View Full Version : SP Session today at Mud

aquarius
15-03-2006, 06:32 PM
Hi there Ausfishers & Guests, Work has been quiet this week so i asked the Boss for the day off to go fishing.
No problem he said so Jim and I headed out from whyte island ramp this morning at first light bound for Mud Island.
The SP'S were soaking before sun up but the fish weren't hungry so we had to be patient and just keep casting most of the morning until they came on the chew.
We had plenty of small squire to keep us amused but not one over the 35cm until Jim hooked up to a nice one that went 44cms.
Tide was full and it wasn't looking good for us to take home a feed so we moved around to try some new ground.
More squire, sweetlip, and a few unstopables before i lost 2 good hits and then finally that fish i had been waiting for ;D.
Yep the line went tight and i knew this fish had some pulling power.
It wasn't fighting like a snapper with those head shakes just shear brute power.
After a few minutes Jim netted the fish of the day.....A nice estuary cod.
The fishing warmed up a little with more squire, flathead and sweetlip and then Jim yells out "YES YES A PARROT ON AN SP"
Jim had been trying for sometime to snare a parrot on an SP.....Good on-ya mate another fish species you can add to your list.
Never seen so many Trawlers at one time on the bay as we did today.
Counted 11 all up.
Not much hope for us little fisher people with these guys around.
I understand it's there living but i wish it could be outside the bay.
A great day to be not working for a change and to just relax on the water with a good mate.
Cheers Brent :D

aquarius
15-03-2006, 06:34 PM
pic 2

aquarius
15-03-2006, 06:35 PM
pic 3

15-03-2006, 06:49 PM
Nice cod. Well done! :)

I was out there yesterday and had a similar experience with barely undsersize squire but I lost patience and went elsewhere for a flathead. ;D ;D

15-03-2006, 08:05 PM
Nice report. Does your boss want anymore staff? ;D

albi
15-03-2006, 08:22 PM
looks like you both had a fantastic day
good on ya's
albi

NeilD
15-03-2006, 08:48 PM
Thats a nice Cod [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

I've wondered if using some of those Berkley Gulp Crabs might be the go for Parrot. Imagine connecting to one of Webby's monsters on a SP outfit.

jackextracter
16-03-2006, 11:32 AM
Nice coad :)

beefaman
16-03-2006, 12:37 PM
Nice work Brent. Seems that you had to wait for them to come on the chew...sometimes that is the only way :)

TIM-DONSELAAR
16-03-2006, 12:51 PM
good report and good pics Brent.

your boss must be a top bloke to let you have days off to go fishing.....i wish my boss was cool :( :( :(

cheers tim [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

chief
16-03-2006, 05:12 PM
great report, it 's great after a day at work to come home sit down and read about someone having a trip mid week and catching fish. it seems to keep us all connected to what we love doing. Fishing good onya mate.

16-03-2006, 05:34 PM
Nice report Brent. I wouldn't worry too much about the trawlers........they're only after the prawns so I'm sure that won't detract from rec fishers target ;)

A rumour without a leg to stand on will get around some other way.

longtail
16-03-2006, 07:00 PM
nice report brent ,

last time i was around mud there were just as many trawlers >:(

looks like you still managed a good feed ;D

jason

Jack_Hunter
16-03-2006, 09:09 PM
That cod would have inhaled the sp. The squire around the bay and mouth of brissie river should start heating up soon. Hopefully should be a good season.

aquarius
16-03-2006, 09:44 PM
Jack hunter that cod was one of a few that i encountered yesterday.
You are right they sure inhale the plastics and unfortunately when using 8lb leader its very easy for them to break the line.
This one luckily was caught in the side of the mouth so no way was it going to be an unfair fight.
Had to dip the rod in the water several times when the fish ran under the boat.
Hope your right with that prediction of a top winter season coming up very soon.
Cheers Brent :)

Touchy - R.I.P.
17-03-2006, 06:02 AM
So,the master blaster gets another good feed,onya mate, Now listen just because SOME of us can now fish midweeks there is no reason you have to come along & stick your oar in :D ;) ::) :P, Cheers Touchy.><>

aquarius
17-03-2006, 08:02 AM
Hi Fred, We can't wait till you get out there midweek to give us reports on whats biting and where.
You better not give us a dud report just so you can keep all those snapper to yourself...lol ;D
Nah seriously looking forward to your upcoming reports and pics mate.
Cheers Brent ;) :D

Canoedle
17-03-2006, 08:24 AM
Bloody nice cod m8 :)

SgBFish
17-03-2006, 04:25 PM
Brent.
That Quintrex you were in looks similar to mine. I put in a second set of set brackets for the rear lounge halfway up the cocpit on the vertical struts and the seat sits halfway up the cockpit.
It makes it really easy to fish facing backwards and gives more room at the stern.
Just a thought. The first photo seems to have someone sitting on an esky.
Just a thought.
scott

Steven78
17-03-2006, 06:44 PM
Well done once again Brent ;D Those cods go hard and never give up and they love that watermelon seed colour that you know i like using
Cya Saturday Morning. I cannot wait to get out there after been in Melbourne the last week or two...

Cya Steven

17-03-2006, 10:09 PM
Ah Brent you buggar!

That's cheating! Getting out on a week day for a fish, I thought you were up to no good because I had not seen a post from you the last couple of weeks LOL. You will have to PM me to compare notes on Mud and then you can tell me how to fish wello/green and stop using up more fuel than necessary going to Mud all the time as I do.

Mind you that Cod is biggger than any Cod I have pulled at Mud. Well done!