View Full Version : Tuna before brekky 1770

agnes_jack
31-03-2006, 02:08 PM
Josh and myself Went for a trip around 1770 headland this morning for a troll!
There were a few spanish cruising about, couldn't get them to hit though.
Lots of bluefin medium size, and afew big mack tuna.

Coming back into the estuary at 1770, there was WAVES of bait, big bow waves from some extra oversize trevally, a few schoolies and at one point just near the boatramp there was a big school of bluies, and dolphin chomping up the bait. We managed to get within casting distance and Josh fired one shot off before they dissapeared.

Not bad for 120m from the ramp!!!

land_based
31-03-2006, 02:19 PM
Thats awesome mate well done. Spent the morning out trolling to find the fish 120m from the ramp, thats great i love it.

agnes_jack
31-03-2006, 02:26 PM
Mac Tuna!

agnes_jack
31-03-2006, 02:31 PM
Bluefin around the headland

agnes_jack
31-03-2006, 02:34 PM
Going batty over at the spit

31-03-2006, 02:50 PM
jeez you do it hard up there tony, it's definatly gods country, if you see that skinny little builder around (willo) tell him lippa said g'day

TIM-DONSELAAR
31-03-2006, 03:06 PM
nice tuna there agnes_jack.....Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

good photo of the bat ;D

cheers tim :D

31-03-2006, 05:50 PM
Good to see you're back online & catching again mate! Not a bad way to start the morning really!!!

manangatang
31-03-2006, 05:59 PM
nice one jack,cheers.

Canoedle
31-03-2006, 06:01 PM
Looks like a lot of fun, very jealous. :)

kingcobe
31-03-2006, 06:28 PM
Good work. How much did it weigh?

Jay.Jay

White_Steenbras
31-03-2006, 07:30 PM
Very very nice mate, and I get excited over a couple of flattys and bream! :'(

the_baker
31-03-2006, 10:46 PM
very nice i think i am starting to turn green i want to move back up there good stuff want to see more good to see nothing has changed

regards dave

dynamicspot
01-04-2006, 04:49 AM
its funny how the fish can be under your nose

well done

searaider
01-04-2006, 08:06 AM
Geday Tony , Josh & Sandy ,
Good to see that you got into a few [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Its amazing what you can catch in that estuary .
Top Tuna guys .

the_baker ,
Hi Dave ,
Welcome to the site , might catch up with you up there again one day .

Searaider 2

Hookem_Herby
01-04-2006, 09:06 AM
I LOVE THAT PLACE!!! ;D
Well done Tony and Josh, great pics too. ;)
Thanks for sharing (and teasing) :P

Herby

agnes_jack
01-04-2006, 09:11 AM
Yeah mate, wasted all that fuel going out to the wide trolling grounds (around the headland :P) Shoulda stayed in the creek ;D ;D ;D

Lippa
The skinny little builder said, "Good to see ya off the piss ;D ;D"

There was thousands of bats over in the mangroves, we spooked them as we went passed in the tinnie!!

Thanks Dan
Back and dangerous ;)

Manangatang and Canoodle ...Cheers

Kingcobe
Didnt get a weight on em mate but as a rough guess......15lb+

White-steenbras
I hope they didn't eat all the bream and flatties mate :( :( :(

Yeah mate it's sometimes the best place to look ;) ;)
I aiways carry a light rod and a few lures in the car and try all those little creeks and stuff that most people drive across without a second thought.
Had some great fun that way!!

Thanks Pete
Look forward to your visit in October, See if we can get ya onto that trout ;) ;)

Regards, Tony

agnes_jack
01-04-2006, 09:50 AM
Thats what I'm here for Herbie!!! (to tease ya) ;D ;D

Dave!!!!!!!!!
Good to see ya finally got on line mate :D
Had some good action lately mate.. Jacks, Tarpon, Barra, Tuna and good flatties ;) ;)
Hows that boat of yours going?? getting some fishing in??

Done a stack of work on the tinnie, nearly everything that opens and closes ;D
Hope Michelle is doing well too??

Should come up for the M&G in october!!

Regards, Tony :D

01-04-2006, 10:33 AM
Good to see that you're still around Tony and nice to have you back reporting.

Don't be afraid of opposition; Remember a kite rises against, not with the wind.

the_baker
01-04-2006, 12:27 PM
Hi Tony, Sandi and Josh

Great to see you's are still catchin fish. Dave isn't impressed that he can't be there catching with you's. Hope all is well up there. In the last week he's caught some spanish and some Mac Tuna himself. May see you in October hopefully. Even before if we can, we'll come for a visit only trouble is Dave won't want to come home again. Hope you've got a spare room for him. Talk to you all soon.

Michelle and Dave

P.S. To Searaider 2

Thanks for the Welcome, no longer living in Agnes on the Sunshine Coast now. May catch you though in Agnes for the October meet. :) :) :D ; ;D ;D ;D

agnes_jack
01-04-2006, 12:51 PM
G'day Michelle!
We could squeeze a tent in for him out the back, Sounds like he sleeps in between fishing trips now!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

All the best......Tony

agnes_jack
01-04-2006, 01:49 PM
Sunrise yesterday morning 1770

agnes_jack
01-04-2006, 01:51 PM
Lots of Bats

agnes_jack
01-04-2006, 01:52 PM
The sticks, near the bats :D

A few weeks ago we had a heap of pelagics hanging in this area too. The bait was thick as hell, mainly hardiheads,and herring. Wouldn't have mattered where you threw your cast net, it would be full everytime!
Frustrating though, we threw lures till our arms ached, lots of follows but only the trevally would hit. We switched to livebait after dark.
There was trevally, school macks and a couple of cobes.
after dark it was shark after shark!

Amazing what you can find in an estuary

the_baker
01-04-2006, 02:28 PM
Yeah keep on teasin'
You'll have to send me a photo of the work you've done on the tinnie and have a brag!!!!!

Thanks Dave :D :D

01-04-2006, 04:55 PM
cheers tony, only 5 weeks to go, and then i can have a few beers again (i hope). good bloke willo, don'y find allot of people that open there hearts and homes like he does!

01-04-2006, 04:59 PM
p.s trying to get uo there at easter, will pop in and say g'day. if i make it!!!!!!!!

Jono_SS
01-04-2006, 07:59 PM
Tony.

heard you had some good surf up your way! is your dam full?

Jonathan.

agnes_jack
02-04-2006, 01:18 PM
Lippa
Yeah mate hes not a bad stick mate!!

Jonno
Not enough rain here mate, considering the cyclone went right past, we got stuff all >:(

Regards, Tony

shaman
02-04-2006, 05:05 PM
WHAT AN AWESOME THREAD, GREAT REPORT, GREAT PICS, GREAT MATESHIP. GOTTA GET MY BUTT UP TO 1770, ARGGGHH , NOW I'M MOTIVATED. COBIA IN THE CREEK BUT COULD ONLY HAMMER TREVS, OH THE SHAME OF IT ALL. ;D ;D
P.S I'm working all w/end and now I wanna fish.