View Full Version : brissie river  18/3

chief
18-03-2006, 04:57 PM
Myself and son left the boat passage about 5.30 and headed straight over to pinkenbar. Now its hard to teach old dog new tricks ,so we headed off with the normal assortment of baits for a morning run and of course those plastics which are catching fish but I still cant trust to provide a good days fishing. Well we brought the bait home barely touched, thinking we really didn't need it at all.Sometimes I think a lab Rat learns faster than myself. Anyway we fished the wall s last bit of run and got hammered by a few squire on plastics .Gee you know they've hit you on that light string . as things went quiet we went down to the new walls for a while and kept away from the growing crowds staying closer to the dredge. We were drifting from the wall across the banks to the channel . We did the drift quite a few times with a few solid hits which resulted in some just under sized sqire. The plastics surprised us again as we were getting attacked by small whiting with such gutso. You will see the picture below of the young bloke with one of the little culprits that hammered a 3 cm pumkinseed. Anyway the whiting were going off on the plastics so we left and went back to pinkenbar where the tide had picked up now and we finished the morning with a few more squire. We decided to pull the pin , but on the way home we thought we throw the plastics around that sandy patch upstream from the boat passage for a lizard .We pushed into the shallows around the rock wall and had a quick couple of casts but the only highlight was a big lizard that raised from the base of the wall and chased one of the plastics. all in all we had a great time and enjoyed the morning.

chief
18-03-2006, 05:00 PM
We were amazed at these whiting hitting the minnows

Lone_Wolf
18-03-2006, 05:25 PM
Nice squire chief, they go hard in the shallows alright! Woulda been a thrill to see a big lizard chasing following one up too. :o

aquarius
18-03-2006, 06:04 PM
G,Day Chief, Mate its good to see you getting a few squire on the plastics.
They sure hit like there's no tomorrow and its great fun on the light spinning gear.
It looks like the whiting go for the pumpkin seed gulps so keep at them because maybe soon you will nail a big one.
Cheers Brent :)

nabs12
18-03-2006, 07:45 PM
Nice work there.
Im mite be headin down there tomorow... (landbased)
I really want to get a squire on the SP's and this has inspired me to do so :)
I'll give those pumpkin seed gulps a go..

Benno75
19-03-2006, 07:49 PM
Hey chief - thats the pinkenba wall behind you, isn't it? How far off the wall were you catching your squire? Photo makes out like you are further than one cast away? Were they feeding up close or out a bit?

Always_Sunburnt
19-03-2006, 08:13 PM
Top fish mate.

Where abouts is the new wall??

Cheers!

Jason

chief
20-03-2006, 02:01 PM
sorry always sunburnt, the walls aren't reall new ,it's the walls that are extending the port of brisbane out into moreton bay . they have been there a while but construction is still underway , dredging etc. Look behind the young blokes photo, thats the wall. And Benno when it permits i'll drift but I haven"t an electric so a lot of time i'll anchor and about a cast distance to the rocks is a good start point.

TIM-DONSELAAR
21-03-2006, 12:04 PM
nice squire/snapper there chief [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

the whiting must of been pretty hungry to take a fairly big pumpkinseed minnow

cheers tim :D

Benno75
21-03-2006, 01:09 PM
G'day chief,

I've had a couple of good sessoins down no the wall to, most of the time though the fish just are under size. But they never seem to be feeding right in close. Maybe 10 or so meters off the wall? I was just curious if you ever found the same thing. I've also seen plenty of posts of squire much bigger than I've ever managed and I always wondered if I wasn't fishing in the right way or in the right spot, or with the right technique. I also drift the wall most of the time I am using plastics, but don't have an electric.

Coming in tide on dusk seems to be my pick of the time. Doesn't matter if its high or low, just as long as its coming in, and once its dark the squire go off the chew and I switch to bait and target bream. I've never had a good early morning session on the wall.

Just curious as to your thoughts on the matter(or anyone els's).

I've got a lot of good bream off that wall over the years fishing baits. The bream definitely feed right on the wall. We use no lead and let it wash up as close as possible. Its even better to get out of he boat and fish off the wall itself. Sometimes they are so close and shaoolw they break the surface as they nail the bait and run off. I'm yet to nail a bream on plastics though.

chief
21-03-2006, 03:30 PM
Benno, I'm not saying i know what i'm doing is right because i'm up for trying stuff till i find fish but if i'm not getting fish shallow, i'll tend to work deeper water. i usually know if the wall is not producing after giving it a good go at various depths i head to the large beacon white and red in the middle of the river and you tend to find them there. i reckon you really need that run in the tide and if its a big low and a small high with not much run thats when i fish deeper. you can find a bit more run in the water. thats just my opinion . And also i go as light as i can in the jig heads. As i said mate i'm still trying to get my head around this plastics ,i only brought a boat 2 months ago and have been away from fishing for about 7 years and boy have there been some big changes but boy i'm having a ball.

LUMOX
21-03-2006, 06:25 PM
great to hear someone doing well and happy to share the info, thumbs up to cheif. look forward to satday. has the chat about sat been moved somwhere else? dont want to miss any info.

Benno75
21-03-2006, 08:16 PM
I think I know the beacon you're talking about Chief. I think a few people do. Can be hard to get a park over there at times. Never fished it, but ran over it with the sounder the other day - figured there had to be something down below with all the attention it receives.

I think you're right about the run in the current - the bigger tides and the stronger the run in the water the better the fishing seems to be.

Have you ever fished the banks on the southern the river? Seems like good country over there too, but I've only explored it a couple of times trying to get out of the wind. As yet, I've not found it very successful - but it must just be me I reckon. Got to be fish there too.

Like you said - its fun trying to figure it all out

chief
22-03-2006, 02:48 PM
lumox , I'll be there the only thing that would change is if the wheather goes to pack. check out friday night

LUMOX
22-03-2006, 06:25 PM
will do. thanks