View Full Version : Gold Coast Jacks - 5 Feb '06

keen_as_mustard
05-02-2006, 08:21 PM
After a small break form midweek Jack fishing, JT and decided this morning was the right time to go. With our usual 3.30am (why are we the only ones here!) start we flicked poppers for a while in several likely spots for no success. It seemed like it was going to be a quiet morning, but as it got lighter, the bait started to show on the surface - heaps of mullet of all sizes. Things were starting to look up - except for the weather. We lost count on the number of times we put wet weather gear on - then took it off 15 mins later once the shower had passed.

We started to see schools of herring scatter across the water - a sign for us the Jacks are actively hunting (JT has pulled one from these boils previously). We managed a fiesty Bream early, then finally nailed a small Jack (27cm) from a steep bank. This put a smile on our face as this was the target species.

Just after 7am we were working a rocky bank near a steep drop off and my 3in sp got smashed on the first hop. With the drag locked up on 6lb Fireline luckily this fish swam away from the bank and I managed to get a small amount of line back. JT used the Kota to move us into deeper water and after some powerful runs, including a few towards the bank, we saw a big Jack come to the surface. At this stage we got worried as the fish wasn't done yet. A few more runs and a couple of dives under the boat we managed to land 56cm of Jack. Biggest we have both seen and the teeth were frightening! A couple of pics and quick weigh (over 2kg - JT will remember exactly how much) and the fish was swam beside the boat before being released.

We continued to flick around for a few Bream, then decided to go for a troll along one bank. Neither of us know much about this so we were very happy when we got a double hook-up on Estuary Cod after only a few minutes.

By this stage midday was approaching and we headed down to the Seaway for the Save Our Spit rally - good turnout especially considering the inclement weather.

All in all a great day.

Marty

keen_as_mustard
05-02-2006, 08:38 PM
here is the first Jack - much smaller!

2DKnBJ
05-02-2006, 09:37 PM
Nice little jack there guys and the larger specimen would make some of our NQ members envious.We just have to work a bit harder for them down here :'(
Cheers Dazza

05-02-2006, 09:40 PM
It was a great morning, even though I myself didn't get into the red fish, it's still a real buzz seeing them come to the boat. The big one really wanted a piece of Marty, trying to bite him every time he tried to lift it :o :o.
It went 2.8kg and certainly gave a good account of its self.

Also nice to see a good turnout at the Save Our Spit rally, Any other Ausfisher's attend??

cuzzamundi
05-02-2006, 09:44 PM
absolutely fantastic bruiser mate! thats the biggest ive SEEN pulled from an estuary! what a fight she woulda had. my biggest is 53, but id die to get one above 55! roughly where were you? looks like great territory. beaut stuff mate. whats your biggest by the way? i should put a post up asking what the biggest is from an estuary - love to know.

cuzza

TIM-DONSELAAR
05-02-2006, 09:44 PM
great jacks marty, i can see by the photo the big one put a smile on your face :)

cheers tim [smiley=beer.gif]

manangatang
05-02-2006, 11:03 PM
top fish,well done fellas.

DICER
06-02-2006, 05:14 AM
excellent catch there - nice fat one too!

keen_as_mustard
06-02-2006, 07:22 AM
Cuzza,

This Jack was my biggest ever - I have caught seven Jacks this season and only two have been legal - one at 46cm and this one at 56cm - very strange stats!

As for location, all I can tell you is it was in the Coomera. From what I have heard the best two systems for Jacks on the Coast are the Coomera and the Nerang - lots of rock walls seems to be the secret!

Marty

gogecko
06-02-2006, 12:28 PM
Well done Marty, thats a huge jack, you must be stoked with that. I had to work yesterday, but made a sale to make it all worthwhile.Had to miss the rally. Strange anna bligh has changed her tune back to pro seaport. Sounds like beatty had to give her a talking to. It doesnt look good for us fishos.

I set the alarm for 3.30 this morning, but it was raining so I stayed in bed. Might have to go tomorrow/weds while the tides are good. Nice to see the baitfish around.

Yes, the nerang is also good between monaco st and chev is, no big secret there. Look for rocks. I was there last week for a change from coomera and my mate and I had a few jack bust offs and spat hooks.None in the boat tho.

I think yours is the second biggest for GC this season. Flickflacks missus was 59cm from the tweed river. Well done.

keen_as_mustard
06-02-2006, 12:40 PM
Andrew,

Yes I was very happy to see it come aboard - it sure did pull hard on light gear. I am very lucky it ran away from the rock wall initially or it may have been a different story. If you are going this week, tomorrow morning will be better - they are predicted a strong SE change for Tues night - might make Wed morning unpleasant!

I read an article that February is the month on the GC to get the biggest Jacks - seems to be true so far :). BTW, your tip of Jacks biting better on a Southerly rang true again.

You are right in saying it doesn't look good regarding the Seaway terminal. Almost everyone I speak too are against it, yet it does seem like a done deal - isn't democracy a great thing!

Marty

BrandonH
06-02-2006, 05:04 PM
Great fish guys:) you gota be happy with that!!!

I think i am going to have to head south to get a decent jack!! Lol

Brandon...

jackash
07-02-2006, 12:08 AM
Thats an awesom fish. I 30 cm bream goes hard near snags on that sorta gear. I wouldnt even want to think about what that beast would ahve done!!! Great effort... Whats this seaway business?
Jackash

fad
07-02-2006, 06:31 AM
Great effort guys that 6lb fireline sure punches above its weight :).Maybe a poll on best fish on 6lb fireline would be interesting ::).

flattymattyb
07-02-2006, 06:52 AM
Hi Marty,

Good one mate, that thing is an absolute stonker, has certianly been feeding in a good paddock too. Congrats.

Matty

keen_as_mustard
07-02-2006, 06:59 AM
Jackash,

check this page for info on the seaway rally - http://www.saveourspit.com/

Matty,

I think you know which paddock that Jack has been feeding in too - the one that has been shut down for a couple of weeks. I think JT and I will try an early before work there later in the week. There was heaps of bait back there which is a great sign, and the fish are obviously back too!

Marty

Gutsy
07-02-2006, 08:08 AM
Good work Marty, this time of year the Jacks are great and it seems the early morning starts do pay off.

Will we see you and JT at the Tweed Summer Seassions this Sunday?

Marcel.

keen_as_mustard
07-02-2006, 08:24 AM
Gutsy,

The early morning starts definitely pay off, but we rarely catch any Jacks until it starts to get light though. And besides, the mornings are usually very still and great for fishing light jigs.

I haven't been bitten by the Bream tournament scene yet. However you know that JT is well into it, but I don't think he is fishing this one though this weekend. So you probably won't see us there - anyway it may well eat into potential Jack fishing time!

SCOTTYGC
07-02-2006, 09:18 AM
Great fish Marty you two guys have had a pretty good summer

what ramp do you guys launch from?

I might head up the coomera for a look around early saturday weather permitting

scotty

gogecko
07-02-2006, 11:03 AM
Not much baitfish around Coomera this morning, although the water is half clean, much better than last 2 weeks. I moved all around but couldnt see a single baitball on the surface. A couple of swirls up against the wall that would have been jacks, and no trevors to be seen.

All I got was moses perch and bream around 25cm. Probably go back tomorrow if the weather isnt blowing 30kts.

NeMo84
07-02-2006, 02:45 PM
marty, congratulations mate that is a lovely fish and on 6lb line it's even better, you'd do well to catch a jack that size on the same tackle again, that fish will live long in the memory im sure ;)

flickflack
07-02-2006, 04:42 PM
Marty

Top fish mate they go hard when they get over 55cm. Great catch on the light gear, probably one of the bust offs you had on previous trips ;) ;)

Went out with a mate on the Tweed after work Sunday and he got one land based about 48cm, bit hold of his jacket and wouldnt let go ;D :o Eventually got the hooks out and released it.

Cheers Rod

flattymattyb
07-02-2006, 05:09 PM
Hi Marty,

yeah mate keen as to get back into them had commitments this weekend & couldn't get out, gotta love being back at work ::).

Rod,

the ones that busted him up the other day would have been heaps bigger than that one ;) ;D ;D ;D,.

Matty

MidgieFood
09-02-2006, 08:04 PM
Great googley moogley.