View Full Version : Bay Sunday

27-02-2006, 10:56 AM
Left Nudgee at 5.45 heading for Hutchies. A glassed sea turned to a mixing bowl halfway out despite their only being 5knot wind.......I should've guessed then what was going on.

On arrival the Kianga channel was completely shut down due to heavy northerly swell and rollers coming from the banks right onto Moreton. Turned back and headed for the parking lot known as Curtin reef.

3 hrs saw only two runs on floated pilly which both resulted in break-offs on 30lb line. Not a touch on the bottom rigs.

Off to the 4 beacons and threw some slugs at macs on the way which resulted in them instantly going down.

On arrival at E2 the sea again glassed out. It was the last of the run out with the tide slackening so hopes were high. Loads of bait showing on the sounder but none of those big vee thingys ;D

Tipped the bait jigs with squid and was instantly hit by two grassies and a small squire. This continued for about an hour with only one yakka coming aboard but the kids having a ball with loads of grassies about 20cm and little squire a tad smaller........3 at a time on 4kilo and they were fun. I put down a couple of sandies on 10's that had paid off in the past and floated a pilly towards the beacon but the pickers were rising and stripping the pilly constantly. Even the sandies has their legs taken! Squid didn't last 5 minutes, they were that thick. Looks good for the future though. The kids kept losing hooks to bite offs, and as I didn't have the brain in gear I put it down to the grassies and the 4lb line. It wasn't until a spotty came on board (hook just on the lip) that I clicked...Duuuh! ::) :-[ Of course, it was too late by then. The slugs went out and two more spotties came in and then they shut down bang on slack water.

Headed home on a glassed out sea wondering when I'm gonna pull something through the gate on my new marlin board ::) ;D

Having the right to do it, doesn't mean it is right to do it.

Lone_Wolf
27-02-2006, 11:12 AM
Great to hear you are back on the water. I was only thinking to myself this morning, "wonder when Kev's marlin board is going to be finished?" Looks good too! What size were the spotties? Interesting how they are staying down more these days in the bay.
We went out over SPB at 5.30am via Amity. It was north east chop, incoming tide swell and the longest punch out done in a while.

27-02-2006, 12:04 PM
Know how you feel Kev, we were out there last Sunday. Same result great weather, plenty of schools of fish working bait schools but they didn't want to play the game :( we must have chased them for hours last week ::) we must of looked like chooks running around with our heads cut off ;D
Damo.

27-02-2006, 04:40 PM
Great to hear you are back on the water. I was only thinking to myself this morning, "wonder when Kev's marlin board is going to be finished?" Looks good too! What size were the spotties? Interesting how they are staying down more these days in the bay.
We went out over SPB at 5.30am via Amity. It was north east chop, incoming tide swell and the longest punch out done in a while.

Mate, the two on slugs went 62 and 65. The one we picked up on the bait jigs was only 40. The slugs didn't work on fast retrieve. I had to let 'em settle on the bottom and then cranked.......they got hit immediately I lifted the rod tip. I'm guessing that the spotties were feeding down deep on the thousands of undersize squire and sweetlip as the bait showed hard on the bottom on the sounder.

Figjamm
28-02-2006, 06:01 PM
Marlin board's looking good Kev.... now where's the pic of the spotties :)

28-02-2006, 06:36 PM
Marlin board's looking good Kev.... now where's the pic of the spotties :)

Flat batteries Bev..........3 hrs to recharge and you know me........skin and fillet straight away. Don't think the spotties would look too good by the time the batteries recharged ;D

Not as nice as they were in your batter though :D

If builders built buildings the way programmers write programs, the first woodpecker to come along would destroy civilisation.

Scott15
28-02-2006, 07:00 PM
Big enough to fit a 6ft shovely on the back of that

Cloud_9
01-03-2006, 06:46 PM
Kev its been a while since ive red post of yours .
and im thinkin where is that tinnie you had.
the new rig looks like a inboard/outboard. and glass too!!!!
very flash looking. ;)
tinnies are crap anyway. :o
the spots are very elusive at the present.
Cheers Cloud 9

01-03-2006, 07:23 PM
Kev its been a while since ive red post of yours .
and im thinkin where is that tinnie you had.
the new rig looks like a inboard/outboard. and glass too!!!!
very flash looking. ;)
tinnies are crap anyway. :o
the spots are very elusive at the present.
Cheers Cloud 9

Mate, I traded kingtin in and got this.

01-03-2006, 07:25 PM
Missed me crabbin' and prawning so I then got this ;D

Pretty much all the honest truth telling in the world is done by children.