View Full Version : Who needs hooks???
jackash
24-03-2006, 01:20 PM
HAha ok this is a pretty dodgy report but anyway i was stoked so im posting it. Was at a mates house on the Brizzy River last night doing a uni maths assignment. And being on the river i was sorta itching to go fishing. So after searching all through my mates shed i finally found this sh!ttiest and oldest little rod with a dodgy little alvey on it with about 40 metres of line. It also had a sinker but no hooks... and they didnt ave a tackle box. But i was still determined so i whipped out an old safety pin. bent it so it somehwat resemble a hook. Tied it on and off i went with bread as bait. First cast and WHAMMO....ZZZZ only to have my hook... i mean pin.... straightened. So i rebent it and decided this time id jsut let the bugger run and try to put as little pressure as possible on it. So a few minutes later i was on against and took me like 5 mins but after an epic battle where i was afriad to even touch the reel for fear of straightening the pin again i finally landed a 20cm catty. ok haha not much of a fish but still... on a safety pin..... i was going syco. Legged it up and got my mates and they were jsut pissing themselves so i went back down and all of a sudden i was on again. Took my time again and another catty slightly bigger came in. The tide turned and as i only had a tiny sinker i was struggling but kept at it and finally had another hook up. This fish felt fairly solid and after a few big runs which jsut about spooled me and and a couple of hairy moments around the pontoon (its tough keeping a fish out of the snags when u cant put any pressure on it) i finally landed a catty of about 35 cm. I WAS GOING SYCO!!!! Anyway I'll stop there before you all get on here and pay me out about doing a report on catfish... but hey they are better than nothing!!!!!
Jackash
Pics to follow
jackash
24-03-2006, 01:21 PM
this is the biggest catty.
jackash
24-03-2006, 01:22 PM
And if u look closely in this one u can jsut make out the pin.... WOOOHOOO
bo_sawyer
24-03-2006, 01:36 PM
lol good on ya jackash, you can tell who the addicted fishermen are cant you? i personally think that catchin a fish on gear that uve had to create gives you a better kick.
imnotoriginal
24-03-2006, 01:42 PM
That only proves how much of the sport is in the challenge. You challenged yourself, not in what fish you would catch but that you could actually bring him in on that. Well done, a great test of skills and you won. Congrats mate
Joel
aussiefool
24-03-2006, 03:14 PM
what fishin' is all about...... getting out there and having a go with what your've got and not having all top shelf gear with 100kg braid just to catch herring ..... well done m8 2 big [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
FOOCKCHUCKER
24-03-2006, 03:43 PM
well done you silly silly man you sound as crazy keen as it takes to be a good fisherman. :)
morty103
24-03-2006, 04:39 PM
HAHA
gogecko
24-03-2006, 04:57 PM
Good on you for being so determined, we all understand the addiction.
Bare hands? You obviously havent been spiked by one yet....very brave.
ANdrew
jackash
24-03-2006, 05:21 PM
Haha thanks guys.... it was bloody good fun... the adrenalin was pumping at stages. Gogecko... have been spiked by a small one and trust me i dont want it to happen again haha... but the mouth is harmless enough.
Jackash
Canoedle
24-03-2006, 06:49 PM
lol Asho, that's classic, looking forward to getting down the river up here for a paddle. ;)
jackash
24-03-2006, 06:52 PM
Yeah definitely mate... hopefully we can do better than jsut catties!
Jackash
Canoedle
24-03-2006, 06:55 PM
;D Yep for sure, don't think there's much of a challenge there m8, unless you wanna fish with bent safety pins and bread! ;D
24-03-2006, 07:02 PM
Damn! And to think that I went to Captain Bligh's this afternoon and bought 300 hooks. I should have saved my money! ;D ;D ;D ;D
chief
24-03-2006, 07:07 PM
mate I've just been down to the shops and picked up some pins but couldn 't find chemically sharpened ones your an inspiration. ;D
jackash
24-03-2006, 08:07 PM
Haha charleville. I dunno if i would go as far as that.... haha afterall i was only catching catties :P and chief thanks mate.... hahaha try and get the barbed pins with baitholders on them ::)
land_based
24-03-2006, 09:32 PM
That is some magiver stuff right there, well done jackash
2DKnBJ
24-03-2006, 10:25 PM
Hey Jackash
Top report mate.
Where there is a will there is a way ;D
After all we are just mere fishermen.
Cheers Dazza
jackash
24-03-2006, 11:05 PM
Thanks guys... maybe I'll go into business... watch out Mustad and Gamakastu
FOOCKCHUCKER
25-03-2006, 07:39 AM
might bend a few up have a red emporer and amberjack trip on soon could save me a few bucks on xxxx hooks thanks for the heads up jack ash.
mickstar001
25-03-2006, 09:56 AM
jACKASH REMINDS ME OF GOING CAMPING WITH NO CAN OPENER AND HAVING TO IMPROVISE. GIVE IT A COUPLE OF MONTHS AND YOU'LL BE BUYING 6INCH SAFETY PINS CHASING THE BULLIES HE HE. GOOD WORK.
gone_phishin
25-03-2006, 10:59 AM
Hey Jackash, if you can do that with a safety pin, do ya reckon you can take a marlin with a knitting needle ;D ;D ;D
That shows perserverance, ingenuity, patience, and a hell of a lot of essential love of fishing.
Good on ya mate :)
Geoff
jackash
25-03-2006, 08:45 PM
Thanks guys... haha it was a bloody good feeling.... not jsut the fact that i caught it on something that id jsut whipped together but the fight was bloody tense. Haha couldnt put any pressure on it other wise the pin would straighten, but needed to put some pressure on otherwise itd jsut fall out seeing it had no barb. Good fun though
Jackash
Wear_the_fox_hat
25-03-2006, 09:22 PM
Jackash,
Please be careful with using the word 'bloody' as it appears to be offending cultures worldwide. ::) ::) ::)
WTFH
dropshot
26-03-2006, 03:46 PM
Further confirmation of my suspicions you are just one lucky/talented chump asho ;)
Jiggit
26-03-2006, 06:19 PM
u never know what will happen when theres a bit of creativity involved
DICER
27-03-2006, 02:34 AM
mate you have to try it with a piece of cheese, a tile 15 cm across and piece of cord.
Nice report....!!
Was it a nice maths assignment?
Wilson
27-03-2006, 09:37 AM
Nice work jackash, next thing we'll be calling you magiver, if you can remember the show on tv! What do you reckon you can do with a piece of chewing gum ;D
27-03-2006, 02:13 PM
Just don't let your missus see that you've pinned the babies nappies with a 4/0!!! :P