View Full Version : MATES PINE RIVER JACK
G'day my mate chris had been telling me some time ago now that he caught a 55cm jack down the pine river and i kepted saying where are the photos as a 55cm jack in the pine sounded a little to good to be true.
So i recieved a disk of him and loaded onto the computer and consequently ate my words.
Where abouts did you catch this...
All i will tell you is in the castle hill area on a snag that i have pulled a few cod off before, ok fair enough can't tell me all his secrets i suppose.
Chris was using a live mullet but after some time no real hits bar a few catfish.
After an hour or so things went quiet so chris decided to wind his bait in to check it. Both of the eyes had been sucked out an the little pody mullet was dead.
As chris had no other bait he thought what the hell and through it back out allowing it drift back towards the snag
and with barely enough time for the mullet to sink he was on to the biggest jack he has ever caught.
The fish come in at 55cm and chris come in very very happy....
well done chris great effort
cheers pete...
robersl
31-01-2006, 07:39 PM
MATE FROM WRK GOT ONE OF THE BANK AT DEEP WATER BEND ONE NIGHT LAST WEEK THAT WAS A GOOD SIZE
ShaneJ
31-01-2006, 07:40 PM
The shirt suits ;D
fishsmith
31-01-2006, 08:27 PM
Good to see a quality Jack from the Pine..If only we could get rid of those prawn trawlers from the system >:( >:(..Imagine the potential of this great fishery in the suburbs.....).........
NeilD
31-01-2006, 09:18 PM
I feel sick when I cross the highway and see up to three trawlers ripping the guts out of the pine. Something should be done about it. Imagine how many juvenile Jacks, Jew etc meet their end in those nets.
land_based
31-01-2006, 10:01 PM
good to see the pine still crankin out some good fish, congats to your mate and ditto about the trawlers.
TIM-DONSELAAR
01-02-2006, 01:47 AM
nice jack and the shirt suits the photo well :D
cheers tim
KCan only repeat what everyone else has said, Well Done. KLGreat looking Jack.
cheers Roz
Rainbowrunner
01-02-2006, 04:49 PM
top fish there
what difference does a trawler make compared to the literally hundreds of castnetters in the same spot, cant just ban one
manangatang
01-02-2006, 06:57 PM
there a magic fish alright,good job on scoring photo to put up.
BrandonH
01-02-2006, 10:50 PM
Great fish there:) I got one 40 not quite a month ago up the pine!
I agree about the trawlers up there too but castnetters rainbowrunner? I use one quite often mainly to get bait and prawns but 99% of the unwanted fish i catch get back into the water in less than a minute and swim away to grow up, get eaten or caught again. only time that wasn't the case that i can remeber was when i got 30+ black and yellow eeltailed catfish in the net at once:( i got everything else out b4 tackling the catfish too ;) Trawlers on the other hand I don't think have anywhere near that success rate with releasing unwanted/undersized fish.
You are right in that it can get very busy with cast nets up there at times and in a lot of other places also, but i don't think they work the system anywhere near as much as the trawlers do.
Not wanting to upset anyone or get into a debate with this post just stating my own opinions on castnetting!!! and passing on my congrats on a great fish:)
Brandon...
jackash
02-02-2006, 01:30 PM
AWESOME jack! Good to see good fish being pulled out of these developed areas! Imagine the fishing before the development. Cheers
Jackash
cuzzamundi
02-02-2006, 10:36 PM
great jack mate! they are in there! ditto BrandonH re trwalers vs castnetters!
cuzza
MidgieFood
03-02-2006, 07:28 PM
Nice jack.
I also cast net there whenever I want some live bait.
I get my prawns and pissoff realquick rather than a trawler that will work the river up and down drowning juvenile fish and rippin up the bottom of the river. Cant see RainbowRunner can compare them really.
great jack and shirt :)will not fish the pine anymore cause of the trawlers raping the system day after day,this is the breeding grounds for future generations,makes me sick every time i drive over the bridge and see one of these beasts >:(
fritzy
04-02-2006, 07:00 PM
Ripper of a Jack there. Like the others, love the shirt, hope you went and drank a few Jacks that night. LOL. Always the way, fish with livies all day or night without a hit, throw out a dead, useless looking bait and pull in a beauty! Go figure!?!
Cheers Fritzy
Haines_Hagel
05-02-2006, 02:18 PM
ind
Feral
05-02-2006, 03:30 PM
I feel sick when I cross the highway and see up to three trawlers ripping the guts out of the pine. Something should be done about it. Imagine how many juvenile Jacks, Jew etc meet their end in those nets.
When I was a kid used to go down to the luggage point sewerage outlet to catch big catfish on light gear. Used to see the trawlers regulary back up to the outlet, and drop ther nets. Still wont buy prawns unless there from a prawn farm!
morty103
05-02-2006, 04:26 PM
Great jack, good to see the pine holding some good fish. There would be quite a few of them in there, just hard to find
Morty
tazza_505
05-02-2006, 06:38 PM
that is one ripping jack!
the trawlers catch and kill 98% of the fish in their net because the nets are down for so long... the ones that survive are the fish that bite there way through... therefor they can not effectively control their kill limit unlike a cast net... if the bait fish are not to small and are holding deep there is also another option for catching them without getting the species you dont want is to use a baitjig... ther're cheap and quite effective on herring and other species
good luck
tim
06-02-2006, 10:17 PM
they shut the passage down to trawlers years ago. have a look at the results!!!!!!!!!!!. the pine is not a big enough system to support three families trawling the guts out of it.(for the bait market)surley premier pete got a few spare bob to buy these guys out (pretty handsomly too) nice jack mate. haven't got one from the pine, bvut landed a 6kg cod before xmas(released, no f.,;'ing camera) she fishes alright the pine, but i think the amount of boat wash(from the skiers) does just as much harm.