View Full Version : WET & WINDY NOOSA JACKS [land based] fri night

THE_Giant_guppie
25-03-2006, 06:08 PM
i only get to fish once a week so the weather wasnt gona stop me from fishing so i put on my gortex gear and off to noosa we went didnt want to take boat out in this weather either got the the spot got some live bait and flicked a few gold sliders picked up 4 flathead in the fiftys jacks one caught on the gold slider no weight other on mullet other fish caught were heaps of bream and big whiting . will ask someone to post the pic cause i just cant seem to post pics on this pc. cheers rick

THE_Giant_guppie
25-03-2006, 06:09 PM
also nuffin caught on live bait at all

Jiggit
25-03-2006, 06:13 PM
considering the conditions thats a damn good catch . well done..

THE_Giant_guppie
25-03-2006, 06:55 PM
noosa never disapoints ;D

2iar
25-03-2006, 07:08 PM
noosa never disapoints ;D

I reckon it's one of those places that a bit of local knowledge *really* makes a difference.

Though I'm a reasonably frequent visitor (at least 3-4 times a year, though I don't always wet a line) I certainly don't have it. However, just observing so many people on the river doing completely the wrong thing is amusing. At times, its' estuarine system must have the most baited hooks simultaneously in the water vs the amount of fish caught in the entire country.

But I guess a lot of holidaymakers and kids learning while enjoying the passtime has to be a good thing.

Good luck,

2iar
25-03-2006, 07:11 PM
PS I forgot what I was originally posting for, and got sidetracked...

Congratultions on the catch. It's a diehard effort in those conditions, so well done mate, you put most of us to shame.

Good luck,

THE_Giant_guppie
25-03-2006, 08:00 PM
thanks mike
ive been going to noosa for yrs but normally onli get to head up there once a month cause its a treck just for a fish but always worth the effort its a place that when all else fails wind rain or snow if that ever happends we still pick up a feed ppl say its geting over fished but i think its more like the fish are geting smarter we have caught juvenile red emperors cobia sweetlip and even a coral trout in this river so its a heathy system and for what its worth i have notice the fishing has goten better or we have goten smarter ;D but you are right ive seen alot of ppl fishing and most with out sucess
cheers rick [ wife onli lets me fish once a week, its like use it or lose it so im never gona lose it ;D]

Canoedle
25-03-2006, 08:25 PM
Nice work m8, if you need help with posting pics must email em to me and I'll pitch em up for ya. ;) karlbob@tpg.com.au

THE_Giant_guppie
25-03-2006, 09:56 PM
sent u an email canodle sorry if the pics are crap its from my phone

Canoedle
26-03-2006, 06:28 AM
Here ya go m8 :)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Image010.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Image006.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Image000.jpg

THE_Giant_guppie
26-03-2006, 07:56 AM
thanks

mjc85
26-03-2006, 10:20 AM
Yeah my brother and his mates saw you guys fishing on the sound bridge and said you kept the jacks :( But oh well its not against the law, but yeah nice fish ;)

THE_Giant_guppie
26-03-2006, 11:29 AM
lol no offence but i quite like steam jacks in ginger and shallots and braving the rain and cold and also the 2 hrs drive to noosa i think im gona enjoy it quite alot and i have released quite few this yr but i do keep one or 2 now and then, but hey thats why i fish to eat, for the sport and to get away from my wife [ hope she never reads this]cheers rick

morty103
26-03-2006, 11:31 AM
How big were the jacks mate? first one is only small, but the 2nd fish is alright.
Suprising they were on the chew with the conditions, well done
morty

THE_Giant_guppie
26-03-2006, 12:02 PM
small one was 40 and bigger one was just over 45

THE_Giant_guppie
26-03-2006, 12:05 PM
they always on the chew jacks just feed diferently in different weather and in winter they just not as active but they are still there

Toppy
26-03-2006, 11:05 PM
Is that a TE calcutta in that photo Rick?
Toppy

THE_Giant_guppie
27-03-2006, 05:36 AM
hell yeah!!! thats its 5th jack its landed in its 2nd trip, those jacks just cant resist the TE ;D
you got any reels that are jew lucky toppy ? i hope my Z-6500 Expedition ;) will be as lucki cause i hate for it to be a dud,
cheers rick

Wilson
27-03-2006, 09:30 AM
Great work sharky! Some people you just can't stop from fishing, and that's what its all about dedication! Considering the weather, those jacks would have tasted as sweet as honey, congrats again 8-)

Q-Jacks
28-03-2006, 11:40 AM
man im still on 4 jacks dam u!!! bloody 8, oh yeah guess who :P

THE_Giant_guppie
28-03-2006, 02:20 PM
hahah u never know u might catch up, if i stop chasing them for the yr but thats unlikely ;D geting the Z-6500 Expedition gota bleed it with a jack ;) hopfully with a monster

shut_up_and_fish
29-03-2006, 01:11 PM
gday sharkfin

nice effort mate and i was actually there to see it. i was the guy with me mate that came down for a while under the bridge there. we had been out the mouth for two shark bust offs. you were right about the weather and nothing on live bait. i always liked the look of that bridge but had never nailed any jacks there (always fishing lures and livies) but now you gave me a few secrets that nite and you may find yourself fighting me for a spot - but you can be sure i would make room for you. top stuff again and might catch you up there again sometime. send me a message if you need a roadie/deckie as i am reguarly heading up that way and often by myself.

Les

THE_Giant_guppie
29-03-2006, 01:43 PM
cool les i be sure to call ya im always lookin for some one to fish with. and for the spots if ya need any help i would gladly help ya i have fish there for more then 10 yrs and i have seen it get better then worse then better but times have changed and since they dredge the river and that spot the fish move diferently but there are night where we hook up to 10 fish but onli land 3-4 fish
cheers rick

shut_up_and_fish
29-03-2006, 01:50 PM
Thank Rick,

most of my fishing up there is exploratory but mainly fish the mouth/bridge and tewantin jetty.......usually livies.......have had some big bust offs of late down at the mouth a am happy to put it down to sharks but have got some nice tailor/flathead/trevors down that way. i do a bit of beach fishing on the north shore through the winter chasing bream/tailor. be sure and email me if you want to go. went down to a local spot at toorbul on sunday and made up for a poor nite friday - landed a 600mm flathead on my trusty stump jumper.

THE_Giant_guppie
29-03-2006, 02:13 PM
nice i can onli fish either fri or sat week days im limited to raby bay where we chase the odd jack and squire around the canals and cod theres heaps there