View Full Version : Richmond - Ballina

Archer
16-03-2006, 01:22 PM
Hit the lower richmond this morning for a quick fish on the water about 7:00am
Fished the run up tide for half a dozen Bream all around the 27-28cm mark all on Gulp Pumkin seed 3" grubs...Not worth the hassle of cleaning so they all went back.
Changed over to some Green stick baits Karl and i grabbed off Ebay last week ended up with 2 nice lizards 41 and 43cm. Nothing special but a feed atleast.
Waters still dirty but clear enough on the last of the run up for some decent visibility. Should really start firing agian over the weekend to early next week...Right when im in Melb for the comm games. :'(
Was a great morning on the water with very few boats around. Geez working for yourself is hard to take! 8-)

Archer
16-03-2006, 02:15 PM
Yummo! ;D
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/Flatties.jpg

Tambo_Junkie
16-03-2006, 06:06 PM
Nice fish mate :D :)

Jacksta
16-03-2006, 10:03 PM
very nice feed, wow the flatties are going crazy at the moment.. gotta love the 3" Gulps ;D

Cheers Joel

Archer
20-03-2006, 08:30 AM
Hit Ballina early again yesterday. With the tide running out the water is still very dirty making it a hard slog to get much on SP's.
Picked up another couple of flatties for a feed aswell as the usual bream getting in on the action.
One to the Gulps and another on the Ebay 4" Cheapies. The Ebay ones have great action and certianlly seem to last better than the Gulps.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/20.jpg

Hopefully another few weeks and the water will clear right back up agian.
Still was a fun morning on the water my last trip for a couple of weeks so with any luck by the time i get back the waters will have cleared.

Canoedle
20-03-2006, 08:53 AM
Nice couple of feeds there Joe, love the new carpet, can't wait to come down and dirty it up a bit for ya. :P
Also can't wait to get out and try those little green stick baits on the flatties, will have to do that as soon as I get a good tide at Deep Water Bend. ;)

Archer
20-03-2006, 09:35 AM
Come on down when ya got some free time Karl. Looking forward to another trip and a few scotches with ya m8. ;)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/yummo.jpg [smiley=beer.gif]

Jiggit
20-03-2006, 06:29 PM
yummo too

Archer
20-03-2006, 06:34 PM
Yes they went down very nicely. ;D

manchild
21-03-2006, 08:15 PM
nice fish mate how is the river fishin for whiting ?
may be poppin down on saturday mornin for a session to try sp-s for whiting in a river cheers

may your bait be nervous

Archer
21-03-2006, 09:39 PM
Time your trip around the high tide and you should be right. Waters still very dirty on the run out.

manchild
22-03-2006, 06:20 PM
thanks archer cheers

young_315
24-03-2006, 12:57 PM
well done

Archer
30-03-2006, 01:39 PM
Hit the river again this morning right on daybreak. Love that time of the day!
Now ive never been a big fan of the old Bream sure they pull hard enough for there size but im no fan of eating them and to be honest i noramlly find them a right pain in the ass hitting my SP's when a good flattie could be jumping on instead. ;D
Well that all changed this morning...
The bream were going off on the prawns from the recent fresh. Busting up on the surface everywhere. I made the descion to change to a smaller SP than i normally fish to have a bit of fun. Wow what fun in turned out to be. I would have landed 30 Bream all around the 30 cm mark. Not big sure but alot of fun none the less and when fishing almost visual for them very enjoyable.
Wait for a bust up on the surface flick SP into the area and hang on!!!
Most of the time i didnt even need to turn the handle.
Also picked up a nice lizard 63cms that was the only fish kept all the bream and about another 6 lizards all around 40-45cms returned to be caught again another day.
All fish caught were on a small 2" wriggler tail Grub in a clear prawny kind of colour another of the Ebay jobbies Karl and i got a few weeks back. This was my first try with them and very happy with them.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/Bream2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/Bream1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/flattie.jpg

All in all a great morning on the water cant wait for the weekend! ;)

Canoedle
30-03-2006, 07:06 PM
Damn, wish I could make it down this weekend :( Well done m8, glad those little placcys are the goods. :)

Sean
30-03-2006, 11:15 PM
What part of the river were you fishing...Sean :)

Archer
31-03-2006, 07:39 AM
Hi Sean, Was fishing around the buoy across from the RSL club on the sand bars there amoungst the weed patches. ;)

Canoedle
31-03-2006, 07:47 AM
Glad you let all the bream go m8, some of those fish were probably older than you.

onerabbit
31-03-2006, 09:09 AM
There have been heaps of quality whiting in the Richmond, my mate bagging 36 fish between 250-300grms in two days (monday & tuesday).
I went with him on wednesday morning, thinking to get a feed while they were there, we arrived at spotX in time to see the haul netters just finishing up.........DAMN. Apparently they are taking 5-600kg a night.
We caught 17 between us, as well as hundreds of dogfish.

White_Steenbras
31-03-2006, 07:44 PM
mmm mr Flathead....hooked and lost a monster one there in early Jan. Spotted heaps of good ones in the shallows, best result 71cms released unharmed.

Will track photos down of the girls camera, nice feed mate.

Archer
31-03-2006, 08:11 PM
If only this rain would bugger off i might be able to get another trip in.... :-/

Tony_N
01-04-2006, 05:35 AM
Had an hour in Emigrant creek last monday for 2 decent sized muddies. Difficult to navigate for all the floats in the river. Er, slight exaggeration, but a lot are crabbing just now.

corby1
04-04-2006, 11:49 PM
hey archer
have just moved down to ballina and have been mainly fishing north creek.
we have always caught our fair share but looking to travel up the main river
just wondering where would be a good place to start. being new to the area makes it hard but the kids are really enjoying the fishing and want to keep them interested.
just starting on soft plastics as well not doing too well yet but will be persistant.

hope im not asking too much
corby

onerabbit
05-04-2006, 12:55 AM
Corby1,

Try the weed beds around pelican island (opp the RSL) or between the ferry & Emigrant creek.

DNO40
05-04-2006, 05:57 AM
Will be in Ballina over the easter weekend staying with friends at Empire Vale. Might see you on the river

DNO

Archer
05-04-2006, 08:16 AM
Corby ive sent you a PM with my Mobile number. I would be happy to meet up and give you some pointers on fishing Ballina if you are keen. Im no expert by any means but seem to always find a few fish for a feed.
Seems to be a few Ballina locals around maybe we should meet up one day??

White_Steenbras
05-04-2006, 05:47 PM
Picked up a pair of jeans on Ebay, but the plakkys didn't look to special, must have got in early.

Nice pics and sesh you seemed to have, Ballina has some great flattys!!! love the place.

Heading down to Port Mac for Easter, anyone know much about the joint and what sort of gear to pack. Spin stick is always there, what about surf rods etc???

Any help appreciated. ;D

corby1
05-04-2006, 09:20 PM
archer

will call you in the next couple of days thanx heaps

corby

corby1
06-04-2006, 08:36 PM
thanx muzz will give it a go

Archer
08-04-2006, 09:15 AM
Met up with Corby last night for a quick SP session before the sun went down before heading to some deeper water to chase a few Jew...
Dropped a couple of nice fish on the SP's but other than that only small flatties and a few unknowns that i couldnt hook for some reason.....
Moved over closer to the RSL to try our luck at something abit bigger. Couldnt get a livie to save my life water is even dirtier than last week. :'(
Corby moved back over to the sand to pumps some yabs in the dark..Mad bugga :P
I headed over shorty after to run a few drifts over the drop offs in the hope i getting something but all to no avail.
Corby dropped pick ontop of the weedbeds and landed a very nice whiting just under 39cm!
More small bream and the dreaded dogfish and that was enough for us.
Was great to meet up with you corby we shall have to do it agian soon. ;)

Jiggit
08-04-2006, 07:32 PM
lizards definetly favourite table fare

corby1
08-04-2006, 11:20 PM
yeh enjoyed the arvo/ evening
tried again up north creek this arvo and nailed my first edible bream on sp's and dropped a ripper while trying to get the net at the other end of the boat

corby1
13-04-2006, 08:50 PM
headed down to north creek today at abt 3pm low tide, with new shads on board and spooled up with braid first cast a 45cm lizzard then about 50 casts another lizzard but too small.
then the dreaded mobile phone call to come home to take the young fella to soccer the wife had to work back, damn i hate that oh well hope to do plenty of fishin over the weekend.

Archer we will have to organise the next session shortly comming into jew season.

corby

Tony_N
14-04-2006, 10:46 AM
I'm doing house renos atm and haven't been abe to get onto the river for a while. Going outside at Evans tomorrow, but was wondering for next week if anybody had heard if the muddies were still on and where? (PM if you prefer)

Archer
14-04-2006, 06:23 PM
headed down to north creek today at abt 3pm low tide, with new shads on board and spooled up with braid first cast a 45cm lizzard then about 50 casts another lizzard but too small.
then the dreaded mobile phone call to come home to take the young fella to soccer the wife had to work back, damn i hate that oh well hope to do plenty of fishin over the weekend.

Archer we will have to organise the next session shortly comming into jew season.

corby

Yea sounds good Corby, Nice fish BTW..you'll be addcited to those SP's yet. :P
Might try for next week some time once easter weekend is over and most of the boats go home!
Hows the water going clearing up at all?

Not a big Crab man myself Tony but last i heard there were heaps around. Judging by the ammount of floats i saw in the river they must be getting a few...

Tony_N
14-04-2006, 07:19 PM
Thanks Archer

Outside trip not on tomorrow - 4WD not available to pull the boat - so will take the poly onto the river and try to pull a few muddies. Was out a couple of weeks ago for an hour or so and got a couple. Plenty of floats then too. Probably go along Emigrant Ck to the bridge or beyond.

corby1
14-04-2006, 10:28 PM
SAW THE PROS PULLING A FEW MUDDIES LAST WEEKEND UP PAST THE FERRY

AND ARCHER THE WATER SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORSE LOOKING FORWARD TO IT CLEARING.
OFF FISHING OVER THE WEEKEND SO WILL LET YOU KNOW HOW WE GO.
FRIENDS TURNED UP FOR THE WEEKEND WITH A BRAND NEW BOAT SO WILL TRY OFFSHORE BUT DONT REALLY KNOW WHERE TO GO BUT ANYWAY.

Tony_N
15-04-2006, 05:41 AM
corby

If you PM me to let me know if you want them, I can give you some marks