View Full Version : Green Is. - Which is better? Sunrise or High Tide?

04-04-2006, 05:47 AM
I asked this question a few days ago to get some insight as to whether I should catch a 12.44am high tide at Green Island or just go there for the daybreak and a 7.20am low tide. http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1143770270

Well, now I know the answer, Neither! >:(

As Seabreeze was forecasting a drop-out in the wind throughout Sunday night, I was anticipating a beautiful flat-seas relaxing evening punctuated by the not-infrequent scream of the drag. :) Instead, a moderate wind and wave action bobbed me up and down all night with the occasional wave breaking around me. >:(

Went out at about 11pm on Sunday night and came back in at about 9am with just one squire at 38cm caught at 2.15am. A few pickers around but not as many as I would normally expect. All undersize fish bar one were very undersize. :-/

Used prawns, squid, pillies and mullet flesh; and berleyed.

I saw one other boat there close inshore through the night but a half dozen arrived at about dawn. Not too many stayed long so I guess that they did not find any magic spot-Xs either.

I learnt one major lesson from the experience though. I am not as young as I used to be. ;D ;D ;D.

I used to go night clubbing four times a week when I was a pup and then go to work the next (same ;) ) day, This time, I worked in the garden most of Sunday, had a 1 hour kip in the afternoon and went fishing all night but was absolutely buggered yesterday and have been sleeping most of the time from about 11.30am yesterday to 4.30am today. ;D

Still, it beats workin'! ;D ;D ;D

aquarius
04-04-2006, 09:43 AM
Hi Charlie, Mate i reckon up to and a couple of days after full moon.
You won't catch much in the shallows ( less than 3 metres ) in bright sunlight.
Fish can't stand the light ( no eyelashes).
Try night time on the full moon drifting either bait or soft plastics.
JUST BE AWARE OF YOUR SURROUNDINGS!!!!!!!!!!! IT's EASY TO DRIFT ONTO THE CORAL AT NIGHT.
I favour the incoming tide but each to there own i guess.
Its more or less what works for you in a certain location.
Those squire / snapper are on the move in the bay so what you find today may be searching for food somewhere else around the bay tomorrow.
You should find the fish easier to catch during the week with less boat traffic to spook them.
Hope you nail that pb snapper soon.
Cheers Brent :)

chief
04-04-2006, 01:14 PM
Gee charlie , came home yesterday to find how you went , fired up the computer and nothing, just the slight buzz of contented zzzz"s

Biff
04-04-2006, 01:54 PM
Hi Charleville. Been waiting for your report.

Mate, does't matter how many times you ask your self these questions, why it did or did not happen, there is just too many factors to contend with. The main thing - you gave it ago and lets face it the more you fish the more you will catch.

If it makes you feel any better mate, I said to myself early Monday morning - thinking you lucky bugger, I wish I was out there!!!;D ;D

Cheers Biff :)

beefaman
04-04-2006, 11:05 PM
From my experiences at Green, I would say the last hour of the incoming and the high itself is the best time to fish it. If that coincides with sun up, we normally fish Wello til daybreak, then shoot over to Green.
Has worked a treat for us ;)

05-04-2006, 07:16 AM
As much as I hate the idea of fishing on the weekend with the crowds, it looks like Saturday and Sunday might offer better results with a high tide coinciding with dawn. :)

Then again, a man would be mad to stay too late on the SUnday and miss Webby's talk on Sweetlip and Parrot at the T&T show at 10.30am! :) :) :)

beefaman
05-04-2006, 12:19 PM
Have always found that we can find fish somewhere that isnt crowded. You'll never get the place to yourself, but if you sound around, you will find the structure needed to find a fishy or two.
We are heading out Saturday morning really early ;)

05-04-2006, 04:48 PM
It is not the crowds at Green that I like to avoid but the crowds at the boat-ramp. ;D

Also, I usually launch from the southern public boat ramp at Manly and there is usually a flotilla of junior sailors in the boat harbour at that end to contend with on weekends. Have not hit one yet though. ;D

No big deal - it is just that I am on a long break from work and am very selfishly enjoying having the boat-ramp and boat harbour channels to myself.

Except, that is, for the four RACQ guys who like to congregate at the boat ramp between jobs. ;D ;D ;D - but I reckon that when they are there, my car and trailer is just a little bit safer.

:) :) :)

T1
06-04-2006, 05:53 PM
BEEFAMAN, we are heading out there too early Sat morning - hope to say g'day! ;D

Take Care T1