish at Wello or Green?

We have been using the 2/0H TT's lately. Very hard to straighten them...but very hard to get them off snags as well ::)

aquarius
04-02-2006, 09:52 PM
Hi Beefa, Got them 50/50.
Yeah mate know what you mean about losing them on snags but insurance just incase that BIG ONE comes along.. ::)
Just had a report of a 66cm snapper caught around Macleay island today :o
Cheers Brent :)

05-02-2006, 06:05 AM
Hi Brent,

You guys have really got it sussed! If I could invest money on the ASX like you guys always catch fish at Wello, i'd have a much bigger boat! ;D

Well done, I will no doubt see you on the water one of these days......

outsiderskip
05-02-2006, 06:17 AM
hi brent
well done nice feed
weather forecast put me off
otherwise i would have been out

cheers pete

Mick81
05-02-2006, 08:53 AM
G'day Brent nice feed there. I was down at the Goldy yesturday and there was bugger all wind till about lunch time then it still didn't come up too much, it has me buggered too sometimes when the iso bars are far apart and the bars do not run near this area and they still predict big winds :-/ anyways good stuff :)