View Full Version : Wello & Green 11th Feb

aquarius
11-02-2006, 09:49 PM
Hi folks, BOM was on the money today as Steven78, Jim and I set out from Wello ramp to hunt down a few grassies and squire.
15 knots S/E soon turned into near glass out conditions by mid morning.
Drifted around Wello for 3 hours without a plastic making contact with a fish.
The tide was almost full when they came on the chew but quality was poor.
All the fish we caught early were under size and it wasn't until we hit the shallows of Green that a few legals came onboard.
Had a hot session for about 15 minutes when arriving at green with the grassies going a fish every cast.
Gee they give a great fight for there size on the light line.
ZOOM BABY BASS on .9 grams worked a treat but snags were a problem at times.
Todays catch consisted mainly of grass sweetlip.
Species caught were cod, squire, bream, rainbowrunner and grassies.
A challenge today to get a few keepers but we all had some fun with catch and release.
Hope those who fish Sunday have some luck with that fish of a life time.
They are out there but very very elusive...lol
Cheers Brent :D

land_based
12-02-2006, 08:40 AM
Sounds like you had a good sesh all the same brent, nothing like a nice day on the bay even if there is no fish. I keep hearing good things about these zoom baby bass, it could be time to invest!

beefaman
12-02-2006, 06:21 PM
Gday Brent.
We hit Green this morning, beautiful conditions :)
Ended up with 3 squire, 4 sweeties and a cod. No real size, and there were plenty of throwbacks for good measure!!
Prime SP was once again 4" Gulp Minnow in Pumpkinseed.

Steven78
12-02-2006, 06:58 PM
Brent we had a good day out on the bay the weather was on the good side. I caught so many undersizes fish I lost count which is a good thing as for next year its looking good.
I was looking out side at Dad and Mums place at Redland bay there was no wind and lots of moon light i was thinking to my self SP at Wellow but was too lazzy and tired maybe next full moon.

Thanks Brent

Cya Steve

craigie
13-02-2006, 06:33 PM
G'day Brent,

Good to see you still getting plenty of success around the old stomping ground at Wello etc ;)

A friend of mine Tim was out there on Saturday with one of his mates. He said they were talking to some Ausfish guys at the Ramp around daybreak. Thought it may have been yourself ?
Anyhow they fished the area I usually fish towards Ormiston Point and bagged 10 legal Sweeties and a Mowy on bait.

Craigie

Wyoming
14-02-2006, 07:49 AM
Brent - much the same report as you except that we got less fish and smaller fish with no keepers at all. We started at Mud on Sunday and caught naoght - we fished the shallows for some very small fish then I managed to drop my 6 months old T-curve / Daiwa Advantage 2500 over the side in 7 metres of water - never to be seen again! $500 worth of my favourite gone - just like that! At least I have a new GPS mark called "ROD". A real expensive and un-productive day I'm afraid. Glassy conditions on the run home, just in front of the face of the rain front.

aquarius
14-02-2006, 04:54 PM
Hi Craigie, some very nice grassies your mate caught.
Yep i still remember that spot where you fish around Wello and it would seem the grassies favour bait over plastics......Can't say i blame them either..lol
My fishing buddies daughter caught a 2.5 kilo morwong in the same area a few weeks ago.
She is only a small girl but managed to land the fish after some "come on you can do it" from her Dad.
So we might see a red boat around the Wello reef in the next few weeks chasing sweeties.

Neil that is bad news you losing that expensive gear over the side.
I now clip my rod onto a piece of heavy string just incase.
Lots of reports on small fish around the bay reefs but there has been the odd 2 or 3 keepers.
Just not enough days to fish........maybe we should work weekends and have the weeks off...I WISH..LOL
Catch up with you on the water soon mate.
Cheers Brent :)

Wyoming
14-02-2006, 05:56 PM
So Brent, do you think I should post my new GPS mark called "ROD" ? I might get a heap of Ausfishers all fishing in the one spot and, who knows, one of them that catches my outfit might be honest!

Steven78
14-02-2006, 08:33 PM
If i lost my new Gloomas rig. I would not go home as the wife would kill me. I would just jump over the side looking for the rod. Believe me I would take the risk with the sharks then go home without the rod ;D
I know Brent would spot the sharks for me while I jump in.
Just kidding ;D

Sorry to hear about that Neil. Look at the brite side i can see an new rod coming on!!!!!!!

15-02-2006, 12:27 PM
It's still fun just being out on the water Brent ;D
Neil, sorry to hear about the rod mate. I almost lost a hook out gun the other day but thankfully it landed in the engine well. It is now safely strapped to a saddle mount.