View Full Version : Iluka/Shark Bay Report

wiseguy67
12-03-2006, 09:25 AM
Have not wet a line for two weeks so not much action for me :-[

reports of jewie on the walls have been coming in:

A visiting mate of TOL reported a nine kg which put a smile on his face i am sure.

Second hand news of a fisho's attempt of gaffing a 25kg jewie only to have the gaff ripped from his hands! so i am told there is a XL jewie swimming around with a gaff attached, now thats :'(

To break my dry spell and calm the withdrawl symptoms yesterday arvo i told katrina that we should go to Woody Head for a spin in the kayak as we have never gone kayaking there.
On the way decided to head a bit further to have a look at Shark Bay for some pippis, Katrinas number one choice for Bream bait when we have no tuna cubes that is!
Pippis galore, so i say lets go up to Black Rocks and fish a gutter instead of kayaking.

Condition were perfect, found a prime gutter ten km up the beach not far from Black Rocks.
Katrina had elbow slapping whiting in minutes and heaps of nice sized Dart which are fun on light gear... I played around with pippis until the sun was just about to set and then put out a gar on 3/0 ganged rig wasn't long when i let a decent Shovelnose go and as soon as the sun set nailed two tailor one was small the other came in around 3+kg :).
I only brought 5 gar with me so I took a fillet off the small tailor and waited~ tap tap click click click~ screaming penn~ Big is all i can say heading straight out to sea, I can feel the pumping action resonating down the 11 surf rod, penn9500ss loosing line so i palm it just a bit once, twice and then all goes limp... cranking as fast as i can in hope of a change of direction... no such luck all i get back is a straightened single 3/0 the other two obviously lodged in ??? mouth... I say big jewie :)

So we fish for a while more and Katrina gets a large bream you know the ones that around 1.5kg she's happy and i'm stoked to have a good run and some tailor action.
I think we will go back tonight.
Just love being out there under the moon and stars with smelly hands and all.

I tell ya its been a long time in coming to actualy land one of these jews and i will one of these nights.

Lesson learned: let him run for the first hundred or so meters and then put the pressure on. I am sure if i had given him a chance to burn some energy the hooks would of held. Might try to use larger hooks ::).
Its a learning process...most enjoyable most of the times though ;)

It was very good to see a flock of 5 fluffy emus and one adult. Last year we lost all the baby emus to drivers on the Iluka road: PLEASE SLOW DOWN when emus are grazing on the roadside as they are NOT car savvy

Tight lines,
Gerard

wiseguy67
12-03-2006, 09:26 AM

Lone_Wolf
12-03-2006, 10:30 AM
Gerard,

Is that Black Rock, northern NSW? Any fishy photos?

12-03-2006, 05:40 PM
I'll have to remember that about the pipis Gerard. I think we're supposed to use them where we catch them?? :-?

wiseguy67
14-03-2006, 12:54 PM
Gerard,

Is that Black Rock, northern NSW? Any fishy photos?

Yes its Black Rocks Bundjalung NP nice place to camp and fish and a 'short' cut to Iluka if coming from tropo Qld ;) you drive in from just past the Evans Head turn off.
Pics are from the next night katrina cleaned up on Bream and one tarwine but not quite as large as the one on the first night, I had no runs but caught and released two large bream that took a liking to my gar on 4/0 gang rig

TOL yes the law states you must not remove pipis from the beach.
Main beach at the wall will produce pipis as well but it takes more work ie: the pipi shuffle ;)
shark bay at lowtide you can see them popping up on the area where the 4b4 have driven and they can be every hwere one day and none the next week... :-?

wiseguy67
14-03-2006, 12:55 PM

wiseguy67
14-03-2006, 12:56 PM