View Full Version : Woody Point Today 12th March

ShaneJ
12-03-2006, 04:10 PM
Got to Clontarf Ramp about 5am and it was raining so we decided to wait and see if it clears. After half an hour or so the weather was looking good so we dropped the boat in and headed out front to flick some plastics.
Once we got out and found some patches of rocks we noticed the esky lid had gone missing, so we had to follow the track back and search for it :-? ::) After a bit of looking we found the lid and headed back to the rocks and anchored up.
After a few hook ups on the rocks my line was off(ZZzzzzzz) and within seconds it was in the rocks :( Anyway rigged up again(drag cranked up) and had a few more casts and it was off again(Zzzzzzzzzzz)! I was leaning back on the rod, fingers on the spool to no avail as little fishy when straight to the rocks :(
After that the tide slowed down and so did the action. We went up to the bridge to try for some flatty but nothing so we headed for home.
Anyway, the 8lb line just couldn't cut it today so off to Sundown I went to grab another rod and more jig heads ready for next time ;)

flickflack
12-03-2006, 04:47 PM
Hard luck mate, maybe next time

daz35
12-03-2006, 09:24 PM
times like that always find you back there though to find out what it was that was breaking u off.the good old esky lid i own about 4 eskys that the lids have disappeared either out of the boat or back of the fourby

ShaneJ
12-03-2006, 09:25 PM
I'll be back there thats for sure. I'm gonna catch that damm thing one way or another :D

12-03-2006, 09:58 PM
Hmmm,

What breaking strain line is getting busted off? It's a trade off isn't it? Go heavier with line and rod with the risk of reduced bites....

Will be interesting to see what you do.

ShaneJ
13-03-2006, 07:22 AM
I was using 8lb line. Next trip i'll be taking a second rod with 14lb line ;)
I'm not too worried about loosing bites as I wasn't getting any in the first place. Whatever these fish were, they just grabbed the plastic and took off.

TonyM
13-03-2006, 11:03 AM
hmmmm Could this be the beginning of an expensive yet fun campaign against a resident old and crafty fish? :-? ;D

Shane - don't muck around mate, go straight to the barra outfit :D

BrandonH
13-03-2006, 12:40 PM
Giday mate, sounds like you had some fun even though you didn't manage to land it!! Good luck next time ;)

I reckon it could have been a cod, I got one out there a couple of weeks ago that went 5lb cleaned. hit my plastic just off the bottom and took off like a train!! 5 mins latter i managed to land him! was using 14lb braid with 14lb vanish seams to do the trick for me so far! still haven't hooked onto a big Squire out there yet!! hopefull this comming weekend :)

Brandon...

madman1
13-03-2006, 01:34 PM
Let me know when you are heading out there next time Shane. I will try to stay off the grog and meet you there.

Better luck next time.

ShaneJ
13-03-2006, 01:39 PM
Thanks guys. Mark i'll let you know when I go out next :)

Tony, If it comes to it, I got the TLD30 stashed away at home! That should stop them :D