View Full Version : prawns,prawns,prawns

Jiggit
20-03-2006, 11:19 AM
thankyou nugget for the signal that prawns are on...
headed out to jacobs well this morning in search of some prawns , with my good mate cyclops on th prop and me on the net , we managed to esky a good 6kg into the slurry, of banannas and mixed prawns.. very happy...

Jiggit
20-03-2006, 11:23 AM
closer

Canoedle
20-03-2006, 11:32 AM
Yummmmm :)

cyclops
20-03-2006, 12:00 PM
Thanks for a good mornings sess jiggit billo will be envyous....

Darryl
20-03-2006, 12:38 PM
Where were they jiggit? Im heading out for this arvy's low. Was going to head to Jacobs Well first.

keen_as_mustard
20-03-2006, 12:49 PM
looks great - I am also keen to get out there, but due to work can only go early morning and late arvo.

roughly what time did you get them - and how long did it take to get that catch?

Marty

20-03-2006, 01:48 PM
Nice one lads

Jiggit
20-03-2006, 06:16 PM
roughly 730 to 800 clock is when we were getting them, just after the turn of the low . as id never trekked to jacobs well before i wouldnt know what to call the spot, but it was along the banks just past little rocky point. roughly 20 per cast .... watching the top pocket fill up as u pull it back is just awesome. surprise catch was a atleast 2.5kg luderick massive blackfish fall off the side of the net right at the gunall..

Benno
21-03-2006, 09:11 AM
Good work...
How long do you cook for??

Benno

TIM-DONSELAAR
21-03-2006, 11:04 AM
nice haul of prawns Jiggit and cyclops [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim [smiley=beer.gif]

keen_as_mustard
21-03-2006, 11:46 AM
Benno.

I cook prawns following Nugget's 'recipe'. He suggests you cook them in fresh boiling water and pull them out when their tails curl around and touch their head. You then drop them straight into a very salty ice slurry and leave them in there for a couple of hours - the longer you leave them the saltier they get (never hurts to tast a few every 30m ins or so!). I usually add a little sugar for a slightly sweeter flavour. The theory behind cooking in fresh water is the shells go harder and are easier to peel.

Works great for me.

Marty

Benno
21-03-2006, 01:49 PM
Sounds good.. Thanks for that Marty.

Cheers benno

Billo
21-03-2006, 08:25 PM
GGGGRRRRRRRRRR...that'd be right !

Wish this bloody wind would bugger off.
I'll be down as soon as it does ;)