View Full Version : Sandhills saturday
twodogsfishing
20-02-2006, 09:59 AM
Got a feed, sand crabs and winter whiting. Dropped a good spotty, there were shows of good fish mid water but no surface action. The macks started to follow up hooked whiting, lost one fish to the razor gang. The dropped mack was on a pillie floater. Word of warning for those who either leave their winch handles unattached or somewhere accessible eg the back of the ute, there was somewhat of a crime spree at the sandgate public ramp on stealing trailer winch handles. Although i can drive on quite easily the group next to us weren't too impressed with having to be forced into their first attempt.
Cheers Parkesy
twodogsfishing
20-02-2006, 10:01 AM
fish
20-02-2006, 10:13 AM
Nice feed there well done, shame about the bloody thieves though >:(
Cheers and Beers
TIM-DONSELAAR
20-02-2006, 10:48 AM
good feed of crab and whiting there mate
cheers tim [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
land_based
20-02-2006, 11:28 AM
A feed of fresh whiting fillets and sandies, does it get any better? Was that at cabbage tree creek ramp mate?
Fishinmishin
20-02-2006, 11:40 AM
Well done Parkesy,
My pots don't seem to work quite right if that's what you catch in a day ;D ::). Mabey we can catch up for a day and you can show me how to manage a couple whiting as when the young one is ready to hold a rod....he might need to start on something other then pelagics ;D.
Cheers, Jay
20-02-2006, 12:19 PM
Wow! :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
Louis
20-02-2006, 12:25 PM
Well done
A nice feed there
Louis
fish2eat
20-02-2006, 12:31 PM
What a haul of sandies.....how many pots did you have set ??
Lone_Wolf
20-02-2006, 12:40 PM
Looks like you have got the Sandhills down pat Parkesy. Were there multiple mak episodes suggesting they are coming down this way?
twodogsfishing
20-02-2006, 01:47 PM
It was at the cabbage tree creek ramp rob.... Jay we threw back more than double that were just unders, the crabs have been there for a few months now, when we get the chance to leave pots down over night we really clean up... feed the bottom end of moreton. Shouldnt be a problem with the whiting Jay, they were that hungry that they catch themselves, actually pulled up two at once, one conventionally hooked the other holding on to a bit of bait that had slipped up the line. The fishing is usually pretty good, but the presence of whiting largely depends on whether trawlers have been through or not. Fish2eat we started with 4 cages (pro style) and 3 dillies...however after the first check of the dillies, only down half an hour, we realised we would have to just use the cages or we werent going to get a chance to do any fishing. Lone_wolf the macks seemed to only be there right at the top of the tide. It was only like 3 or 4 that we saw chase up the whiting....however the pillie that i threw out did go off straight away so they might have been thicker than it seems...apparently they were chasing the whiting the weekend before. There has been a large amount of baiting holding around the hills with big tailor being the main predators to date so it may be promising....here's hoping.
fishin_till_late
20-02-2006, 03:56 PM
Good lookin feed there
bet you'll enjoy it
those bloody winch handle thieves they really get annoyin i mean what is the point of stealing a winch handle >:(
outsiderskip
20-02-2006, 08:23 PM
well done
fish and crabs what can more can u ask for
cheers pete
craigie
22-02-2006, 07:47 PM
Two Dogs,
Nice haul mate ;)
What depth are you getting the Sandies in ??
Sounds like a great plan to plonk over there for the night and stitch up a great feed of crabs.
Might be able to swap a bit of Crabbing info with you via a P.M.
Got a few spots on the western side of the bay that should produce over the next month or two.
Craigie.
craigie
22-02-2006, 07:50 PM
Sorry people, not sure how my mellon got in the last post :-[ :-[
Hope it doesn't frighten your children !!
Craigie.
tangles21
22-02-2006, 08:03 PM
Nice catch.We got our winch handle nicked and the guy who was next to use got his nicked to.I think someone likes winch handles.On our way back across the bay the rescue boat pulled us up and asked us if our boat was two dogs fishing just wondering if that was you.
twodogsfishing
23-02-2006, 08:28 AM
Yeah that was us they were looking for....had a lil breakdown :-[ but it sorted it self out and we made it back under our own steam :)
hahaha LMAO @ Cragie, nice mugshot :P . Sortta looks like an esky full of crabs ;) :P
... just kidding :)
Jas