View Full Version : Raby Bay saturday 25th

nabs12
25-02-2006, 06:17 PM
Hey guys,
Went to Raby Bay today at around 12 till about 5.
I fished the mouth of the canals and in the canals and in the mariner for not much, I saw heaps of bream but they are just so dam finnicky, some of the bream were huge but just took a look at my lure and swam away >:(
Ended up catching 4 pike and a small trevally, on the main pontoon in the marina, I fished at low tide so im guessing thats why it wasnt so good, Any thoughts?

Thanks...

Lone_Wolf
25-02-2006, 08:17 PM
i reckon you are rackin' the hours up nabsy, you are gonna fly real soon. Keep looking for form, pontoons, moorings, rocky outcrops. Soon you will get what you are looking for.

cuzzamundi
25-02-2006, 08:20 PM
yeah nabsy i find the canals at scarby harder to fish on the lower end of the tide - and thats at night! i'd go back and keep goen as lone wolf suggested, it's just a matter of time before they start grabbing your lure. great to fish either way mate.

cuzza

Toppy
25-02-2006, 09:49 PM
nabs12 what lures are you using around the marinas, I do a bit of bream fishing on the Goldy but I know the Raby Bay area well.
We use sx40 eco-gear hard bodies & small river to sea ones also. Stop start very slow retreive works best for me & dont strike!!!!! just let them hook themself. Soft drag & long light leader 4-6lb & check it often for nicks & abrasions so you dont cast off the precious lures.
Do your self a favour & buy the ABT tournament mag from the newsagent its like gold. Its full of cool stories about bream fishing & its by blokes way more tallented than me. Its by far the best value read out at the moment.I hope this helps a little as I know how frustraiting Breaming can be.
Good luck
Toppy

nabs12
25-02-2006, 10:05 PM
Hey,
Thanks for help guys,
The lures i was using were-2inch bassminnows, in smelt and pumpkinseed, the 2 inch realistix in glow or sumthing, 3inch bassminnow in pearl watermelon and the pumpkinseed berkley grubs.
I thought about buying some sx-40s but they are dam expensive and i dont trust my casting enough, I do have some baby vibes that i mite try, so yeh...
I have heared that raby bay is a very "hot and cold" place im just hoping i can nail a big bream around there.

Saw some big pike swimming around, bot sure if they were pike but they were long and big. They were interested int he lure but didnt bite...they kept chasing it then just left it...

I think i'll get that magazine, if its as good as you say :D

thanks