View Full Version : Schulz canal

Slient
24-03-2006, 08:45 PM
Hi Ausfish folkers,
I honestly myself not SP person in my past fishing career.
Since my debut member in Ausfish two weeks ago and I was influenced in the SP by many interesting threads. I decided to try out SP asap and bought my first SP @ BCF its holographic tsunami bait swimmer. This afternoon went to Schulz canal to practice cast and play SP, I didn't care if I score first fish on SP. a half hour later I was surprised SP on strike and gently reeled my first fish trevally on SP. see pic yeah... its tiny trevally but I'm still proud...
Wondered anyone of you been to Schulz canal withf SP fishing and what fish you caught...
Feedback would be much appreciated

mattooty
24-03-2006, 08:55 PM
Awesome work! I got my first fish on sp's doing the same. Just seeing how they work and hearing reports from others.
Is that a golden? Im guessing so but ive neva caught one so....
Congratulations

land_based
24-03-2006, 09:30 PM
Nice one mate, were you landbased? A first is always good

chief
24-03-2006, 09:41 PM
great to get that first fish on sp. congradulations mate

Slient
24-03-2006, 09:45 PM
Thanks mate... :)
I was on landbase along new bikeway...
I had no idea which trevally...
Anyone can tell?

2DKnBJ
24-03-2006, 10:19 PM
Silent
I know FISHIN_DAN flicks SP'Saround that area.Might be worth checking his website out.He may have some info on there.
Couldn't get the link up but if you look at the members list and find "fishin_dan" he has the link there.
Cheers Dazza

jackash
24-03-2006, 11:03 PM
Its a littlee GT. Congrats mate... the first fish is so awesome... mine was a tiny flatty... I've been hooked ever since.
Jackash

Canoedle
24-03-2006, 11:23 PM
I hooked a nice flathead in shultz canal, but got a mangrove leaf in my line close to landing it, line snapped as the leaf hit the top eye. :(
Soft plastics are the go, hooked for sure. (accept for the little poppers down in the river, that's so much fun)
Well done on your first fish on a plakky m8. ;)

TIM-DONSELAAR
25-03-2006, 01:08 AM
nice little trevally mate...my first fish on a sp was a grinner :'( :'(

cheers tim :D

land-lubber
25-03-2006, 08:01 AM
Good effort m8,

Nice little GT, Good choice of plastic too, esp for your 1st choice :D. i tell ya, ive seen some weird and wonderful plastics amoungst 1st timers, but that 1 is a real good choice, esp for flatties. Hope u enjoy ur new addiction :D

Slient
25-03-2006, 08:10 AM
Yhanks!!! :D
I'm about in new addiction ;D
Surely I will learn more lessons from you ausfish guys very soon
Again Yhanks ;)

straddie
25-03-2006, 10:03 AM
Heya Silent

I'm pretty certain that is not a golden or GT and I hate ID ing the small trev species because they are so similar, but that is one of 3 different fish :-? I call silver trevally. They are actually not too bad eating and I keep decent sized ones because my misses loves em.

Those ones like to stick close to fairly solid cover so I would be betting you pulled him off a good sized sunken tree or some old piles.

mitch_05
25-03-2006, 10:06 AM
nice little fish

my first on sp's was a 32cm flattie while i was walking along beside the water bored with lure about 10m behind me

albi
25-03-2006, 05:03 PM
GOOD WORK..... I CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF THEM
I HOPE U STICK WITH THEM

ALBI

Canoedle
25-03-2006, 08:27 PM
Here's my effort from today's paddle down at schultz canal. :)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/ShultzCanalFlatheadresize.jpg
He went 55cms, a PB from the kayak. Caught on 1/8oz jig head and shock horror, berkley gulp 3" minnow grub in pumpkinseed. Got down there at 2.30ish, tide was starting to come in, water was dirty brown, heaps of bait fish. found a nice snag and anchored up, then second cast hooked this fella, he was heading straight for the snag at speed, but luckily flathead arent too hard to steer and got him coming straight at the kayak. Don't think he really knew what was happening till my knife was piercing his brain. There's dinner tomorrow night sorted. ;)

Slient
25-03-2006, 09:12 PM
Hit with my high hand to yr hand for today's reward for flattie ;)
Where did you launch yr kayak?
I believe there's marching southern solider (breams) and best chase them next month when temp getting cooler...
I'll be ready for them :)

Canoedle
25-03-2006, 09:15 PM
I park at the boat ramp at Nudgee and paddle upstream towards the gold course.

26-03-2006, 09:30 PM
:D Yeah I've fished it with SP's a bit...

There's heaps of bream & flatties there. Also caught tailor in there as well. Have seen sharks & sting rays kicking around too...

I've heard stories about school jew being caught in there also :-X

There's a few spots that interest me alot for the chance to catch a Mangrove Jack. Just gotta now find the time to get there and try for them! ::)

Congrats on the catch. Where abouts did you catch the trevally? I'm assuming it's down towards Nudgee end... Where you landbased?

Canoedle
26-03-2006, 09:33 PM
Dan, call me please. :o

Slient
26-03-2006, 09:53 PM
[Congrats on the catch. Where abouts did you catch the trevally? I'm assuming it's down towards Nudgee end... Where you landbased?[/quote]

Hi Dan,

Trevally was strike about 200m away from Gateway motorway... of course I was landbased...
As yr spoken about "shark & sting ray can be seen" I already saw one ray swam closer to bank...
I would be much exciting if Mangrove Jack been caught there...

Silent

27-03-2006, 03:05 PM
Dan, call me please. :o

I did ;D

27-03-2006, 03:11 PM
Hi Dan,

Trevally was strike about 200m away from Gateway motorway... of course I was landbased...
As yr spoken about "shark & sting ray can be seen" I already saw one ray swam closer to bank...
I would be much exciting if Mangrove Jack been caught there...

Silent

There has been some good catches from just there.... There's the little drain/creeky thing there and on the eastern point of that have been a good few fish caught... This guy was one of them ;)

http://webzoom.freewebs.com/fishin_dan/Pictures/Flathead.JPG

Which side of the Gateway were you on? I'm guessing Nudgee side (Eastern) near that little creeky thing... There's the little bridge you cross over, then walk over the grass to the point. There's often a crab pot tied to the tree on the very point there...

If you read the Beginners Guide to Bream on SP's on my site (Links at the bottom of this post), you will find the picture of the rock bar... About 2m from that rock bar is a drop off into deeper water with a sunken tree (Fallen all the way into the water) right next to it... That's probably where I will find a Jack there if I find one there this season ;) (Shhhhhh.....) ;D

White_Steenbras
27-03-2006, 03:40 PM
Howzit going Silent,

I'm a new member too but have been reading this site for sometime.

It helped with finding fishy spots when I made the move from Mel last year. I moved to mel 6 years ago from S.Afr and really missed the fishing in Cape town when I arrived in Mel. Anyway happy to be in Fishy QLD.

I've fished the canal a fair bit now with success on most occasions. Usually Pike around so if I haven't picked up any Flattys fisrt, I'll start to rip the lure in a little quicker and mid water. I caught a couple of Threadfin down that way about 4 weeks ago, got a great Flatty their in Dec, 89cm and probably still growing. A lot Flattys call Schulz home, they are just such a great fish to catch on the light gear.I release about 95% of my fish I catch, keep the lizards around 45cm, great in a Coconut Curry!

Caught a Few Trevs their too but haven't seen any lately, Always miss the tides, still trying to work them out from Brissy river and surrounding areas. I've caught a few whiting on the plastics in Schulz too, mainly when I drop shot for Bream, they pretty different to the King George I used to lure in the shallows of Port Phillip. Found some really cool spots over the past year and continue to seek out more. Maybe check you down the canal way sometime, bloody mossies love the S.Afr blood down that way though!

Cheers Barneszz

Slient
27-03-2006, 06:09 PM
Which side of the Gateway were you on? I'm guessing Nudgee side (Eastern) near that little creeky thing... There's the little bridge you cross over, then walk over the grass to the point. There's often a crab pot tied to the tree on the very point there...

If you read the Beginners Guide to Bream on SP's on my site (Links at the bottom of this post), you will find the picture of the rock bar... About 2m from that rock bar is a drop off into deeper water with a sunken tree (Fallen all the way into the water) right next to it... That's probably where I will find a Jack there if I find one there this season ;) (Shhhhhh.....) ;D[/quote]

Giddy Dan,

Yeah I fished eastern to Nugdee end to intersection of 3 ways and you mentioned first small bridge and about 50m before this bridge I caught trevally.
I parked my car between 2 busy bridge and walked for my exercise ;D so from now on I'll often fish there on my home way from work ;)
I'll explore your website for hints thanks :)
Silent

Slient
27-03-2006, 06:15 PM
Hi White_Steernbas,

Welcome aboard :),
Yhanks for share your interesting post about species you caught down Schulz canal.
Are you fishing on land?
Then I'll keep my eyes for you guys turn up canal in near future 8-).

Silent

White_Steenbras
28-03-2006, 10:47 AM
Always on the land, no boat but working towards one soon, see you down that way sometime...... going to flick brekky creek tonight.

White_Steenbras
28-03-2006, 11:52 PM
Thanks Silent for the map for the pine area.

Caught some squid tonight on the Shrimp Hunter down Wellington Way, yummy, the heads I might have to use for a lazy bait snapper session.

Maybe see you flicking away down schulz sometime, or the pine.

Gotta love hooking into fish.

Slient
29-03-2006, 07:59 AM
Hey White_Steenbras,

Glad its help you guide your way to Pine... to flick SP & score fish

Yeah gotta love in fishing

Silent