View Full Version : seven miles    friday

manchild
31-03-2006, 06:11 PM
well another rainy day another day off for a roofer:) Went down to seven mile beach today fished from the top of the tide for 4 hours a big tarwine a big bream 5 nice whiting and an oversized dart where the catch and bout a dozen bloody rays ahh yeahh a couple of seagull ,but that doesnt count . all fish caught on sandworm gulps cut in half slowly retrieved cheers

manchild
31-03-2006, 06:16 PM
note the esky lid is 48 cm long and one more thing maybe a coincidence but the fish seems to bigger on gulps than worms not as many though

31-03-2006, 06:26 PM
all fish caught on sandworm gulps cut in half

Well done! Great catch! :)

I know nothing about soft plastics so I must ask what may be a boofhead question, why would you cut them in half? :-?

Regards........

manchild
31-03-2006, 06:29 PM
cos they come in 6 inches and that i find too long ,the 3 inch ones too thin cheers

Slient
31-03-2006, 07:25 PM
Good work manchild 8-)
Where's seven miles? :o

Silent

manchild
31-03-2006, 07:28 PM
lennox head northern nsw just after byron bay cheers

White_Steenbras
31-03-2006, 07:49 PM
Caught a couple Whiting using the same method, they really look real those Bloodworms.

Next time I'm down Richmond, will have to stop in.

well done ;D

Archer
31-03-2006, 08:14 PM
Nice work, Guess i should dig those gulp worms out of the vest and give them a go....next trip for sure! :o
Think ive said that the last 3 trips ahwell. ;D

Just_chips
31-03-2006, 09:16 PM
Some good fish there Manchild, how do you fish the gulps in the surf? Do you use a weighted jighead, a running sinker or something else?

Cheers Kev

dynamicspot
01-04-2006, 04:58 AM
nice bream and tarwine

chief
01-04-2006, 05:17 AM
Recently had our own experiences with whiting on plastics ( 3 inch grubs) and have thought to buy those 6 inch worms and try them out.Interested to know if you used them with jig head or traditional bait style rig ? well done

TIM-DONSELAAR
01-04-2006, 12:33 PM
good catch manchild.....Well Done ;)

i might grab a pack of these gulp worms next time im at the tackle store...to add to my SP collection [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :D

T1
01-04-2006, 05:47 PM
Nice Catch Manchild! That Dart would have put on a real show... Pound for pound, i still reckon they are a great fighting fish in the surf especially on lighter gear!

Dito Chief & Tim! They look the real deal those worms so i may get some too and try them out at the Pin and see how much success we have versus real worms and yabbies. Also interested to know how you rig these....

Take Care T1

manchild
01-04-2006, 06:14 PM
im just riggem up like normal worms on a size 8 longshank mustad baitholder and a bit of red tubing onthe top seems to really bring on the bite cheers

dn
02-04-2006, 05:37 PM
hi manchild

just slow retrieve all the way with no flicks and pauses?

dn

shaman
02-04-2006, 08:40 PM
Nice catch manchild!!
Quick question if you could help, the sp's you r using, are they a dark black/purple colour as I recently scored some bass grubs really cheap and am considering modifying them and using in the surf/broady. A dollar a pack, couldn't walk away and if they work I'll reckon I'm real clever.
Ta, Billy.

Seahorse
02-04-2006, 08:46 PM
can u still drive on to 7 mile beach. i heard that they were going to change entry points. can u still get on at lake ainsworth. 7 mile beach has to be the nicest little stretch of beach i have ever been on. we stay at ballina and would rather go there than south ballina. its very quiet so dont tell anybody. ::)

manchild
03-04-2006, 04:40 PM
well im using the natural and camo colours got some red ones but didnt tried em yet as for the rig basic running rig with number 4 beansinker and 4 kilo line with a leader about 2 feet only thing i put my sinker in between two swiwels as is eleminates nearly all the linetwist in the surf of course leave it at least a foot long sorry for the untidy answer im wrote this on the run hope this helps cheers

corby1
06-04-2006, 09:25 PM
went down to 7 mile on sunday the 2nd late arvo with the young fella we had a ball. Fishing with pipies caught a heap of dart and a few whiting then tried a sp and caught my first fish on sp's in the surf would'nt have tried it unless i read your post thanx. Heading down there for the night on sat looking for something bigger, heard the jew have been around.

thanx again

corby1
06-04-2006, 09:30 PM
SEAHORSE
yeh can still drive on the beach from lake ainsworth and it is one of the nicest beaches around i must say and from what ive heard fishes well

chiefsimo
12-04-2006, 08:21 PM
do u need a permit to get on the beach ? If so, where do u get that from and how much is it ? How do u rate the beach in terms of driveability?

I have tried a small 2" gulp in red for small dart up at teewah. i have tried numerous other techniques of using bait and soft plastics in various combinations to no avail... yet.

I would love to try it up at Fraser when there is a big school of dart around and see what works and what doesn;t... although usually anything works on dart when they are hungry like that.

anyone tried a prawnstar in the surf?

Chief!

Seahorse
12-04-2006, 09:28 PM
no licience needed to drive on beach. entrance on and off beach is very easy. great big wide beach. very easy driving. nicest beach in s/e qld, and fishing is ok.fishing licience needed

greg

banshee
13-04-2006, 03:06 PM
"nicest beach in S/E QLD..."

Is there an invading force on the way? Be warned,we cockaroaches won't give up turf without a fight.

Seahorse
13-04-2006, 08:09 PM
sorry. slip of the tongue. just wish it was ours ;)