View Full Version : A relaxing evening on the Nerang !!!

craigie
11-04-2006, 02:35 PM
For a relaxing change from the Helter Skelter of spinning for Mackerel, I loaded up the floppy long wands and wriggling worms, for a quiet evening on the Nerang River, targeting Whiting.

Accompanied by my radio and a few cold drinks and tucker in the Esky, I was off to the upper reaches to settle in for the night.

I managed a few keepers in the esky before night fall, but it was very quiet during the dark hours. Catfish and Toads were a problem, stealing bait with monotonous regularity.
Landed a couple of stonkers before midnight, also loosing a couple more due to bust-off's, as the toads had nicked the line just above the hook, then under the strain of a quality fish the line parted :'( :'(. For the record, I lost at least 20 hooks, bitten off by the Toad Fish >:(.

A change of location at Daybreak proved to be the right decision. Anchored on a spot upstream of Sorento produced a nice patch of fish to finish off the last of my worms.

Best fish for the session went 38cm and 550 grams. Total catch was 20 odd fish that averaged 30cm. Not a cricket score catch that some club fishermen expect, but 3 good feeds for my household to look forward too ;)

Craigie.

craigie
11-04-2006, 02:37 PM
Total catch !!

craigie
11-04-2006, 02:38 PM
Fillets !!

craigie
11-04-2006, 02:39 PM
Served up, fresh as !!!!

oddbudman
11-04-2006, 02:55 PM
Nice feed there - good going :)

Can you run us through the rig you have pictured in the top pic? it looks rather interesting. I'm guessing you were using the stubbie as the float and the battery as the weight, with some figure 8 cable as leader line - looks like an interesting technique and the results speak for themselves ;)

oddbudman

chief
11-04-2006, 03:32 PM
good catch ,that big fish looks a fine whiting.

JB
11-04-2006, 03:34 PM
Top catch there Craigie, :) Those fresh fillets sure look tasty , making my mouth water.. ::)

Those toadies would have been a pain in the butt, 20 hooks! oh, well thats fishing.

Few beers and the footy , what more could ya want.

Slient
11-04-2006, 04:09 PM
Good bunch od whiting yummy...
Well done 8-)

Silent

DaneCross
11-04-2006, 05:42 PM
I reckon a quality whiting session like that is hard to beat. Are they an overnight option only, or can you get a feed like that during the day??

bdowdy
11-04-2006, 06:25 PM
:)BLOODY BEAUTFUL . WISHING I WAS EATING THAT . CHEERS BDOWDY ;) ;)

craigie
11-04-2006, 06:47 PM
Oddbudman,

Sorry mate, your on the wrong track with the rig. It's way more simple than what you have explained.
I simply poor the beer over the side, when the fish slurp it down and get half pissed, I scoop them up in net (see pic below) !!!
Downside to this method is the burley !! Costs me a fortune in worms !!!

JB, If I was crafty enough, I'd position the boat out the back of some flash mansion and watch the footy on their monster flat screen !!
Very unique place the Nerang River, massive housing development that is sure to have changed the natural eco-system of the place, yet it still produces quality fishing !! Could also be something to do with ZERO commercial fishing ::).

G'day DC (congrats on your appointment elsewhere 8-)),
Certainly is hard to beat, very layback style of fishing, and soooo good to eat !!
Mate, Night-time is when all the club guys recommend you fish the river for Whiting. I personally think daytime can be just as productive. Have spent the day down there on a few occassions for catches of 20 or 30+. Boat traffic is the main issue with daytime. Di%$heads running over your lines can be a problem, but only a small price to pay for the enjoyment it brings. PM me for more details.

Craigie

11-04-2006, 10:54 PM
good report craigie,,,,i thought ya had the 1st fish wired to the battery at first,,,,,,,,,interesting to note that all but 1 photo gots a beer in it,,,,,,,,,,,,,ya dont have a problem do ya mate ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

well done,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,choppa

land_based
12-04-2006, 12:23 AM
Great catch of whiting mate. Im looking forward to the winteries coming in numbers at redcliffe.

White_Steenbras
12-04-2006, 12:43 AM
Thats a great result mate, at least the fish kept you company on that lonesome night.....bet your housemates were stoked though, looked F#*King great.

Nice one buddy. :D

DICER
12-04-2006, 06:50 AM
oh boy oh boy that's a wicked catch there - those fillets look a treat

T1
12-04-2006, 11:22 AM
Yeah Craigie, TOP catch man! Since i re-acquired a boat recently after a several year sabatical due to business commitments, i have been yearning to get to the Nerang River for a fish of TASTY whiting - will have to get organised before they take off!

Take Care T

TIM-DONSELAAR
12-04-2006, 11:57 AM
decent haul of whiting there craigie...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :D

Gorilla_in_Manila
12-04-2006, 02:47 PM
Onya Cragie,
I've been expecting a report from you on your anual whiting attack for a while now. Good stuff. Nothing better than a fresh whiting feed I reckon.
Jeff

Gbanger
12-04-2006, 05:12 PM
might have to give that a go sometime... brings the pure relaxation factor back into fishing

12-04-2006, 05:24 PM
Great nights' work, even better feed...........Hard to beat those whiting as top tucker, my mouth's watering at the pic of those fillets, don't mind the old chokos either! :)
Cheers!

sunny
12-04-2006, 05:40 PM
Great catch. The big one is a real horse 8-)

Nothing like a load of fresh whiting fried up in a nice batter with a nice cold one to wash it down. Yummm [smiley=smug.gif]

lowey
12-04-2006, 06:13 PM
Great feed of chineese fish mate ;D

Had the same problem on saturday in the Caboolture river with

those dam toads , big buggers cost me abit of gear as well

well done Lowey.