View Full Version : blakesleys camp out / m&g
Mrs_Longtail
26-02-2006, 04:34 PM
hi everyone just got back from the best weekened camping. Jason and I and the kids arrived on friday afternoon (me and the kids waited at home why jason set up camp ;) ;) ;D). As I expected as soon as we arrived the kids went in the water which they never left for the whole weekened(what a shame :'( :'(). I must admitt this was my first every camping experience so was a bit worried how me and the kids would handle it :o :o but i loved it even with no tiolets and showers. Weather was a bit rough on friday and it bucketted down during the night, we all woke up to beautiful weather on saturday. Us girls sent of the men to do a shopping run (not happy couldn't go fishing :'( :'() to get milk and bread. When they got back from that they where chomping on the bit to go fishing so off they went. As usual come back empty handed lucky we wheren't releying on them for a fed. we all sat down for dinner then all sat around having a chat until late with the men grumbeling about not catching anything . Thankgod they caught some mackrel on sunday. Will post pictures with comments as soon as jason shows me how. Dont know about anyone else but my kids and i cann't wait to do it again. it was just a shame we had to leave early as my mother was babysisting bub and had to get home so she could get home to bet traffic to calaoudra.
26-02-2006, 05:13 PM
Nice to see you all enjoyed it. Had planned to come Sunday but sorry I missed it once again. The kids were chomping at the bit to have me use the witch doctor they bought me for Xmas and to christen the new marlin board. Off to Hutchies we went only to find huge rollers and some breakers round the point. I'm sure the weather Gods know when it's the deckie's day off ::) :'(
The key to happiness is not fixing your problems but changing your attitude towards your problems.
Mrs_Longtail
26-02-2006, 05:20 PM
the boys in their element. this made their day so we wont have to listen to the bitching that they didn't catch anything.
Mrs_Longtail
26-02-2006, 05:23 PM
man at work where they should be. :P a shame that it wasn't snapper, us women are never happy ;D ;D ;)
Mrs_Longtail
26-02-2006, 05:26 PM
this is the camp site. what a set up doesn't it look good ;D ;D(glad i didn't have to do it :D :D)
Mrs_Longtail
26-02-2006, 05:30 PM
this is where the kids stayed the whole time. We where left alone so we had a good rest in between cooking and cleaning. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
longtail
26-02-2006, 07:44 PM
g'day all , yes as was said above we had a great w/end , good to see the usual crew tony , dazza , darryl and families . was also good to catch up with webby , brett and family , graeme and jo . nice to meet hagar (thats a nice lookin' boat you got mate).
as helen said i went over friday morning to set up camp then came back to the mainland for the family in the arvo. no fishing on fri , just chatting and a couple ? of beers. around 330am sat it p??sed down rain :o so here's me in the tent thinking we'd be washed away ::) luckily that was the worst of it and all we got after that was just a couple of showers.
no good on the fishin front on sat , with three boats going for a run up to amity, not much surface action but plenty to see on the sounder ::) not hungry i guess :( . webby dropped in to say g'day sat arvo then went for a fish up aroud spot x ;) we didn't get out for a fish sat nite , too busy drinking and talking to care about fishing (great company , that what these
M&G's are about ;)) .
sunday morning we were thinking about going fishing when webby dropped in to show us his catch , couple of nice snapper from inside the bay , he then gave us a handfull of macks and advice and instructions on how to get some for ourselves. well that was all the encouragement i needed , so off me and darryl went for a hunt . end result was 6 schoolies and 2 spotties between us all just around legal but still a good feed. so it's now official NEED-A-FEED has been blooded ;) ;D ;D
looking forward to the next one.
jason
couple of pics to follow
longtail
26-02-2006, 07:47 PM
that's the vmr taxi service
longtail
26-02-2006, 07:49 PM
fisheries dropped in for the nite on fri arvo , didn't come ashore to say g'day though 8-)
longtail
26-02-2006, 07:50 PM
i reckon dazza has done this before ;) ;D ;D
longtail
26-02-2006, 07:52 PM
hide the keys dazza , there's a new skipper in training :D
longtail
26-02-2006, 07:56 PM
thanks for the loan of the banner steve [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Brejen
26-02-2006, 08:28 PM
As all the others have been, a bloody top day, and the weather gods did it for us again.
Just sorry we couldn't get there for the whole weekend, next time.
Great to finally meet Chris. And to again see the old crew have a chat and some laughs as usual.
who was the masked man in the MISTRESS running back from Russell at WOT. I saw you..... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D 8-) .
longtail
26-02-2006, 08:34 PM
who was the masked man in the MISTRESS running back from Russell at WOT. I saw you..... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D 8-) .
??????? damn i left too early didn't i? ;D ;D
maztez
26-02-2006, 08:42 PM
you mob been using my fuel again ::) ::)this must stop forthwith ;D ;D
Brejen
26-02-2006, 08:49 PM
you mob been using my fuel again ::) ::)this must stop forthwith ;D ;D
Na we used THAT fuel ages ago. ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
But you have to come next trip as there is no fuel left. ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) 8-)
longtail
26-02-2006, 08:52 PM
hey terry, only used 130lt ;D ;D ;)
jason
maztez
26-02-2006, 09:04 PM
wanted to come last thursday however having spent my allowance ::) ::)on a new sounder ;D ;Dice box ;D ;Dand rollers for the trailer ;D ;Dand being a wimp I wasnt game to ask the leader of the opposition for fuel and grog money :'( :'(Ill just have to build up some more brownie points for next time
cheers Terry
2DKnBJ
26-02-2006, 11:00 PM
Arrived at Blakeslys mid morning Friday and had camp set up by lunch time.Thought the rain would play hovoc with us trying to set up but with one brief shower all was good.
Great weekend had by all with a few fish thrown in for good measure.Along with the usual crew and families...Crestcutter,Longtail,Skippa,Gawby and Brejen had a couple of visitors Webby(thanks for the fish mate)and deckie Colin and Hagar (Chris) nice to meet you guys.
The kids...all 200 ;D :D of them had a ball.I dont think there was one dummy spit between them all weekend and they would have to be the cleanest kids in Bris with the amount of time they spent in the water :)
As with all trips this one ended too soon and can't wait for the next one but i hope the next trip dosen't end the way this one did.
::)I found there is a nice little drop at the end of the Reddy Bay ramp ::)and upon trying unsuccesfully to pull the boat out of the water resulted in one rather stuffed tyre and rim and a trailer that is slightly longer than it is meant to be :'(which resulted in the brakes locking on and me having to drag the thing boat and all up the ramp.With a few repairs and a spare from Skippa i managed to finally make it home by 8.00pm.
Cheers Skippa for all your help today and dont go getting a flat tomorrow ::)
Cheers Dazza and Crew
2DKnBJ
26-02-2006, 11:03 PM
What were the poor people doing
2DKnBJ
26-02-2006, 11:07 PM
Who pinched the bloody water
2DKnBJ
26-02-2006, 11:11 PM
Not looking good
2DKnBJ
26-02-2006, 11:13 PM
Trailer
2DKnBJ
26-02-2006, 11:15 PM
On the job
Darryl
27-02-2006, 04:24 PM
Spewin Dazza ya had dramas at the ramp , at least ya had a few gold there mate to pas the time.
I had a good time fellas, wont go too much into it now as foot has tripled it's size and i have been orederd to the docs asap.
Talk soon.
Darryl.
Brejen
27-02-2006, 04:49 PM
Hey masked man ;D ::) , i thought you were told this morning to get that foot looked at.
Dazza not good mate. We were lucky not to have ours drop off that end as well. Well some one did not saying who (didnt they SEAHAG) but luckly it was pulled out a little. Bloody nasty drop off too.
27-02-2006, 04:57 PM
Stickybeak says, ;D"what happened with the foot Darryl?" How's it goin'?
We live in a society where pizza gets to your house before the police.
Darryl
27-02-2006, 05:02 PM
Have no idea Kev, nothing bit me, didn't twist it, i dont drink hardly, but by morning it was that swollen it looked like i had kicked a wall all day with it.
Starting to burn so time to go get it looked at. No docs on the island after 4pm so down to the ambo's i have to go apparently. ;D
Lmao@masked man Brett, gimmie a haines that goes like yours anyday.
Ps..Went straight down and put another 200 deposit on my new/second hand haines when i got back after driving yours.
27-02-2006, 05:20 PM
Have no idea Kev, nothing bit me, didn't twist it, i dont drink hardly, but by morning it was that swollen it looked like i had kicked a wall all day with it.
Starting to burn so time to go get it looked at. No docs on the island after 4pm so down to the ambo's i have to go apparently. ;D
Lmao@masked man Brett, gimmie a haines that goes like yours anyday.
Ps..Went straight down and put another 200 deposit on my new/second hand haines when i got back after driving yours.
That sounds bad mate. Nursey noodle deckie ain't here atm so I can't offer an idea as to what it may be....sounds like an allergic reaction to me, but hey, what do I know, I'm only a vermin hunter ;D
Good luck with the boat mate..........bet you're wettin' yourself eh? ;D hey, that could be it [smiley=bulb2.gif].......You're peeing on your foot too much! ;D
Do you still want those plants? They're multiplying fast ;D
We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools.
Darryl
27-02-2006, 05:30 PM
Yes Kev, definately want the plants, will be over this week for sure, spewin mrs kingtin isnt there. She might have been able to help me out.
Ps, after doing 100kph in Bretts for a short spree i am wetting myself mate lol.
Darryl
27-02-2006, 05:31 PM
Didnt see the peeing on my foot bit till after i replied.
Bloody classic, probably true tho lmao. ;D
maztez
27-02-2006, 06:05 PM
Hey Darryl its called gout ya get it from drinkin grog ::) ::)or so they say its probably arsenic poisoning from the xxxx gold ;D ;D
hope it gets better for ya
cheers Terry
27-02-2006, 07:05 PM
Darryl, does the skin looked stretched and shiny? The deckie says that seeing as how you commented that the swelling was now feeling hot, that it could be cellulitis. You would probably need intravenous antibiotics if this were so. Hope things go right mate.
We often see further through a tear, than through a telescope.
Hagar
27-02-2006, 10:07 PM
Was real good to be able to get up there for the day , spend some time with other fishos and put some faces to the names . My first time up into that part of the bay and it was great . As an offshore fisho I have some learning to do about this bay fishing caper . Would have liked to be there for the bullshit sorry I mean bonding session on Sat nite .
The award for the most gear able to be packed into a boat without sinking it would have to go to Dazza . The mountain of gear we helped carry down to the water while Dazza was off collecting his crab pots was huge :P :P :P ( next time I get to come & get the pots ).
By the way is anyone missing a chair ? As you can see - deluxe model fully padded with footrest and drink table - NOT! . Left at camp . Almost found out the hard way at the powerlines on the way back that channel markers are a guide only at low tide - saved by a currrent ripple over a bank and polaroids .
Darryl
27-02-2006, 10:21 PM
Lmao chris, that chair was there on wednesday when i got there, obviously the previous owner had no more room like dazza to pack it. ;D
How did you go with the sandies mate?
Ps, one nice looking boat you have got there , it;s a credit too ya.
Darryl.
2DKnBJ
27-02-2006, 10:40 PM
Ended up with 2 more :'(
How is the foot
Cheers Dazza
Darryl
27-02-2006, 10:47 PM
Wanted to ambo me off the island tonight Dazza, but as we only have one ambulance i didnt want it to be busy with my foot and someone with a more serious injury needing it.
But has kingtin said Dazza, its cellultis and i need to be in hospital first light in the morning for an intravenus shot of antibiotics as it is a major infection they reckon.
Thanks for asking too mate.
Brejen
27-02-2006, 11:14 PM
See what happens mate when you fish out ofa Tinnie... ;D ;D ;D . And a bloody Stacer at that. ::) ::) ::) ::) .
MAte keep us informed hey and all the best bloke.
Darryl
27-02-2006, 11:24 PM
Amen brotha, bloody tin boats ;D ;D
longtail
28-02-2006, 04:08 AM
See what happens mate when you fish out ofa Tinnie... ;D ;D ;D . And a bloody Stacer at that. ::) ::) ::) ::) .
MAte keep us informed hey and all the best bloke.
huh??? it's an allycraft brett ;)
ya can't blame my boat , he'd been in it for hours before his foot swelled up :-X :-?
let us know how you get on darryl.
jason
DICER
28-02-2006, 06:59 AM
Darryl - get the foot looked at promptly - it's very important. I've had several friends go to hospital because of serious infections like that. Time is really important. As a few people have said before, intravenous antibiotic maybe the only way to treat the infection. Consequences of it not being treaten are dire.
Hope it heals up.
Seahag
28-02-2006, 07:39 AM
Tried to send a post last night but buggered it up...Had a great time seeing everyone on Sunday and actually catching some fish...who said you couldn't catch fish in Moreton Bay...I was trolling, but I had a back seat driver.."don't turn so fast" Don't tangle the lines" Look out for that boat" Don't get too close"Watch the oyster leases" Oh Boy....The water was beautiful and clean..saw a shark surface while in the middle of the bait frenzy and saw a stingray fly through the air, and actually saw some Mackerel coming into Gawby!!! Thankyou to Darryl for the Crabs(I am still scratching LOL!!) Seriously though they were delicious and Brett and I did them justice last night. I have attached a snap of the feast. Looking forward to next weekend at the Maryannes M and G.
Jo...I am still coming to terms with the Seahag title. ;D
Seahag
28-02-2006, 08:03 AM
Hi and here is another one for you... how fast were you going here Darryl???Where are the water Rats when you need them....Jo
Seahag
28-02-2006, 08:09 AM
here is another one of Jason packing up....the worst part of a great weekend..Jo
skippa
28-02-2006, 07:51 PM
Geez,
Miss a coupla days on here and its a nites work just to catchup ...
Hope alls well with that foot Darryl, pity it wasn't the middle stump could of had some real braging rights there ... ;D ;D altho I don't really wanna think about what could have bitten that tho .... :o
Was a good weekend .... untill Webby came over telling me about Maryanne's post .. bugger me couldn't get on the phone quick enough to cancel the credit card. :'(
Nice to finally meet you Chris and a top job on that boat of yours too, looks good riding on the water ... not at all like Brett had told me about it .. ::) ;D Looks like you've picked yourself up a little camp chair too mate, doesn't really mate up for the crabs tho.
Jase I know what you mean about the fuel ... the ol Yammie chewed its way thru $140 too, add that to Maryannes credit card ... ouch :-[
Glad you finally made it home Darren ... never noticed before how many bits of broken glass and stuff are on our roads untill I start to dodge em ...
Still reckon its a good excuse to look at a new multi roll trailer .. ::)
Jen, a big thank you for helping me packup, normally Maryannes Job and your right, next time we do it at High Tide
Next time fellas
Tony 8-)
PS Darryl I've got your gerrys mate
Brejen
28-02-2006, 08:03 PM
I could aways call you oldhag then ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ::) ::) ::) ::).
MMMMMM better go shut me windows and doors me thinks
Darryl hows the foot bloke.
skippa
28-02-2006, 08:09 PM
I could aways call you oldhag then ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ::) ::) ::) ::).
MMMMMM better go shut me windows and doors me thinks
Darryl hows the foot bloke.
Wow, your a brave man Brett ... or stupid ... I'll let you decide ;D ;D
Brejen
28-02-2006, 08:22 PM
Na she be good mate . She needs me to fillet all their fish.
And i've locked the house all up ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D 8-)
U check ur PM Tony
gawby
28-02-2006, 08:37 PM
What was that you were calling my wife brejen.
When did you say you were moving out.
I hope maztes has got some room for you down there.
Daughter and kids can stay for now.
Gawby
Where am i tonight brett.
Brejen
28-02-2006, 08:53 PM
What was that you were calling my wife brejen.
When did you say you were moving out.
I hope maztes has got some room for you down there.
Daughter and kids can stay for now.
Gawby
Where am i tonight brett.
Not at home i know that ;D ;D .
Nad dont need to live at MAztez will just take my house with me ;D ;D ;D, leave you with the wife and kids ;D ;D ;D ;).
where are you then, thought you were heading to Charleville, so you shouldn't be at ur usually place should you. Which way you go then.
I just go pack the kids and ur daughters gear up and help them move into ur house ;D ;D ;D ;D
allniter
01-03-2006, 12:05 AM
DAZZA,
Just a heads up on the reddy bay boat ramp drop off.
If you look up on the rocks either side beside the ramp, you will notice some kind folk many moons ago have painted white lines on the rocks to let you know where the actual concrete ramp ends, and the abyss begins ;D
;)
regards darren
Darryl
01-03-2006, 06:44 AM
Jo glad you enjoyed my crabs, plenty more around too, so sing out if ya want some more. ;D ;D
Brett , Tony, Jason, Dicer etc, i ended up with a good intravenious shot of antibiotics and the foot is back to normal, ready to kick ass.
Brejen
01-03-2006, 07:43 AM
Jo glad you enjoyed my crabs, plenty more around too, so sing out if ya want some more. ;D ;D
Brett , Tony, Jason, Dicer etc, i ended up with a good intravenious shot of antibiotics and the foot is back to normal, ready to kick ass.
The father- in- law worring bout me calling the mother-in-law names and here's u giving her your crabs, cant figure that one out ;D ;D ;D .
Mate glad to hear ur foot all good now talk soon
longtail
01-03-2006, 02:23 PM
good to hear darryl , did they work out what the cause was???
jason
Darryl
01-03-2006, 05:38 PM
Just old age Jason lmao.
Seriously , they reckon it's something to do with tin boats mate. ::) ::)
longtail
01-03-2006, 06:03 PM
with all the hours you've spent in my boat , i find that very difficult to believe ::) ;D
seriously tho , good to hear it's back to normal . let me know how the mack attack goes mate 8-)
jason
2DKnBJ
01-03-2006, 06:55 PM
Wish i had known that on Sunday but that is the trials and tribulations that go along with fishing.
Gota say the Jeep has some serious pulling power to do the damage it did.
Darryl
Good to see you got the ankle sorted out and is all good again.
Cheers Dazza
Hi Jason & Helen,
Great report, and I loved the photos.
Good to see some fish in the new boat, I know they are the first of many.
Cheers Roz