View Full Version : A Nice day out of the office-Nth Qld barra

stunnedmullet
23-03-2006, 11:00 AM
Well after only one substantial fishing expedition for the last couple of months, I decided to have a morning fish. All intention was to put the boat in but a late rise(5.20am) meant it was landbased. Packing my esky with iced coffe and a paper, off I ventured. A dozen live mullet later I set myself on the bank. It was one of those days that fishing was a bonus. Kicking back, reading the paper having a coffee...aaah nth qld gotta love it. A bit of activity on one of the live baits ened in a mangrove jack of around 40cm hitting the beach. Amazing effort for the jack to take a mullet around the 15cm mark. I was quite happy with that as a feed so feeling happy with myself I sat back on the esky after tossing out another livie. Around the top of the tide, off went the livie. After about 15mins on 8kg I caught sight of a big bucket mouth coming towrds me with a hook well and truly down its throat. The physics of trying to net a 90cm barra while holding a 13ft beach rod then complicated things. After a couple of nervous moments I managed to swim the barra onto the beach. I reckon that another couple of minutes and the 40lb leader would have worn through so luck was on my side THIS time. It had been over a year since my last decent barra so this one was coming home with me. Nothing was wasted as a mate took the head, wings and frame(for soup) and friends and family all of a sudden requested their share of fresh barra. Ah well we still had a taste...sensational.
Before I get any questions regarding the location, it was on private property so in order to respect this persons privacy I wil have to refrain from giving directions. Needless to say I am sure there are plenty of better spots to catch a barra but I need to respect their privacy as I have been going there for the last 16yrs and I appreciate them letting me into a piece of paradise.
Damo

Jiggit
23-03-2006, 11:17 AM
very nice barra there mate and a champion effort from the shaw.

TIM-DONSELAAR
23-03-2006, 12:00 PM
nice barra Damo......Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :D

aussiefool
23-03-2006, 12:22 PM
Top fish there M8 well done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Slient
23-03-2006, 01:30 PM
Your smile :) tells one thousand words or hit by high dose caffeine :D (ice break) I’m probably one of them ::)
Congratulations to your Barra