View Full Version : Nundah Ck by Kayak

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 02:00 PM
On the water and fishing before 0500 today. My mission this morning was to target flathead. I used a 1/4 oz jighead and 4" Powerbait for the entire morning, except for 20 minutes when I weakened and trolled a Dr Death around, but that had no result.

The old saying "No run, no fun", still is the truest there is when fishing I reckon. The water in Nundah Ck seems to be sporadic, its runs, then it stops for a while, then it runs again. Its a bit odd but there it is.

Anyway, there was only one other craft on the water, a nice retired couple checking their crab pots. I had a chat to them at the ramp later and he said he was busted off by something huge. With 60lb wire trace that he was using it must have been a Bull Shark.

Well, I caught a heap of Bream, the best about 30cm (the only thing that went in the esky), 4 undersize flathead, and 1 Estuary Cod. It was a beeeaaauutiful morning, and now Im home drinking beers.

Jake

06-02-2006, 02:06 PM
It's a hard life isn't it mate... ;)

Good job on the fish! There's nothing better than being on the water when it is spectacular views, fantastic day, and there's fish being caught!!!

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 02:13 PM
Too right Dan. Im having a quick flick at Margate tomorrow morning too. Leaving the kayak on the car, all ready to go.

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 02:14 PM
0713 Bream

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 02:15 PM
0727 Bream

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 02:16 PM
0825 Bream

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 02:20 PM
0828 Estuary Cod

Az
06-02-2006, 03:13 PM
seem to be a few of those estuary cod getting around, i was suprised to catch a couple in norman creek

looks like a nice morning on the water nonetheless

cuzzamundi
06-02-2006, 03:26 PM
great sesh there jake. wish i was there1

cuzza

BrandonH
06-02-2006, 04:58 PM
Good catch there mate:) I haven't fished Nundah creek for ages!! infact as soon as i got a tinny that could handle a bit of chop and not get swamped easily by dam ski boats i have been fishing the pine and some of the bigger systems around Brisbane. I never even tried getting the canoe up the pine have had enough close calls with it in Nundah ck!!! mind you it's 14' long and i run with a full sized deepcycle bat near the front and always more gear than needed in it. It wasn't to bad with just me in there but when i had someone else sitting in the front it use to not want to go over the waves but under them :-/
Might have to get up there again though there is some dam good places to wet a line up there thats for sure. Here is a good pic of a nice lizard i got up there b4 christmas. was released after the photo its guts were so full that its stomach was hanging down double the depth of the lizard!

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjh79/images/NundaFlathead.jpg

Brandon.

chanquetas
06-02-2006, 05:40 PM
Nice flatty there Brandon. I think Ive seen your canoe somewhere last year.
I think the big flatties have buggered off or something, the Bream were certainly on the chew this morning, I caught about 8.
I have pulled some really nice flattied out of there, and the good thing is I got them right up where the boats cant go....nice and quiet.
We've had the kayaks up the Pine, but there was a fair bit of traffic of course. Will be heading back to the Pine in a week or so though.
Jake

Jay_S
07-02-2006, 06:54 AM
Nice work mate. I bet it was lodes of fun catching those fish in the kayak. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Well Done!!! [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Cheers Jay [smiley=starsbronze.gif]

Gigantor
07-02-2006, 01:31 PM
On ya, Jake. Good to hear that there are a few fish still in Nundah Crk. Haven't been up there for a while. Most fun I've had is late in the arvo at the mouth of Nundah at the bottom of the tide using a SP prawn profile (Kokoda Power Prawn). Always seems to be a big Lizzie there.

Gigantor

Rainbowrunner
09-02-2006, 09:49 PM
I had a scanoe for a while and fished nundah/ pine river/ canals, Imainly caught flatties too.
Brandon, in the Pine u should put in at lawnton near the bridge and go upstream on a larger tide, there is some nice spots up there too. No boats up there(much)

BrandonH
10-02-2006, 12:35 AM
Thanks Rainbow runner, I have been thinking about investigating whats up that way:) only thing is the scanoe is at my dads place now that i have the tinny at mine ;D I don't really want to head up that way in the tinny without knowing where the channel runs. I know the tinny dosn't draw much water but i also know it gets dam shallow up there!! Besides i am having fun trying to catch Jacks and Bream in other palces of the pine now that dosn't suit the scanoe >:(

Is it mainly flatties you get up there? or is there some nice holes that a jack might be sitting in up that way too??? Might grab the scanoe latter in the year and head up that way if its a good flathead haunt!!

Brandon

fish_outta_water
10-02-2006, 07:11 AM
nice to see you guys doing well on the yaks , too cold in u.k at the mo . cant wait to get out there again . good to see your catchs in the meantime

Rainbowrunner
10-02-2006, 05:33 PM
Brandon
dont take the tinnie up there, need the scanoe, there are places where you would have to walk the tinnie through, some excellent jack/cod territory up there, caught a nice cod on plastic and got smashed a few times, only been up there twice tho

BrandonH
10-02-2006, 06:10 PM
Cheers Rainbowrunner, with the weather the way it is I might be better off getting the scanoe and heading up that way! When I had a look around the boat ramp there I thought to myself that if there was some deepish holes under some of the big overhanging mangroves there they would have to hold a few good fish :)

chanquetas
10-02-2006, 06:57 PM
What is an scanoe? Is it different to a normal canoe? Its just Ive seen it mentioned a few times.
Jake

Rainbowrunner
16-02-2006, 03:45 PM
jake. a scanoe was originally put out by coleman and pelican bought the rights tomake it(HDPE) and stuff the design.
It is basically a large canoe with a square transom for a motor. Hard to paddle.m Very seaworthy.

Gigantor
16-02-2006, 05:30 PM
You gotta get out more, Jake.

chanquetas
17-02-2006, 09:12 PM
You gotta get out more, Jake.

:)

Ive got a Hobie gigantor. Once I got that I stopped looking.

But I think fishing 3 times a week is probably being out enough.... ::)