View Full Version : strange catches in the river!
tazza_505
12-02-2006, 01:49 PM
g'day everybody
I was fishing at cameron rocks in the river yesterday when i caught 2 fish that looked xactly like small threadfin salmon... they wern't catties for sure but i didnt think ther'e would be any in the river but stranger things have happened. unfourntunantly i dont have photo evidence but next time i get one it will be here for sure. please comment if you have any otha strange catches in the river .
thanks
tim
chief
12-02-2006, 02:24 PM
hey tim , i have caught the same fish around the port of brisbane wharves usually of a night.they look exactly like a baby threadfin salmon ,the long feelers under the jaw. we have always called them putty nose . i have caught them for years now and have wondered the same as you are they baby threadfin all the ones ive caught have been about 200 mm if you find out let me know thanks chief
Lone_Wolf
12-02-2006, 02:29 PM
if it is the Brisbane River you are talking about I have caught Threadfin Salmon on Coro Drive in the river since 1985 at the storm water outlet near the Wesley Hospital.
freddies
12-02-2006, 09:44 PM
To my knowledge they will be putty nose perch .Before the 2nd. war they were a common fish caught in the river around Mobray park and Hamilton .They usually turned up around march in line with the prawn run .They were targeted by a lot of Brisbane people ass they are tasty little critters
K.S
outsiderskip
12-02-2006, 10:03 PM
i think it is a puddynose perch
caught a lot around mowbray pk
and under greystreet bridge
cheers pete
ScottXVII
12-02-2006, 10:51 PM
Mate of mine picked up one in the brissie river couple of weeks ago, would have gone over ten kilos. i'll see if i can get a photo of it up but it will be in next months QFM
have seen a photo in the tackle warehouse at coorparoo of a large threadfin salmon caught near southbank
didn't believe it until I saw it
Richo1
14-02-2006, 03:09 AM
Saw a 7kg threadfin caught by some kids last week. :DHave caught a small one in a cast net at Oxley Creek.